17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Marlon Williams - Gig Review: Marlon Williams @ The Foundry, Christchurch - 23/05/2018

Marlon Williams - Gig Review: Marlon Williams @ The Foundry, Christchurch - 23/05/2018

24 May 2018 // A review by hailtree
It’s the afternoon of Christchurch born Marlon Williams sold out Christchurch show - and the little town of Lyttelton is in an absolute flutter of excitement.

I take a walk to the supermarket, and overhear several conversations on my walk - "I got given two tickets to Marlon Williams tonight!" one shopkeeper excitedly exclaims to her child, whilst another woman walks into the supermarket, chattering away on her cellphone about set times for tonight.

As I enter the Foundry, the air is thick with excitement - the venue quickly fills and I overhear someone warning someone else that "your life is about to change, trust me he has the voice of a God".

Julia Deans takes the stage, accompanied at first only with her guitar. Her voice fills the room and she soon introduces and welcomes Celia Church to the stage to sing with her. Each song is lovingly introduced by Julia, "This song is about when you blame everything going wrong on the zodiac, but don’t take responsibility for your own actions". As she makes her way through her set list, the crowd is entirely under her spell, with barely a conversation to be overheard anywhere in the crowd.

Julia introduces her last song, We Light Fire, noting how she drew inspiration from all the milestones we light fire for - such as birthdays, bonfires, candles, etc.

During the intermission the crowd draws closer to the stage, everyone desperate to catch a glimpse of Marlon. As Marlon and his band climb onto the stage, the crowd erupts into applause. But the moment that Marlon leans into the microphone the entire room goes quiet, as Marlon's voice commands the room. He starts with Come To Me, moving into I Know A Jeweller, both from his newest album Make Way For Love.

It’s obvious just how much Marlon commands the stage, "This is a song about jealousy... so put on your green lights!" as the stage lights go green, and the opening notes to Can I Call You begin.

Marlon takes a moment a few songs later to introduce his band, a group of musicians from all over New Zealand and Australia, and then launches into a stunning cover of Nobody Sees Me Like You Do by Yoko Ono. As Marlon continues his set with What’s Chasing You and Party Boy, he is interrupted mid song by someone in the crowd - "I love you Marlon!" a female voice calls out, "Thanks! Hello!" stumbles out of his mouth in a quick reply - "I might love you too, but I’m not sure yet."

Much to the delight of the crowd Vampire Again is the next song on the line-up, this song had been requested a few times already by the crowd tonight, and as Marlon makes his way through the song, dancing along on stage - the crowd watches on in awe.

"That was quite good!", someone calls out as the song draws to a close and everyone laughs in agreement - "Thank you! It’s good to be home, I haven’t really touched the ground yet... But I’m home!" Marlon calls back and tells the crowd how he’s nearly completed 75 shows on this tour, and truly is so excited to be back home.

Marlon introduces his next song, Nobody Gets What They Want - a song that features Aldous Harding on the record. "I’m hoping [you] might sing it, in lieu if Aldous," Marlon asks his band, and he soon introduces his bassist Ben Woolley once again, but this time to sing.

To close the set Marlon finishes with Make Way For Love, "Thank you all for coming out tonight! It’s wonderful to be home," and just like that, he has left the stage. But the crowd are eager for more, and soon the room began to fill with the sound of stomping feet as Marlon climbs back on stage.

"You know you have to do one more song," someone calls from the audience.
"Oh well, I hadn’t planned on it. But I will."


Review written by Amanda Hailwood
 

About Marlon Williams

Marlon Williams won his first singing competition at the age of 11 at Lyttelton Main School and was stuck trying to balance the seesaw of his love for the lost souls of bluegrass and hellfire with his deep reverence for sacred choral music.

This set the course for his teenage years as he not only formed The Unfaithful Ways winning the best song award in 2008 , but toured Europe with the Catholic Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament Choir, supporting the Vienna Boys Choir.

“It has always been a balancing act for me, walking the tightrope between the sinners of Saturday night and the sorry of Sunday morning, the cigarettes versus the frankincense..”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marlon Williams

Releases

Make Way For Love
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Marlon Williams
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At La Niche
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By hailtree

Fables - EP Review: Portraits
11 Sep 2018 // by hailtree
Fables latest release Portraits is absolutely stunning – for a release that was originally meant to be a 4 song EP recorded at Wine Cellar, adding the extra 3 songs may have been a risk in quantity over quality. However, this release definitely doesn’t disappoint.
Read More...
Julia Deans @ Tuning Fork, Auckland
03 Sep 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a quiet Saturday evening down in Auckland, and I’m a little worried I’ve come to the wrong venue – as there isn’t a single soul outside. I make my way up to the door and am greeted by a couple of friendly security guards, who quickly usher me in as the show is about to start.
Read More...
Lookin Up - Single Review: Enough
15 Aug 2018 // by hailtree
I want to be / Everything and more… / … But I forget / I was raised by a world that didn’t care Fast paced, self-aware, yet self-absorbed, but most of all - hella catchy. Lookin Up’s first release in 4 years hit the internet just over a month ago - after taking a hiatus for a few years, the band is back with a whole new sound, and a whole lot of drive to get things done.
Read More...
The Adults - Album Review: Haja
30 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Okay first up. This album will make you want to dance, and I don’t even like dancing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Soaked Oats @ Galatos, Auckland - 27/07/2018
29 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a Friday night and every nook and doorway of Galatos Street is packed with kids hiding away smoking ciggies and drinking wine straight out of the bottle. I wonder how many of them came down with intentions of getting door sales – as Soaked Oats had announced during the day that they would have 20 available on the night – but by the time we get there, just eight minutes after the doors had opened, they’d already sold out.
Read More...
Huia - EP Review: Āio
27 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Āioʻ - ʻto be at Peaceʻ. Āio is what we strive for in our own minds, Āio is what nature is calling for and Āio is what the world needs Alright first, I'll admit my Te Reo is pretty rough for someone who calls themselves a born and bred Kiwi.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crooked Royals @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 13/07/2018
16 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a Friday night, and as I climb up the dark stairwell to the gig room at Ding Dong Lounge in Auckland, I can hear the first band Downfall of Humanity already playing – honestly since when did bands get this organised? I swear a few years ago a show that opened its doors at 8 wouldn’t ever start until after 9.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: Untitled
13 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Churlington are a band that were formed out of a desire to create a band with as minimal effort as possible. They pride themselves on this and used it proudly in their video to advertise their latest EP - which funnily enough, doesn’t even have a name.
Read More...
View All Articles By hailtree

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem