18 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Sneaky

01 Jun 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
When asked to describe the music of Curlys Jewels, there are many words out there on the interweb like “hard hitting” and “high energy” but the description I love the most was as follows… “We bring a tight aural mash of lady-lung grungy banshee-esque melodically thumpy hard rock to our beautifully diverse audiences’ earholes”. I can actually hear that coming out of Janelle’s mouth. 


The band’s latest single release Sneaky was recorded at Roundhead Studios in Auckland and is an incredibly catchy number with a huge sound and epic vocals. That lady sure knows how to belt out a tune.

From the catchy lyrics to the massive instrumentals, this is an absolute winner in my book. And it got even better when I saw the video which was filmed by Bradley Garner Creative. It had a sense of humour which really appealed to me and put a smile on my face this frosty Friday morning. Make sure you watch the Sneaky video it will have you in stitches. I love these guys.


There is real depth to the guitar playing that caused goose bumps on this track. Aaron and Andy complement each other well and Corey on drums just smashed it. They deliver a sound which reverberates in your head.

There is a slight 80’s rock vibe going on with Sneaky, but they still bring that hard hitting and heavy sound they are known for. Faultless vocals and powerful lyrics “Silence is killer, sweet sadistic thriller”. This is a radio worthy track if ever I heard one. Very tight.

The group of talented Wellingtonians are making themselves heard in the NZ rock scene. People are starting to sit up and take notice. And if they aren’t, they should be.   

Curlys Jewels are a force to reckon with. I reckon.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Curlys Jewels

Wellington band Curlys Jewels had a huge 2018 including 4 sold out shows on tour with rock legends The Feelers (NZ) and support slot with international rock stars Living Colour (USA), Curlys Jewels have been recording at Roundhead Studios with the legendary producer Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, The Feelers, OpShop), and mixed by the 2017 NZ Music award winning producer Clint Murphy (Devilskin). The bands tracks capture the tight grooves, solid riffs and soaring vocals that Curlys Jewels are known for. New music out very soon!

“Great tunes. Rockin’ band! Killer vocalist” (Vernon Reid, Living Colour)


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Release: Not Another Ballad
22 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian-born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released a brand new single Not Another Ballad - an energetic and cheery number, guaranteed to get you moving your booty across the dance floor. Conceived from the willingness to placate her band with the promise of “not another ballad”, the song of the same name was born.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - Single Review: Between The Lines
15 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based RnB sensation with the breath-taking soulful voice; Bailey Wiley has just released her latest single Between The Lines. This track gives fans a glimpse inside Bailey's mind as she falls in love.
Read More...
Jan Hellriegel - Album Review: Sportsman Of The Year
06 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Jan Hellriegel is somewhat of an NZ musical icon, Songwriter, performer, producer, music publisher, copyright expert, mother and now author she has a name many of us of a certain age would have heard of. Her latest body of work Sportsman Of The Year appears to be a defining moment in not only her musical life, but also her personal one.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters and James Wilkinson - Single Review: Spaces Between Words
25 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Nelson based singer songwriter Jacquie Walters is about to release an alluring new single Spaces Between Words, featuring James Wilkinson on bass and Jacquie on guitar and vocals. Jacquie and James have shared many musical memories spanning over 25 years.
Read More...
Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem