27 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah

15 Jun 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids. You know the kind, catchy upbeat tunes that have no problem going around and around in your head and you never truly get it out. I did my time with Barney, The Gummi Bear Song and The Wiggles and I don’t believe it is by accident these little ditties get lodged in our brains. Oh no, it is a very clever way to make sure we never forget certain songs. Marketing at its finest. Captain Festus McBoyle and crew have done just that. Created a song called Moolah that kids will love, and parents will curse, because it is so infectious that you will find yourself humming it on the way to work, in the shower, or in the middle of a meeting.

 

I was a bit confused at the start of the song, as it sounded like it was being played on an old gramophone… I cranked my computer up, so I could hear. Do not make the mistake of doing that, it will hurt your ears when it kicks in with lively banjo playing and those indelible lyrics “Moolah…Moolah I measure my money with a ruler”.

These guys are great performers, Captain Festus McBoyle (Rich Manic) and his Travellin’ Variety Show is touted as one of New Zealand’s top family entertainment acts with their unique style of Vaudeville musical comedy. Comparisons to Spike Milligan and Monty Python are common. “Family entertainment at its best…. Musical comedy at its finest…The ultimate rotten entertainers!”. Don’t be fooled by “The Family Music” tag, this is in fact a hard market to break into in New Zealand, these guys tour, perform relentlessly, have been nominated for several awards and produced three albums. This is not just kid’s music; it is a business which can be launched across multiple platforms.

Everything from the website to the video is stunning. Props, costumes, photography, videography and make up. The story behind the song is humorous and will appeal immensely to our wee darlings, how can it not when it involves a pirate, treasure and cow poo. Over the top Vaudeville is colourful, bright and so darn happy. What a wonderful way to entertain children.

Appealing, to young and old alike. Visually stimulating, catchy, fun and cheerful. It put a smile on my face and a loop of lyrics in my head which I am still singing to myself as I write this. Darn you Captain Festus McBoyle and your motley crew, I can see now why you got the support from NZ on Air. This is unforgettable.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Release: Not Another Ballad
22 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian-born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released a brand new single Not Another Ballad - an energetic and cheery number, guaranteed to get you moving your booty across the dance floor. Conceived from the willingness to placate her band with the promise of “not another ballad”, the song of the same name was born.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - Single Review: Between The Lines
15 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based RnB sensation with the breath-taking soulful voice; Bailey Wiley has just released her latest single Between The Lines. This track gives fans a glimpse inside Bailey's mind as she falls in love.
Read More...
Jan Hellriegel - Album Review: Sportsman Of The Year
06 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Jan Hellriegel is somewhat of an NZ musical icon, Songwriter, performer, producer, music publisher, copyright expert, mother and now author she has a name many of us of a certain age would have heard of. Her latest body of work Sportsman Of The Year appears to be a defining moment in not only her musical life, but also her personal one.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters and James Wilkinson - Single Review: Spaces Between Words
25 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Nelson based singer songwriter Jacquie Walters is about to release an alluring new single Spaces Between Words, featuring James Wilkinson on bass and Jacquie on guitar and vocals. Jacquie and James have shared many musical memories spanning over 25 years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem