16 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Sneaky

01 Jun 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
When asked to describe the music of Curlys Jewels, there are many words out there on the interweb like “hard hitting” and “high energy” but the description I love the most was as follows… “We bring a tight aural mash of lady-lung grungy banshee-esque melodically thumpy hard rock to our beautifully diverse audiences’ earholes”. I can actually hear that coming out of Janelle’s mouth. 


The band’s latest single release Sneaky was recorded at Roundhead Studios in Auckland and is an incredibly catchy number with a huge sound and epic vocals. That lady sure knows how to belt out a tune.

From the catchy lyrics to the massive instrumentals, this is an absolute winner in my book. And it got even better when I saw the video which was filmed by Bradley Garner Creative. It had a sense of humour which really appealed to me and put a smile on my face this frosty Friday morning. Make sure you watch the Sneaky video it will have you in stitches. I love these guys.


There is real depth to the guitar playing that caused goose bumps on this track. Aaron and Andy complement each other well and Corey on drums just smashed it. They deliver a sound which reverberates in your head.

There is a slight 80’s rock vibe going on with Sneaky, but they still bring that hard hitting and heavy sound they are known for. Faultless vocals and powerful lyrics “Silence is killer, sweet sadistic thriller”. This is a radio worthy track if ever I heard one. Very tight.

The group of talented Wellingtonians are making themselves heard in the NZ rock scene. People are starting to sit up and take notice. And if they aren’t, they should be.   

Curlys Jewels are a force to reckon with. I reckon.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Curlys Jewels

Wellington band Curlys Jewels had a huge 2018 including 4 sold out shows on tour with rock legends The Feelers (NZ) and support slot with international rock stars Living Colour (USA), Curlys Jewels have been recording at Roundhead Studios with the legendary producer Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, The Feelers, OpShop), and mixed by the 2017 NZ Music award winning producer Clint Murphy (Devilskin). The bands tracks capture the tight grooves, solid riffs and soaring vocals that Curlys Jewels are known for. New music out very soon!

“Great tunes. Rockin’ band! Killer vocalist” (Vernon Reid, Living Colour)


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings
26 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric video; Somethings. The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem