24 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo

22 May 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty. Terry (T-Rex) Johnston has one of those lived in voices, all smoke and alcohol with just the right amount of grit. It's a 3 min bass driven blast with the kind of chorus that made the Bleeders so popular. Relentless speed driven Punk 'n' Roll, it doesn't let up and is over far too soon.

B side Halo is a change in direction with its pop-punk leanings this song is catchier than an STD in their hometown of Hamilton and twice as hard to get out of your system. This is not a band that you need to listen to over and over again before you are hooked. The hit is instant and sustainable. The attitude is still there and adds a fire to the belly of this anti-love song, which is just how it should be.

Not only are The Recently Deceived great musicians they consistently write great songs with shout-along choruses and enough variation to keep any listener hooked. They are burning bright and dark on this new release with a collision of attitude, melody and musicianship. Do yourself a favour and check them out.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About The Recently Deceived

Hailing from Hamilton, the city everyone loves to hate, comes The Recently Deceived... a 'power house' four piece, providing high octane blistering punk.
The Recently Deceived offer up heart felt lyrics, spat over melodic hardcore rhythms... yes your ears will bleed, but... they will be pleased!



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Recently Deceived

Releases

Use Your Head
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem