25 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Seven Zen - EP Review: Dark As Life

23 May 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Seven Zen (AKA Riley Popham), is a 14-year-old college student at Mahurangi College in Warkworth. Barely in his teens, he already has a couple of years under his belt as a talented multi-instrumentalist and has been performing covers to impressed audience both live and on YouTube (he can play more than 200 to be exact). This is his debut EP titled Dark As Life. Original material that he composed, arranged, played and produced. 


“The 4 tracks on Dark As Life critically examine the concept of freedom and some of the more dysfunctional developments in our society from the perspective of a Kiwi teen”.

Don’t let his tender age fool you; this is one very talented young man. He has written songs which are thoughtful and thought provoking. There is a serious message in his songs accompanied by a sound that far outweighs his years. I would describe his guitar playing as moody, a perfect accompaniment to his lyrics and vocals.

This is taking the teenage poetry writing of my youth to an extra level. Seven Zen has taken deep thinking and soul searching to another elevation, launching straight into killings in American schools. A song he has written about the gun laws called Preventative Measures. There is no candy floss on this album. It is real and dark. 

The distorted guitar sound, which resonates in places particularly on track 4 Escapees, actually compliments the mood of the EP. Not bad at all for someone who has only been playing the guitar for three years.

Drawn to dark and gritty music, you can hear the musician’s which influence Seven Zen in this album. David Bowie, Nick Cave, The Doors and Pink Floyd, just to name a few. And as teenagers have done for many years, he loves to rummage through his parent's records. This could explain his somewhat sophisticated taste in music.

I am impressed by the maturity and insightful nature of this EP coming from someone so youthful. He is already a skilful songwriter and musician. This is another reason why we should be excited about the future of NZ music. And there are so many of them.

“Dark poetry at the speed of life.”

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Seven Zen

After impressing live and YouTube audiences with his extensive selection of live looping covers for a couple of years, talented multi-instrumentalist Seven Zen has now composed, arranged, played and produced his debut release of original material.

A critical examination of the concept of freedom and some of the more dysfunctional developments in our society from the perspective of a Kiwi teen.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Seven Zen

Releases

Dark as Life
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Single/Video Review: Better Days
27 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based multi-instrumentalist Sam Loveridge has released his debut single Better Days, prior to his album Clarity which is due to follow at the end of March. Sam's solo debut is also accompanied by a humorous video written/directed by Loren Black and edited by Jamie Crerar.
Read More...
Li'l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine - Album Review - Mono
25 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent Christchurch based multi-instrumentalist Li’l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine, has just released his third album Mono. David Thorpe (aka Li’l Chuck) shines on this album, fourteen tracks of pure nostalgic blues, early jazz and ragtime recorded at Sugar Ray’s Vintage Recording Studio, in Essex, UK.
Read More...
George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem