23 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Single/Video Review: Cherry Blossom

15 May 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

This is the first time I have heard of charismatic Auckland based musical artist Sal Valentine (Ivan Luketina Jonstone). I think I have fallen just a bit in love with his mix of funk and soul; it is super funky pop music that just makes you smile.

Cherry Blossom is the first single from Sal Valentine’s album This Party Blows, which personally I can’t wait to get my hands on, if the rest of the album is as groovy and danceable as this track. It was like being injected with a big shot of colourful musical happiness.

Sal’s vocals were velvety, almost soothing but delivered with an unmistakable Kiwi twang and an underlying sense of humour. There are some incredibly talented vocalists and musicians helping him out as well, resulting in a professional polished sound.

An effervescent video directed by Dahnu Graham (Madly) has a slight kitsch vibe to it which complements the infectious swinging soul - funk sound, it is very clever the way he has essentially turned your screen into a karaoke machine which encourages you to sing the lyrics. Add a group of people having fun (I think they may have been in rather high spirits).  Add a little bit of swearing at the end to give it that bad boy edge, and hey presto. One very cool video and an incredibly catchy song which is now stuck in your head with no way out.  

Cherry Blossom has been described by Sal as “probably the least cynical piece of music I’ll ever write”, which makes me even more excited to listen to more of his music. Satirical and defiantly contemporary has also been used in the past to describe his lyrics. I can confidently say that Cherry Blossom is more cheery, bright and sunny, then defiant or contemporary. Sparkling and fizzing with a tune that is infectious.

I am glad that this version of Cherry Blossom did not “sucks balls” and it made the cut to become the first single on This Party Blows.

This song should come with a caveat: infectious music ahead may cause involuntary movement of limbs… you have been warned.  

★★★★★ (5 stars) 


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes

"Babyshakes are special!" - Peter Urlich 2013
"A splendid time is guaranteed for all." - Graham Reid 2014

Widely regarded as one of the finest live acts in the country, Sal Valentine & The Babyshakes have twisted the fabric of musical time and lived to deliver you a curated selection of infectious and original rhythm and blues. Bandleader and songwriter Sal Valentine is framed by a slick quartet of horns toting heavy licks and a polished rhythm section comprised of piano, double bass and drums. Alongside the instrumentalists stand the foils to Sal Valentine: accomplished vocalists Chelsea Prastiti and Siobhan Grace. They are collectively named The Babyshakes, and have been declared by Valentine to be 'Auckland's Number 1 Band'.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes

Releases

Live At No. 10 South Street
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem