15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dead Kid Harvester - Album Review: The First Sign Of Madness

04 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I knew this wasn't going to be an easy listen. With a moniker like Dead Kid Harvester and song titles like Scab Made Out Of Faeces, Paul Harvey isn't aiming for middle of the road chart-bothering, but I love music of all extremes and we all need to be challenged.

Music is defined as "vocal or instrumental sounds (or both) combined in such a way as to produce beauty of form, harmony and expression of emotion" So DKH doesn't make music!

The Sonics for each of the 13 tracks are created using kitchen utensils and random household objects and occasionally this is interspersed with vocals that sometimes sound like they are also coming out of a coffee machine. It is kind of hard to convey so the best way I know is to try and explain how listening to this made me feel.

I ran the full gauntlet of emotions during the first track Radiation. Uncomfortable would be the first feeling that comes to mind, bemused, then slightly disturbed, then ultimately bored. Yep, all that in the first few minutes. I am all for experimentation but ultimately it still needs to connect and whilst the sounds created by DKH would be great as a soundtrack for a horror movie there just isn't enough energy or life in them to fully engage the listener.

Remember when you were a kid and your first drum kit was a set of pots and pans. DKH has captured that childish abandon but also seems to have abandoned all hope of taking the experiment any further. I was expecting the sounds created to be put through a blender (excuse the pun) and come out the other end sounding like something completely unworldly but what we actually get here is 13 tracks that do sound just like a 5-year-old banging on pots and pans.

I might be wrong, but I honestly don't think anyone would play this CD through more than once. I was driving whilst listening and I must admit one strange effect was I lost my sense of time. Maybe it should come with a warning not to play while driving but it did make the Auckland traffic jam seem a little shorter.

I am sure DKH doesn't give a s**t about what I or anyone else thinks about his art and why should he? This is art more than music and there is always room for this. Everyone should listen to First Signs Of Madness at least once but if ever he does want to reach a wider audience he should just repackage this album as a game. Great fun after a few beers playing "name that kitchen utensil", it kept me and my mate busy as we sat watching all the other Auckland commuters staring down at their phones while crawling along the Auckland SH1 car park.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Dead Kid Harvester

Dead Kid Harvester is a solo avant-garde/experimental/noise artist with a complete disregard for any form of music convention such as harmony or tempo. The primary instruments used are vocals and kitchen utensils. The life of a song typically begins with the lyrics, written with no consideration for rhythm or beat. Dead Kid Harvester takes influences ranging from doom metal to drone, industrial and old school punk, and polarizes them into an industrial cacophony of noise. Recorded samples and segments are combined haphazardly into songs, with frequent use of pitch shift and time stretch effects.

Dead Kid Harvester was formed in Porirua, New Zealand in December 2000, later moving to Auckland. The name Dead Kid Harvester is a combination of two nicknames acquired at high school, and is no less off-putting than the music itself. The preferred lyrical themes are insanity, horror and philosophy. Dead Kid Harvester makes use of both jarring and subtle variations between channels to invoke uneasiness and disarray.

In 2018, after nearly ten years of recording and procrastination, the debut full-length album The First Sign Of Madness was finally completed.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dead Kid Harvester

Releases

The First Sign of Madness
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem