25 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dead Kid Harvester - Album Review: The First Sign Of Madness

04 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I knew this wasn't going to be an easy listen. With a moniker like Dead Kid Harvester and song titles like Scab Made Out Of Faeces, Paul Harvey isn't aiming for middle of the road chart-bothering, but I love music of all extremes and we all need to be challenged.

Music is defined as "vocal or instrumental sounds (or both) combined in such a way as to produce beauty of form, harmony and expression of emotion" So DKH doesn't make music!

The Sonics for each of the 13 tracks are created using kitchen utensils and random household objects and occasionally this is interspersed with vocals that sometimes sound like they are also coming out of a coffee machine. It is kind of hard to convey so the best way I know is to try and explain how listening to this made me feel.

I ran the full gauntlet of emotions during the first track Radiation. Uncomfortable would be the first feeling that comes to mind, bemused, then slightly disturbed, then ultimately bored. Yep, all that in the first few minutes. I am all for experimentation but ultimately it still needs to connect and whilst the sounds created by DKH would be great as a soundtrack for a horror movie there just isn't enough energy or life in them to fully engage the listener.

Remember when you were a kid and your first drum kit was a set of pots and pans. DKH has captured that childish abandon but also seems to have abandoned all hope of taking the experiment any further. I was expecting the sounds created to be put through a blender (excuse the pun) and come out the other end sounding like something completely unworldly but what we actually get here is 13 tracks that do sound just like a 5-year-old banging on pots and pans.

I might be wrong, but I honestly don't think anyone would play this CD through more than once. I was driving whilst listening and I must admit one strange effect was I lost my sense of time. Maybe it should come with a warning not to play while driving but it did make the Auckland traffic jam seem a little shorter.

I am sure DKH doesn't give a s**t about what I or anyone else thinks about his art and why should he? This is art more than music and there is always room for this. Everyone should listen to First Signs Of Madness at least once but if ever he does want to reach a wider audience he should just repackage this album as a game. Great fun after a few beers playing "name that kitchen utensil", it kept me and my mate busy as we sat watching all the other Auckland commuters staring down at their phones while crawling along the Auckland SH1 car park.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Dead Kid Harvester

Dead Kid Harvester is a solo avant-garde/experimental/noise artist with a complete disregard for any form of music convention such as harmony or tempo. The primary instruments used are vocals and kitchen utensils. The life of a song typically begins with the lyrics, written with no consideration for rhythm or beat. Dead Kid Harvester takes influences ranging from doom metal to drone, industrial and old school punk, and polarizes them into an industrial cacophony of noise. Recorded samples and segments are combined haphazardly into songs, with frequent use of pitch shift and time stretch effects.

Dead Kid Harvester was formed in Porirua, New Zealand in December 2000, later moving to Auckland. The name Dead Kid Harvester is a combination of two nicknames acquired at high school, and is no less off-putting than the music itself. The preferred lyrical themes are insanity, horror and philosophy. Dead Kid Harvester makes use of both jarring and subtle variations between channels to invoke uneasiness and disarray.

In 2018, after nearly ten years of recording and procrastination, the debut full-length album The First Sign Of Madness was finally completed.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dead Kid Harvester

Releases

The First Sign of Madness
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem