22 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients

23 May 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients.

Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014. Picture if you can a big band sound, the beauty of brass, guitars, drums and sound samples, accompanied by a hip-hop beat and rap lyrics, alongside the stunning sweet jazzy vocals of Moira Jean. These groups of musicians have to be heard to be believed. Flawless arrangements and clever songwriting incorporates the personality of each band member in For The Ancients.

This monumental project was inspired by the bands love of history, the cosmos and psychology, plus their feelings and philosophies on the world. There is a deep and personal connection to everyone involved it seems “Each track reflects a different side of the psyche, a celebration of our personal struggles, of our friendships, and the music we’ve worked so hard to create!”

Eleven original tracks of funk infused hip-hop taking inspiration from many influences and genres.

For The Ancients is a mix of the old with the new, a feeling of soulful energy with clever rhymes. Memorable and honest storytelling to a hip-hop beat. Enriched by the sexy sound of a brass section. At times almost crossing boundaries into smooth folky grooves.  

Track one Into The Shadows, kicks things off with the cool sound of brass and a taste of what is to come with some very clever rapping from Raw Deezy and sweet dulcet tones of Moira.

As you weave your way through this album, the sounds of saxophones, trumpet, trombone, bass, guitars and drums resound in a full toned and captivating manner.

This is a complex album, where no attention to detail has been spared. It is confident and slick. Creative, theatrical and memorable with a solid beat which will get you up dancing from track one.  

Crowd favourite Smash The Grips is on there at track number five. This is the song which started my admiration for this band.  Pull no punches lyrics to a massive beat… “Even Gods have habits”

Before I continue, let me paint you a picture of the album cover. Bright purple and blue depicting an almost cartoonish scene of an ancient temple and monoliths. All in keeping with bands eclectic style and totally fitting of the title but giving no secrets away about what lies within.

The rich, complex and velvety sounds combined with that slick hip-hop beat just keep coming at you. Like an epic assault on your senses in the best possible way. My personal picks on this album are The Self (Part 1) a glorious jazzy number with Moira on vocals. This seaway’s effortlessly into The Self (part 2) incorporating the rap element and some cruisy guitar.

I thought I heard a mandolin in the opening of track 10 From The Seeds, it would not have surprised me, although there is some very clever sound bites and mixing going on throughout this album.  

For The Ancients is a straight up outstanding achievement, which I personally cannot find fault with. There are many different layers to this album, you may peel each complex layer back, but you will still end up with “the hip-hop skeleton”. 

“It is timeless, even monumental, like the pyramids”

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Raw Collective

Raw Collective started when producer/emcee Raw Deezy was looking for a musician to help craft and create something new, and found what he was looking for in Pauly Plum. Local DJ Art-Official asked the pair to put together a live band to perform at Newtown Festival 2014. They called upon Jack Cromie, Blain Fitzpatrick, and Ben Hunt to build a foundation, and from there Raw Collective was formed.

After only 3 months this 9-piece Hip-Hop big band from Wellington City released their debut 6-track EP Wise Horizons; combining elements of Funk, Jazz, and old school Hip-Hop.

Raw Deezy and song-writer P.Plum kick the creative process off with record digging for unique samples to loop with drum beats. Then the melodies, bass, horn lines, and vocals are layered to create their full sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Raw Collective

Releases

Wise Horizons
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Single/Video Review: Better Days
27 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based multi-instrumentalist Sam Loveridge has released his debut single Better Days, prior to his album Clarity which is due to follow at the end of March. Sam's solo debut is also accompanied by a humorous video written/directed by Loren Black and edited by Jamie Crerar.
Read More...
Li'l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine - Album Review - Mono
25 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent Christchurch based multi-instrumentalist Li’l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine, has just released his third album Mono. David Thorpe (aka Li’l Chuck) shines on this album, fourteen tracks of pure nostalgic blues, early jazz and ragtime recorded at Sugar Ray’s Vintage Recording Studio, in Essex, UK.
Read More...
George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem