19 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Heavy Blarney - Album Review - Bog to Swamp

08 May 2018 // A review by Matt McGrath

Released - 18th May 2018

When I first saw the title Bog to Swamp my imagination could only assume what kind of music was to follow. The second album from Palmerston North Celtic rockers, Heavy Blarney had grabbed my attention from the get-go and I was keen to find out just how this band sounded with such a unique blend of music styles, rarely attempted these days.

Fittingly kicked off with a choir of fiddles and whistles the first track Mori-kesh Express surrounds the listener with a misty haze of folk tune, transporting us across the world to the rolling hills of Ireland. Married together with a classic rock beat and some distortion guitar, quickly we are able to hear that these guys have spared no thoughts in merging such diversely opposite genres together, giving off an authentic sound that is well executed.

Modernized with hard rock and even pop licks, Heavy Blarney is able to breathe new life into something that is slowly being forgotten about. The idea behind this album is reflected clearly from track to track, rocking electric guitar solos placed over Banjos and accordions provides plenty of energy bursting out of the speakers, sure to get you up out of your seat. I can only imagine how awesome it would be inside a pub atmosphere.

Clever but fun. Quirky but not cute, these songs are well played and produced, with just the right amount of flavour added as not to deviate from the overall theme of the band, clearly a bunch of rowdy, rocking, Celtics. Being of Irish decent I was able to resonate with the music immediately, and I have no doubt the same could be said for anyone who enjoys a pint of Guinness at the pub on St Patty's day.

After reading through a few of the lyrics, I noticed that some of them were original and that, the traditional ones had been cleverly rewritten. Tying in some of our own New Zealand history and stories to further personalize the record, while showing a rather political stance. An Irish trait I was well familiar with.

Overall, I really enjoyed this record, with its great atmosphere and use of instrumentation it was slightly different to the Irish music I was used to. Truly original, but not, with a fresh Kiwiana spin it made for a unique experience. Front-man Bing Turkby has pulled together something great and I highly recommend giving this one a spin, even if you don't think you'll be into it, trust me by the end you'll love it! 

★★★★★ (5 stars)

Review written by Matt Mutinous

 

About Heavy Blarney

The Heavy Blarney band plays high-energy Celtic rock music, mixing traditional tunes with original compositions which reflect the meeting of cultures in Aotearoa New Zealand.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Heavy Blarney

Releases

From Bog To Swamp
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Heavy Blarney
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Matt McGrath

Stress - EP Review - Misery Fatigue
02 Dec 2018 // by Matt McGrath
A new addition to the scene, Wellington-based hardcore noise outfit Stress are about to launch their career with their debut release Misery Fatigue. Interested in what exactly that entailed, I was stoked to get a chance to have a sneak peek at this highly anticipated Kiwi band.
Read More...
Album Review - Shepherds Reign
15 Oct 2018 // by Matt McGrath
New Zealand is world renown for Polynesian musicians, groups like Deceptikonz, Nesian Mystik and Aaradhna are some of the first to come to mind. So, it was surprising to hear of a band breaking the mould and coming straight outta South Auckland into the Kiwi Metal scene.
Read More...
Depths - Album Review: Endless
10 Mar 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Release Date: April 13th, 2018 Picked up by Deadboy Records in late 2011, Depths have hit the ground running, adding a new angle to the New Zealand Metal scene and bringing a fresh sound to the table. Presumably named after the album from US deathcore band, Oceano, Depths has managed to draw an international style of death metal from the comforts of Palmerston North.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cattle Decapitation @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 8/02/2018
21 Feb 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Thursday nights are always a good night to go out if you live in Auckland, with most international acts 'fitting us in' on their Australian tour nowadays, even a show this close to the weekend is a blessing. San Diego death metal giants, Cattle Decapitation had shown up to the iconic Kings Arms and the line to the was stretched out into the street.
Read More...
EP Review: Rise of Destructatron
15 Feb 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Countdown... to...
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Yot Club, Raglan - 06/01/2018
08 Jan 2018 // by Matt McGrath
The sun finally decided to make an appearance over Raglan on Saturday afternoon, following two days of chaos weather and king tides that flooded most of the country. Tourists returned with the warmth as the campground began to fill up, the sun slipped below the horizon almost as quickly as it appeared.
Read More...
Starving Millions - EP Review: V
02 Sep 2017 // by Matt McGrath
Good punk in this country has always been few and far between. Ducking in and out of the spotlight, the well-known acts of the New Zealand scene have been the ones that have powered on.
Read More...
Gig Review: Angelcorpse @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 26/07/2017
06 Aug 2017 // by Matt McGrath
Mid week gigs are always the hardest choice for most music fans, but it's not often at all that a band like this comes to town. Angelcorpse had been a big part of the Tampa death metal scene in the late 90's, so I decided to take my good friend and fellow musician, Nik Davies along, to try and catch a glimpse of the good old days of American death metal.
Read More...
View All Articles By Matt McGrath

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem