24 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah

15 Jun 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids. You know the kind, catchy upbeat tunes that have no problem going around and around in your head and you never truly get it out. I did my time with Barney, The Gummi Bear Song and The Wiggles and I don’t believe it is by accident these little ditties get lodged in our brains. Oh no, it is a very clever way to make sure we never forget certain songs. Marketing at its finest. Captain Festus McBoyle and crew have done just that. Created a song called Moolah that kids will love, and parents will curse, because it is so infectious that you will find yourself humming it on the way to work, in the shower, or in the middle of a meeting.

 

I was a bit confused at the start of the song, as it sounded like it was being played on an old gramophone… I cranked my computer up, so I could hear. Do not make the mistake of doing that, it will hurt your ears when it kicks in with lively banjo playing and those indelible lyrics “Moolah…Moolah I measure my money with a ruler”.

These guys are great performers, Captain Festus McBoyle (Rich Manic) and his Travellin’ Variety Show is touted as one of New Zealand’s top family entertainment acts with their unique style of Vaudeville musical comedy. Comparisons to Spike Milligan and Monty Python are common. “Family entertainment at its best…. Musical comedy at its finest…The ultimate rotten entertainers!”. Don’t be fooled by “The Family Music” tag, this is in fact a hard market to break into in New Zealand, these guys tour, perform relentlessly, have been nominated for several awards and produced three albums. This is not just kid’s music; it is a business which can be launched across multiple platforms.

Everything from the website to the video is stunning. Props, costumes, photography, videography and make up. The story behind the song is humorous and will appeal immensely to our wee darlings, how can it not when it involves a pirate, treasure and cow poo. Over the top Vaudeville is colourful, bright and so darn happy. What a wonderful way to entertain children.

Appealing, to young and old alike. Visually stimulating, catchy, fun and cheerful. It put a smile on my face and a loop of lyrics in my head which I am still singing to myself as I write this. Darn you Captain Festus McBoyle and your motley crew, I can see now why you got the support from NZ on Air. This is unforgettable.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem