16 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo

22 May 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty. Terry (T-Rex) Johnston has one of those lived in voices, all smoke and alcohol with just the right amount of grit. It's a 3 min bass driven blast with the kind of chorus that made the Bleeders so popular. Relentless speed driven Punk 'n' Roll, it doesn't let up and is over far too soon.

B side Halo is a change in direction with its pop-punk leanings this song is catchier than an STD in their hometown of Hamilton and twice as hard to get out of your system. This is not a band that you need to listen to over and over again before you are hooked. The hit is instant and sustainable. The attitude is still there and adds a fire to the belly of this anti-love song, which is just how it should be.

Not only are The Recently Deceived great musicians they consistently write great songs with shout-along choruses and enough variation to keep any listener hooked. They are burning bright and dark on this new release with a collision of attitude, melody and musicianship. Do yourself a favour and check them out.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About The Recently Deceived

Hailing from Hamilton, the city everyone loves to hate, comes The Recently Deceived... a 'power house' four piece, providing high octane blistering punk.
The Recently Deceived offer up heart felt lyrics, spat over melodic hardcore rhythms... yes your ears will bleed, but... they will be pleased!



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Recently Deceived

Releases

Use Your Head
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem