8 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Sneaky

01 Jun 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
When asked to describe the music of Curlys Jewels, there are many words out there on the interweb like “hard hitting” and “high energy” but the description I love the most was as follows… “We bring a tight aural mash of lady-lung grungy banshee-esque melodically thumpy hard rock to our beautifully diverse audiences’ earholes”. I can actually hear that coming out of Janelle’s mouth. 


The band’s latest single release Sneaky was recorded at Roundhead Studios in Auckland and is an incredibly catchy number with a huge sound and epic vocals. That lady sure knows how to belt out a tune.

From the catchy lyrics to the massive instrumentals, this is an absolute winner in my book. And it got even better when I saw the video which was filmed by Bradley Garner Creative. It had a sense of humour which really appealed to me and put a smile on my face this frosty Friday morning. Make sure you watch the Sneaky video it will have you in stitches. I love these guys.


There is real depth to the guitar playing that caused goose bumps on this track. Aaron and Andy complement each other well and Corey on drums just smashed it. They deliver a sound which reverberates in your head.

There is a slight 80’s rock vibe going on with Sneaky, but they still bring that hard hitting and heavy sound they are known for. Faultless vocals and powerful lyrics “Silence is killer, sweet sadistic thriller”. This is a radio worthy track if ever I heard one. Very tight.

The group of talented Wellingtonians are making themselves heard in the NZ rock scene. People are starting to sit up and take notice. And if they aren’t, they should be.   

Curlys Jewels are a force to reckon with. I reckon.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Curlys Jewels

Wellington band Curlys Jewels had a huge 2018 including 4 sold out shows on tour with rock legends The Feelers (NZ) and support slot with international rock stars Living Colour (USA), Curlys Jewels have been recording at Roundhead Studios with the legendary producer Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, The Feelers, OpShop), and mixed by the 2017 NZ Music award winning producer Clint Murphy (Devilskin). The bands tracks capture the tight grooves, solid riffs and soaring vocals that Curlys Jewels are known for. New music out very soon!

“Great tunes. Rockin’ band! Killer vocalist” (Vernon Reid, Living Colour)


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Curlys Jewels

Releases

The Skin We Shed
Year: 2017
Type: EP
No Apostrophe
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

EJ Barrett - Single Review: Paint Me A Picture
06 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
It didn’t take me long to warm to EJ Barrett and her sultry, husky vocals. The New Zealand musical artist based in New Plymouth has taken flight with the debut single Paint Me A Picture.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Single/Video Review: Pipz
05 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Something Zesty is a Whanganui based musical artist who captured my attention first by the bold claim that the latest offering is "an unmistakable dance-floor hit" and secondly by the vibrant and appropriately spaced out animated video which turned out to be the perfect accompaniment to his latest release; Pipz. The music video is the second animated adventure for two curious looking characters, Chambzy and Zestro, following on from Something Zesty’s first single Mad About It.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - EP Review: Cider
30 Jul 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Napier’s young singer-songwriter Danica Bryant showcases powerful vocals on her debut 4 track EP, Cider. Currently based in Wellington, this is one lady who is not afraid to express herself through strong powerful lyrics and fierce emotion, and boy…does she have the lungs to pull it off.
Read More...
Yasamin - Single Review: Baghdad Boy
15 Jul 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Singer/songwriter, activist and former scientist Yasamin has just released the latest single from her upcoming album. Baghdad Boy is the second release from her anticipated album Songs Over Baghdad.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Promise
08 Jul 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based singer-songwriter Theajsound has just released his latest track Promise, a sentimental love song which he describes as an "ode to the beginning of a budding love". Gaining popularity on YouTube with his cover hits, he quickly rose to social media fame when he had 11 million views around the world on his cover with Shirley Setia.
Read More...
Alan Brown - Album Review: Wind And Wire
18 Jun 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alan Brown’s name is entrenched in the New Zealand Jazz scene as not only an established Jazz keyboardist, but also from his highly successful Jazz-funk band in the 1990’s, Blue Train. While reputed for his keyboard and Hammond organ skills his recent work, following on from his past solo creations is titled Wind And Wire, an instrumental, atmospheric electronica based album offering up a brooding sonic soundscape.
Read More...
Grace - Single Review: Echo Thoughts
29 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young bedroom music producer from Auckland, Grace has just released the first track from her EP Music From The Cupboard. Echo Thoughts is a captivating track of ethereal vocals enveloped in a luscious techno beat.
Read More...
Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Animal
27 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand alternative post-punk inspired (Or lovelorn vet nurse shadow-pop) songwriter Hannah Curwood from Hannah In The Wars has just released a new single Animal. A unique and totally enjoyable song, which is as bizarre as it is loveable.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem