14 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah

15 Jun 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids. You know the kind, catchy upbeat tunes that have no problem going around and around in your head and you never truly get it out. I did my time with Barney, The Gummi Bear Song and The Wiggles and I don’t believe it is by accident these little ditties get lodged in our brains. Oh no, it is a very clever way to make sure we never forget certain songs. Marketing at its finest. Captain Festus McBoyle and crew have done just that. Created a song called Moolah that kids will love, and parents will curse, because it is so infectious that you will find yourself humming it on the way to work, in the shower, or in the middle of a meeting.

 

I was a bit confused at the start of the song, as it sounded like it was being played on an old gramophone… I cranked my computer up, so I could hear. Do not make the mistake of doing that, it will hurt your ears when it kicks in with lively banjo playing and those indelible lyrics “Moolah…Moolah I measure my money with a ruler”.

These guys are great performers, Captain Festus McBoyle (Rich Manic) and his Travellin’ Variety Show is touted as one of New Zealand’s top family entertainment acts with their unique style of Vaudeville musical comedy. Comparisons to Spike Milligan and Monty Python are common. “Family entertainment at its best…. Musical comedy at its finest…The ultimate rotten entertainers!”. Don’t be fooled by “The Family Music” tag, this is in fact a hard market to break into in New Zealand, these guys tour, perform relentlessly, have been nominated for several awards and produced three albums. This is not just kid’s music; it is a business which can be launched across multiple platforms.

Everything from the website to the video is stunning. Props, costumes, photography, videography and make up. The story behind the song is humorous and will appeal immensely to our wee darlings, how can it not when it involves a pirate, treasure and cow poo. Over the top Vaudeville is colourful, bright and so darn happy. What a wonderful way to entertain children.

Appealing, to young and old alike. Visually stimulating, catchy, fun and cheerful. It put a smile on my face and a loop of lyrics in my head which I am still singing to myself as I write this. Darn you Captain Festus McBoyle and your motley crew, I can see now why you got the support from NZ on Air. This is unforgettable.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
Sky Canvas - Single Review: Fossil
09 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative Soul/hip hop 5 piece band Sky Canvas from Wellington, have released a funky new single Fossil - a rich bluesy beat infused with synth and accompanied by the strong soulful vocals of Katelin Little. Fossil is a jazzy number with a futuristic sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem