19 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Estère - Album review: My Design, On Other's Lives

07 May 2018 // A review by Jacquie Walters

It’s no surprise that Estère recently opened for Grace Jones. In some ways Estère is a sonic acolyte of the magnificent Jones, particularly in the sense that she is endlessly fascinating and mesmerising.  

Take a deep breath, you’ll need all the oxygen you can get to listen attentively to all Estere’s new album has to offer.

My Design, On Others' Lives is a fantastic, immersive adventure absolutely packed with creativity and invention. Close your eyes, turn up the volume, and enter the Estère dimension.

Mixed by Lee Prebble, Simon Gooding, and Benny Tones, mastered by Mike Gibson and Benny Tones and produced by Estère herself, this clever album is endlessly surprising and full of delights.

The first section of the album entitled Part 1: My Design demonstrates Estère’s command of driving rhythm and her ability to create hooks that are veritable earworms. Control Freak has an immediate appeal. Grandmother is a beautiful love song to the mother of her father. Yet even as she articulates the tenderness of the track’s subject matter, Estère is constantly exploring the boundaries, catching the listener’s attention and never allowing complacency to creep in.

Pro Bono Techno Zone is a highlight of Part 1. “Up the rivers rise, down the shadows fall. What we thought was free isn’t free at all.” The addition of the backing vocals from a group of young singers really adds to the track. 

Part 2: On Others’ Lives continues Estère’s exploration of sound. Rent is memorable, not least because of the power of the lyrics. “I don’t need to ask nobody else to know deep down I’m doing well…because I can pay my rent”. Gun Kid is the stand out track for me with the shifts in style within the track and combination of smooth vocals and pure grit. It’s a really extraordinary piece of work, once again with lyrical bullets that really hit home. “You’d better guard your front door. What do you think I’ve got MY gun for?” Guilty rounds out Part 2 with its truly beautiful guitar and vocal work.

My Design, On Other’s Lives really is a brilliant piece of work. It might defy easy categorisation but what a rich and rewarding creation it is.

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Jacquie Walters.

 

About Estère

Estère is a girl with an MPC she calls Lola. She produces all her own songs with Lola, mostly at home in her pyjamas. Estère plays/records a mixture of bass, synth, drums, guitar, vocal harmonies, keyboard, whistles, claps, kazoo, desk tapping and anything else that might take her fancy then layers her production with pulsating rhythms and evocative melodies that adhere to the genre of Electric Blue Witch hop.

Since obtaining Lola in March 2012, Estère has played a large variety of live performances in cities and festivals through-out New Zealand, Australia, South Korea and Europe. These include Jeonju International Sori Festival, Ulsan World Music Festival, Aarhus International Music Festival and Melbourne Let Them Eat Cake.

Over the last year Estère has also opened for a variety of international artists, including Erykah Badu, Morcheeba, Baths, Ikonika and KT Tunstall. In April 2014 Estère released her debut self produced album via band camp. Most of Estère's songs, including Culture Clash, Cruel Charlie, I Spy, Thoughts, Patchwork Solider, Reptilian Journey and Flash Light (feat Oddisee) have received extensive radio play on stations through-out New Zealand and have featured on various international blogs including Afro Punk, Disco Naiveté and Portals.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Estère

Releases

My Design, On Other's Lives
Year: 2018
Type: Album
My Design, Part 1
Year: 2017
Type: Album
New Species
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Estère
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jacquie Walters

Al Fraser - Album Review: Toitu Te Puoro
18 Nov 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Toitu Te Puoro by Al Fraser is a beautiful creation from beginning to end. It’s exquisitely presented in a well-designed CD case with accompanying booklet, which is important given the narrative it contains about Fraser’s journey with taonga puoro and its photographs and descriptions of the instruments made and played by him.
Read More...
The Flaming Mudcats - Album Review: Cut Loose
09 Nov 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
The Flaming Mudcats' Cut Loose celebrates the band's tenth anniversary in fine style. This is a solid, rocking blues album from a well-established and well-loved kiwi act.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - Album Review: Fly
29 Oct 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Tui Mamaki's album Fly is an ancestral crie du coeur inspired by her time spent living in Bulgaria. Tui was born in France and raised in Aotearoa/New Zealand and there is a certain global transcendence to her music.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Single/Video Review: I Got The Lonely
08 Oct 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Mel Parsons has a gift for writing great hooks - and her latest single I Got The Lonely is an excellent example of that gift in action. I Got The Lonely is a well-executed, clean, and radio-friendly teaser for Parsons' full-length album due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Albi and The Wolves - Single Review: It Ain't Easy
08 Oct 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
It Ain't Easy is a 'rollicking good time' of a single from Tui Award-winning group Albi and the Wolves. Tight-as-a-drum vocal harmonies pack a punch from the very outset and the perfect pacing of this track as a whole maintains the listener's interest throughout.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pink @ Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin - 01/09/2018
02 Sep 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Pink took Dunedin to heaven tonight, figuratively and literally, with a stellar performance featuring acrobatics, mesmerising dance, theatre, and powerhouse vocals. The crowd came ready for a good time and when Pink took to the stage slightly after 9pm she declared her intention (following a tongue in cheek fanfare on solo recorder) with Get The Party Started, the star herself swinging from a giant chandelier in a black sequined one-piece suit and singing while hanging upside down.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bob Dylan @ Horncastle Arena, Christchurch - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
“Expectation is the mother of crisis” as my father is fond of saying. Perhaps no performer visiting New Zealand of late has had the weight of expectation more firmly foisted upon him than Bob Dylan.
Read More...
Gig Review: Holly Arrowsmith @ Fairfield House, Nelson - 22/08/2018
23 Aug 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
A pure voice is hard to find. Such a voice underpinned by a soul that reaches out to mesmerise and enchant an audience is even rarer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jacquie Walters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem