19 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Soda Boyz - EP Review: By Soda Boyz

05 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
So, a young band from Palmy do the norm and go through the "Rockquest" motions. Just another bunch of wannabe talented, wannabe kind of good at what we do but fuck being famous we would rather be cool wannabes, or so I thought until I hit play and turned this music up loud. I expected fizz, effervescence, riotous youthful abandon and some shite cliched lyrics but I was wrong, and I am so glad.

The unexpected is a great thing. It usually shocks and excites (unless it's the Arctic Monkeys new album because that disappoints and then infuriates as it surprisingly turns into a classic) and this EP from Soda Boyz was a shock. Not what I was expecting at all and all the better for it.

A few years ago, I came across a band from Europe called Lysistrata. They are cool if a little pretentious. I don't know if anyone in Soda Boyz has ever heard Lysistrata but the similarity with the songs on this Soda Boyz EP is uncanny (go on check them out).

Two songs in and I am excited. There is nothing better than a young band from NZ pushing the boundaries. We need more of this!

It's not all alternative indie roses though and at times these 6 tracks do feel a little self-indulgent. Just as they connect they wander off into the background to go play with themselves. Overall the pace is slow and that is my only criticism. Nothing wrong with slow but drop a Mento into the bottle of Soda sometimes and it would be all on!

Closing track Saigon is a good example of this and certainly doesn't explode like the place did back in 1968.

What Soda Boyz do have though is some serious talent, they create some great atmospherics and it's all a little left of fielding. Stand out track is San Pelligrino, honestly, one of the best 2 min 29 seconds of music I have heard this year, and this is the seed they should grow from. You only have to look at the bands they are playing with to see that Soda Boyz could be a future Flying Nun staple.

The potential is huge, the sound is experimental and thank god they aren't a bunch of wannabe talented but would rather be cool bunch of wannabes. Just give them some Mentos and watch them explode.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Soda Boyz

Soda Boyz are three high school students hailing from Palmerston North.

Band members Jules Rosenbrook and Felix Carr are both students at Palmerston North Boys' High, while Josh Finegan is from Freyberg High School.

Described as a noise punk trio, Finegan said they had a DIY kind of sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Soda Boyz

Releases

By Soda Boyz
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem