26 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah

15 Jun 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids. You know the kind, catchy upbeat tunes that have no problem going around and around in your head and you never truly get it out. I did my time with Barney, The Gummi Bear Song and The Wiggles and I don’t believe it is by accident these little ditties get lodged in our brains. Oh no, it is a very clever way to make sure we never forget certain songs. Marketing at its finest. Captain Festus McBoyle and crew have done just that. Created a song called Moolah that kids will love, and parents will curse, because it is so infectious that you will find yourself humming it on the way to work, in the shower, or in the middle of a meeting.

 

I was a bit confused at the start of the song, as it sounded like it was being played on an old gramophone… I cranked my computer up, so I could hear. Do not make the mistake of doing that, it will hurt your ears when it kicks in with lively banjo playing and those indelible lyrics “Moolah…Moolah I measure my money with a ruler”.

These guys are great performers, Captain Festus McBoyle (Rich Manic) and his Travellin’ Variety Show is touted as one of New Zealand’s top family entertainment acts with their unique style of Vaudeville musical comedy. Comparisons to Spike Milligan and Monty Python are common. “Family entertainment at its best…. Musical comedy at its finest…The ultimate rotten entertainers!”. Don’t be fooled by “The Family Music” tag, this is in fact a hard market to break into in New Zealand, these guys tour, perform relentlessly, have been nominated for several awards and produced three albums. This is not just kid’s music; it is a business which can be launched across multiple platforms.

Everything from the website to the video is stunning. Props, costumes, photography, videography and make up. The story behind the song is humorous and will appeal immensely to our wee darlings, how can it not when it involves a pirate, treasure and cow poo. Over the top Vaudeville is colourful, bright and so darn happy. What a wonderful way to entertain children.

Appealing, to young and old alike. Visually stimulating, catchy, fun and cheerful. It put a smile on my face and a loop of lyrics in my head which I am still singing to myself as I write this. Darn you Captain Festus McBoyle and your motley crew, I can see now why you got the support from NZ on Air. This is unforgettable.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem