20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Soda Boyz - EP Review: By Soda Boyz

05 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
So, a young band from Palmy do the norm and go through the "Rockquest" motions. Just another bunch of wannabe talented, wannabe kind of good at what we do but fuck being famous we would rather be cool wannabes, or so I thought until I hit play and turned this music up loud. I expected fizz, effervescence, riotous youthful abandon and some shite cliched lyrics but I was wrong, and I am so glad.

The unexpected is a great thing. It usually shocks and excites (unless it's the Arctic Monkeys new album because that disappoints and then infuriates as it surprisingly turns into a classic) and this EP from Soda Boyz was a shock. Not what I was expecting at all and all the better for it.

A few years ago, I came across a band from Europe called Lysistrata. They are cool if a little pretentious. I don't know if anyone in Soda Boyz has ever heard Lysistrata but the similarity with the songs on this Soda Boyz EP is uncanny (go on check them out).

Two songs in and I am excited. There is nothing better than a young band from NZ pushing the boundaries. We need more of this!

It's not all alternative indie roses though and at times these 6 tracks do feel a little self-indulgent. Just as they connect they wander off into the background to go play with themselves. Overall the pace is slow and that is my only criticism. Nothing wrong with slow but drop a Mento into the bottle of Soda sometimes and it would be all on!

Closing track Saigon is a good example of this and certainly doesn't explode like the place did back in 1968.

What Soda Boyz do have though is some serious talent, they create some great atmospherics and it's all a little left of fielding. Stand out track is San Pelligrino, honestly, one of the best 2 min 29 seconds of music I have heard this year, and this is the seed they should grow from. You only have to look at the bands they are playing with to see that Soda Boyz could be a future Flying Nun staple.

The potential is huge, the sound is experimental and thank god they aren't a bunch of wannabe talented but would rather be cool bunch of wannabes. Just give them some Mentos and watch them explode.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Soda Boyz

Soda Boyz are three high school students hailing from Palmerston North.

Band members Jules Rosenbrook and Felix Carr are both students at Palmerston North Boys' High, while Josh Finegan is from Freyberg High School.

Described as a noise punk trio, Finegan said they had a DIY kind of sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Soda Boyz

Releases

By Soda Boyz
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem