21 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Soda Boyz - Single Review: Home Again

04 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
This new single from Soda Boyz simmers and shimmers. Totally instrumental, it's a great example of how music doesn't always need words to get the message across. Omitting words can make a piece of music even more vital with every listener feeling a different experience and getting their own interpretation of what the band are trying to convey. The tempo is slow but the 3 minutes and 15 seconds fly by and left me feeling slightly sad and thoughtful. Not sure if that what was meant to be conveyed but like I said each person will feel a different vibe.

When added to other songs Home Again can come across as a bit of a musical interlude but when isolated as a single, it has its own power and is a great taster of what Soda Boyz are creating. They are a band who seem to want to experiment so let's hope there is more of this to come and that a collection of new songs isn't too far away. Get the EP on Vinyl including this new single and support some up and coming talent.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Soda Boyz

Soda Boyz are three high school students hailing from Palmerston North.

Band members Jules Rosenbrook and Felix Carr are both students at Palmerston North Boys' High, while Josh Finegan is from Freyberg High School.

Described as a noise punk trio, Finegan said they had a DIY kind of sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Soda Boyz

Releases

By Soda Boyz
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected.
Read More...
EP Review: Ghost Who Walks
21 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
This debut EP from Wellington’s Ghost Who Walks comes hot on the electro-plasmic coat tails of the latest single released, Walking Talking Blues. Vertigo is the opener here and is a blues 'n' funk-tinged blast with more than a hint of soul that will get you dancing.
Read More...
Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
My heart is racing. Not sure if that’s a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Auckland’s Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000’s, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • THE RINGER
    Eminem
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • FALL
    Eminem
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem