16 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Erik Graham - Single Review: I Don’t Know

30 May 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Erik Graham is a songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates a record label called Headcage out of the heart of West Auckland where he composed, performed, programmed, mixed and mastered his entire upcoming debut album. He is also the founder of Enter Venus, which is described as ‘sinister rock’. Away from that, Erik Graham’s music is less sinister. His latest single release called I don’t Know is a funky blues/rock number which hooked me in immediately.

There was no dramatic build-up on this track, he launches straight into it with a respectably dance worthy number.

I don’t know is a far cry from the Rob Zombie style sound of his creative project Enter Venus, more cheerful less theatrical. An optimistic and upbeat tone accompanies a candid tale of an epic night out on the tiles with a somebody, but not remembering a thing the next day. Dancing on tables was involved, perhaps making this a tale which a few people may relate to. I did hear a touch of darkness start to creep in, but it was all delivered in such a cheerful manner highlighting the versatility of Erik’s music.

I Don't Know shows off what a seasoned and skilful guitarist he is. Vocally his voice has a lovely depth to it, almost soothing - at least on this track.

Further investigation leads me down various avenues to this multi-talented musician, it soon becomes clear that the expat South African is a clever and imaginative song writer.

I look forward to hearing Erik’s debut album Quiet Desperation, which is due for release later in the year.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Erik Graham

Erik Graham is a New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates 'Headcage', a record label in the heart of West Auckland. He is best known as the founder, primary musician, and principal songwriter of his self-titled music and Rock group Enter Venus. Erik Graham's music is an eclectic mix of guitar driven Rock and Pop with Blues, classical and Funk elements. His baritone voice has subtle grungy characteristics which he often combines with high falsetto to create his own signature sound.

Erik, a skilled guitar player, had a humble start to the instrument at age 11. His older cousin had to string it for him, but the attempt broke 4 out of 6 strings and ultimately left Erik with a two stringed guitar for several years. "It was good enough to strum with to some Nirvana songs" Erik chuckles. "Aged 16 I begged my parents for a drumkit and on Christmas day I received a guitar shaped present under the tree. Gutted at first, but I haven't looked back since unwrapping it". It was his first Fender Stratocaster, which he still plays today (and has all six strings on it). Being self-taught he describes how he learned to play by listening to and reproducing material by his idols: Jimmy Page (Led Zeppelin), David Gilmour (Pink Floyd) , John Frusciante (Red Hot Chili Peppers) and Billy Corgan (Smashing Pumpkins).

His debut album Quiet Desperation is set for release in late 2018. The EP demonstrates his alternative style to writing music and takes the listener through a journey of varying moods, atmospheres and emotions.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Erik Graham

Releases

There are no releases to display for Erik Graham.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem