18 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Single/Video Review: Cherry Blossom

15 May 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

This is the first time I have heard of charismatic Auckland based musical artist Sal Valentine (Ivan Luketina Jonstone). I think I have fallen just a bit in love with his mix of funk and soul; it is super funky pop music that just makes you smile.

Cherry Blossom is the first single from Sal Valentine’s album This Party Blows, which personally I can’t wait to get my hands on, if the rest of the album is as groovy and danceable as this track. It was like being injected with a big shot of colourful musical happiness.

Sal’s vocals were velvety, almost soothing but delivered with an unmistakable Kiwi twang and an underlying sense of humour. There are some incredibly talented vocalists and musicians helping him out as well, resulting in a professional polished sound.

An effervescent video directed by Dahnu Graham (Madly) has a slight kitsch vibe to it which complements the infectious swinging soul - funk sound, it is very clever the way he has essentially turned your screen into a karaoke machine which encourages you to sing the lyrics. Add a group of people having fun (I think they may have been in rather high spirits).  Add a little bit of swearing at the end to give it that bad boy edge, and hey presto. One very cool video and an incredibly catchy song which is now stuck in your head with no way out.  

Cherry Blossom has been described by Sal as “probably the least cynical piece of music I’ll ever write”, which makes me even more excited to listen to more of his music. Satirical and defiantly contemporary has also been used in the past to describe his lyrics. I can confidently say that Cherry Blossom is more cheery, bright and sunny, then defiant or contemporary. Sparkling and fizzing with a tune that is infectious.

I am glad that this version of Cherry Blossom did not “sucks balls” and it made the cut to become the first single on This Party Blows.

This song should come with a caveat: infectious music ahead may cause involuntary movement of limbs… you have been warned.  

★★★★★ (5 stars) 


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes

"Babyshakes are special!" - Peter Urlich 2013
"A splendid time is guaranteed for all." - Graham Reid 2014

Widely regarded as one of the finest live acts in the country, Sal Valentine & The Babyshakes have twisted the fabric of musical time and lived to deliver you a curated selection of infectious and original rhythm and blues. Bandleader and songwriter Sal Valentine is framed by a slick quartet of horns toting heavy licks and a polished rhythm section comprised of piano, double bass and drums. Alongside the instrumentalists stand the foils to Sal Valentine: accomplished vocalists Chelsea Prastiti and Siobhan Grace. They are collectively named The Babyshakes, and have been declared by Valentine to be 'Auckland's Number 1 Band'.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes

Releases

Live At No. 10 South Street
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem