21 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Erik Graham - Single Review: I Don’t Know

30 May 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Erik Graham is a songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates a record label called Headcage out of the heart of West Auckland where he composed, performed, programmed, mixed and mastered his entire upcoming debut album. He is also the founder of Enter Venus, which is described as ‘sinister rock’. Away from that, Erik Graham’s music is less sinister. His latest single release called I don’t Know is a funky blues/rock number which hooked me in immediately.

There was no dramatic build-up on this track, he launches straight into it with a respectably dance worthy number.

I don’t know is a far cry from the Rob Zombie style sound of his creative project Enter Venus, more cheerful less theatrical. An optimistic and upbeat tone accompanies a candid tale of an epic night out on the tiles with a somebody, but not remembering a thing the next day. Dancing on tables was involved, perhaps making this a tale which a few people may relate to. I did hear a touch of darkness start to creep in, but it was all delivered in such a cheerful manner highlighting the versatility of Erik’s music.

I Don't Know shows off what a seasoned and skilful guitarist he is. Vocally his voice has a lovely depth to it, almost soothing - at least on this track.

Further investigation leads me down various avenues to this multi-talented musician, it soon becomes clear that the expat South African is a clever and imaginative song writer.

I look forward to hearing Erik’s debut album Quiet Desperation, which is due for release later in the year.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Erik Graham

Erik Graham is a New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates 'Headcage', a record label in the heart of West Auckland. He is best known as the founder, primary musician, and principal songwriter of his self-titled music and Rock group Enter Venus. Erik Graham's music is an eclectic mix of guitar driven Rock and Pop with Blues, classical and Funk elements. His baritone voice has subtle grungy characteristics which he often combines with high falsetto to create his own signature sound.

Erik, a skilled guitar player, had a humble start to the instrument at age 11. His older cousin had to string it for him, but the attempt broke 4 out of 6 strings and ultimately left Erik with a two stringed guitar for several years. "It was good enough to strum with to some Nirvana songs" Erik chuckles. "Aged 16 I begged my parents for a drumkit and on Christmas day I received a guitar shaped present under the tree. Gutted at first, but I haven't looked back since unwrapping it". It was his first Fender Stratocaster, which he still plays today (and has all six strings on it). Being self-taught he describes how he learned to play by listening to and reproducing material by his idols: Jimmy Page (Led Zeppelin), David Gilmour (Pink Floyd) , John Frusciante (Red Hot Chili Peppers) and Billy Corgan (Smashing Pumpkins).

His debut album Quiet Desperation is set for release in late 2018. The EP demonstrates his alternative style to writing music and takes the listener through a journey of varying moods, atmospheres and emotions.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Erik Graham

Releases

There are no releases to display for Erik Graham.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Release: Not Another Ballad
22 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian-born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released a brand new single Not Another Ballad - an energetic and cheery number, guaranteed to get you moving your booty across the dance floor. Conceived from the willingness to placate her band with the promise of “not another ballad”, the song of the same name was born.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - Single Review: Between The Lines
15 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based RnB sensation with the breath-taking soulful voice; Bailey Wiley has just released her latest single Between The Lines. This track gives fans a glimpse inside Bailey's mind as she falls in love.
Read More...
Jan Hellriegel - Album Review: Sportsman Of The Year
06 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Jan Hellriegel is somewhat of an NZ musical icon, Songwriter, performer, producer, music publisher, copyright expert, mother and now author she has a name many of us of a certain age would have heard of. Her latest body of work Sportsman Of The Year appears to be a defining moment in not only her musical life, but also her personal one.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters and James Wilkinson - Single Review: Spaces Between Words
25 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Nelson based singer songwriter Jacquie Walters is about to release an alluring new single Spaces Between Words, featuring James Wilkinson on bass and Jacquie on guitar and vocals. Jacquie and James have shared many musical memories spanning over 25 years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem