16 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018

12 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc. I can remember getting my first Harrington Jacket and having Specials in bright red felt letters ironed onto the back. At the time I had never seen or heard them but everyone in Coventry had a Harrington with either their own name on the back (why would you do that?) or a band from the Two Tone Label.

In later years I ran a rehearsal studio in the city and got to know some of the musicians who were part of this scene. Sir Horace Gentleman (or H to his friends) still plays around the city and with the current line up of The Specials and used to rehearse with us. Roddy Radiation (Byers) who can now be found playing in The Ska Billy Rebels. It's part of my musical heritage so I just had to be there for this evening of New Zealand based Ska.

I arrived early as the event was sold out and parked myself in a corner of the room with a decent view not too far from the bar. There was a real buzz as a mixed crowd of stoners, dub heads, punks, skins and rude boys and girls settled in for a celebration of a day off here in NZ that my friends back in Blighty don't even get. Ska save the Queen indeed!

The room was full as openers Roofdog took to the stage. After a few technical issues, the band kicked in with a brand of high energy punk-infused Ska. Think Rancid meets The Drop Kick Murphys while necking whiskey and smoking weed. A mixture of speed and chill that was totally intoxicating. They are bringing something new to the genre and were the highlight of the night for me. Vocalist Jake has a great voice and laid-back punk style that is backed up by some great songs and musicianship from the rest of the band.

As they finish and the in-between DJ's spin some mellow vibes in advance of The Mighty Herbsmen taking to the stage I attempt to make my way to the bar but give up. This place is seriously rammed.

Obviously, with a name like theirs, The Mighty Herbsmen were going to bring a slightly mellower Ska reggae vibe that kept the party rolling. They were tighter around the edges than the punkier Roofdog but also mixed things up a bit continuing a theme of taking Ska and Reggae then adding their own twist of rum and coke to it. They smoothed out the lines, got people dancing and almost had a stoned showband vibe about them. Great musicians and a great vibe that was the perfect build to headliners Acetones.

I have seen these guys before and they are faultless. At this stage of the night the alcohol has kicked in and it's all systems go. How they fit the whole band onto this little stage and still manage to play is beyond me, so I close my eyes and just start to dance. After all that is what I remember about this music as a kid in Coventry growing up with Two Tone and Ska music. It makes you want to dance, transports you to another place. Acetones are the icing on the Queen's Birthday Cake dropping a bit of reality and escapism into the mix and are the perfect end to a night I will never forget.

See you next year (unless she pops her paid by the taxpayer's clogs)

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem