22 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Solomon Crook - EP Review: Abandon Adolescence

16 May 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Solomon Crook a young singer-songwriter from the Coromandel (now based in Wellington) has just released a six track EP called Abandon Adolescence. Preceding this by a few weeks was the first single off the EP titled Love Juice a lively and catchy song about love without a heart... “please don't go falling in love with me, don't go drinking the love juice”.


There is a heartfelt, honest quality to Solomon’s song writing. Tinged with a touch of angst and loaded with meaning. He writes most of his music from his childhood home on the beautiful Coromandel, hidden away from distractions. The result of this seclusion is six tracks in which he has fully immersed himself into his music and produced with the help of Jesse Austin-Stewart (Parc Sun), a captivating, soulful and sexy EP.


His rich, smooth classical sounding vocals have a tinge of Josh Groban to them, which belies his mere 20 years on this planet. There was a definite maturity to his sound and writing style. Sophisticated guitar playing accompanies these vocals alongside some skilful instrumentals from his newly formed band.


Starting without a heart and ending in Mahogany Feat. Connor Moore this EP flows gracefully and effortlessly from one track to another. Each song has a bluesy/folk/soul feel to it. The standout for me was the final track featuring the captivating vocals of Connor Moore, a talented acoustic singer-songwriter from Wanaka. This is a beautiful marriage between the two voices.


I would also like to mention the sensual track number five, Smokey Lips. Solomon knows how to combine those honey tones with elegant sultry lyrics.


My cup runneth over with fabulously talented Kiwi musicians at the moment, and Solomon Crook is no exception.


★★★ (5 stars)



Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Solomon Crook

Releases

Abandon Adolescence
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Isla - Single Review: Kids Like Me
21 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based indie/folk singer songwriter Isla has just released a catchy new single, Kids Like Me. She is the new "kid" on the block adding a fresh funky twist to the NZ indie pop/folk scene.
Read More...
Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem