21 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Erik Graham - Single Review: I Don’t Know

30 May 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Erik Graham is a songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates a record label called Headcage out of the heart of West Auckland where he composed, performed, programmed, mixed and mastered his entire upcoming debut album. He is also the founder of Enter Venus, which is described as ‘sinister rock’. Away from that, Erik Graham’s music is less sinister. His latest single release called I don’t Know is a funky blues/rock number which hooked me in immediately.

There was no dramatic build-up on this track, he launches straight into it with a respectably dance worthy number.

I don’t know is a far cry from the Rob Zombie style sound of his creative project Enter Venus, more cheerful less theatrical. An optimistic and upbeat tone accompanies a candid tale of an epic night out on the tiles with a somebody, but not remembering a thing the next day. Dancing on tables was involved, perhaps making this a tale which a few people may relate to. I did hear a touch of darkness start to creep in, but it was all delivered in such a cheerful manner highlighting the versatility of Erik’s music.

I Don't Know shows off what a seasoned and skilful guitarist he is. Vocally his voice has a lovely depth to it, almost soothing - at least on this track.

Further investigation leads me down various avenues to this multi-talented musician, it soon becomes clear that the expat South African is a clever and imaginative song writer.

I look forward to hearing Erik’s debut album Quiet Desperation, which is due for release later in the year.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Erik Graham

Erik Graham is a New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates 'Headcage', a record label in the heart of West Auckland. He is best known as the founder, primary musician, and principal songwriter of his self-titled music and Rock group Enter Venus. Erik Graham's music is an eclectic mix of guitar driven Rock and Pop with Blues, classical and Funk elements. His baritone voice has subtle grungy characteristics which he often combines with high falsetto to create his own signature sound.

Erik, a skilled guitar player, had a humble start to the instrument at age 11. His older cousin had to string it for him, but the attempt broke 4 out of 6 strings and ultimately left Erik with a two stringed guitar for several years. "It was good enough to strum with to some Nirvana songs" Erik chuckles. "Aged 16 I begged my parents for a drumkit and on Christmas day I received a guitar shaped present under the tree. Gutted at first, but I haven't looked back since unwrapping it". It was his first Fender Stratocaster, which he still plays today (and has all six strings on it). Being self-taught he describes how he learned to play by listening to and reproducing material by his idols: Jimmy Page (Led Zeppelin), David Gilmour (Pink Floyd) , John Frusciante (Red Hot Chili Peppers) and Billy Corgan (Smashing Pumpkins).

His debut album Quiet Desperation is set for release in late 2018. The EP demonstrates his alternative style to writing music and takes the listener through a journey of varying moods, atmospheres and emotions.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Erik Graham

Releases

There are no releases to display for Erik Graham.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Following on from this will be a nationwide tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • MY BAD
    Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem