18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018

12 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc. I can remember getting my first Harrington Jacket and having Specials in bright red felt letters ironed onto the back. At the time I had never seen or heard them but everyone in Coventry had a Harrington with either their own name on the back (why would you do that?) or a band from the Two Tone Label.

In later years I ran a rehearsal studio in the city and got to know some of the musicians who were part of this scene. Sir Horace Gentleman (or H to his friends) still plays around the city and with the current line up of The Specials and used to rehearse with us. Roddy Radiation (Byers) who can now be found playing in The Ska Billy Rebels. It's part of my musical heritage so I just had to be there for this evening of New Zealand based Ska.

I arrived early as the event was sold out and parked myself in a corner of the room with a decent view not too far from the bar. There was a real buzz as a mixed crowd of stoners, dub heads, punks, skins and rude boys and girls settled in for a celebration of a day off here in NZ that my friends back in Blighty don't even get. Ska save the Queen indeed!

The room was full as openers Roofdog took to the stage. After a few technical issues, the band kicked in with a brand of high energy punk-infused Ska. Think Rancid meets The Drop Kick Murphys while necking whiskey and smoking weed. A mixture of speed and chill that was totally intoxicating. They are bringing something new to the genre and were the highlight of the night for me. Vocalist Jake has a great voice and laid-back punk style that is backed up by some great songs and musicianship from the rest of the band.

As they finish and the in-between DJ's spin some mellow vibes in advance of The Mighty Herbsmen taking to the stage I attempt to make my way to the bar but give up. This place is seriously rammed.

Obviously, with a name like theirs, The Mighty Herbsmen were going to bring a slightly mellower Ska reggae vibe that kept the party rolling. They were tighter around the edges than the punkier Roofdog but also mixed things up a bit continuing a theme of taking Ska and Reggae then adding their own twist of rum and coke to it. They smoothed out the lines, got people dancing and almost had a stoned showband vibe about them. Great musicians and a great vibe that was the perfect build to headliners Acetones.

I have seen these guys before and they are faultless. At this stage of the night the alcohol has kicked in and it's all systems go. How they fit the whole band onto this little stage and still manage to play is beyond me, so I close my eyes and just start to dance. After all that is what I remember about this music as a kid in Coventry growing up with Two Tone and Ska music. It makes you want to dance, transports you to another place. Acetones are the icing on the Queen's Birthday Cake dropping a bit of reality and escapism into the mix and are the perfect end to a night I will never forget.

See you next year (unless she pops her paid by the taxpayer's clogs)

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem