19 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Farandicus - Single Reviews: Blue Funk and What to Give

04 May 2018 // A review by Sass_Metal

Farandicus are a 7-piece soul funk band from Whangarei combing their different backgrounds to create a unique sound that will get your soul singing and feet tapping. They have recently released two new singles Blue Funk and What to Give, and I think are both songs everyone can relate to – especially their lyrical content.  While the music is upbeat and makes me reminiscent of Summer road trips, house parties and all-night raves the lyrics are more serious, thought provoking and deeply emotional – especially Blue Funk, which is a song about Depression.

It was meant to be that I got Blue Funk to review as there has been a lot of posts on my social media accounts about being more transparent and open and honest with Mental Illnesses, which for me was 12 years of Depression. The first verse especially felt like it was written just for me and if I was to try and explain Depression and how it feels it would be very similar to this verse.

Trouble out of nothing
Feel I'm going under
Dogged by the memories
Drowning
Weakened with feelings
What’s the use fighting?
Blinded by the darkness
Drowning me

This is an important song for NZ because of the high suicide statistics and the lack of Mental Health funding and support. Suicide has affected everyone I know in the NZ Music Community and as I write this review I am mourning the loss of a music brother to suicide. I want to make a note here that to everyone struggling in the darkness with Depression there IS a way through! I’m writing this review sitting on a couch in Belgium where I am staying with a musical brother I met on the road last year. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would make it to Belgium, let alone do half of what I’ve accomplished since I started to live in the light again since my years battling Depression! There is always a way through. This song is beautiful, soulful and filled with amazing vocal and musical harmonies. This is a song written for anyone who has had the Black Dog visit and needs to be heard! 

The second track What to Give is more upbeat and fun and pokes fun at those pesky door knockers or people in malls that make you feel guilty for not giving them money. One of my pet peeve’s is that they now all have EFTPOS or other means to sign up for direct debit so they old ‘sorry I don’t have any cash’ excuse is null and void these days. This is a conversation I’ve had with many people who feel the same way – if we had the spare cash we would likely already be giving money to these charities. Musically this song is SO YUM! Anyone who knows me well will know that while I spend 90% of my life listening to, promoting and attending Rock and Heavy Metal shows that other 10% of my time is spent indulging in listening to all the other musical genre’s which feed different parts of my soul and this is one of those releases I’ll be keeping in rotation.


Review written by Sarah Sampson

 

Other Reviews By Sass_Metal

Gig Review: Plum Green @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 1/02/2019
08 Feb 2019 // by Sass_Metal
Occasionally a show happens where every single performance artist is on fire, performing from the soul, baring everything, connecting with the audience and feeding off the audience, in that magical, etheric zone where performing artist and audience becomes one. Right from the first note of Shoddy the crowd was dancing, their attentions on the various rituals occurring before them.
Read More...
Gig Review: Slash w/ Myles Kennedy and Devilskin @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 26/01/2019
27 Jan 2019 // by Sass_Metal
As per usual I was running late to the show, so I missed the first few opening songs of (not so local, now) legends Devilskin. Writing this now I am so gutted I didn’t get to witness their powerful set in its entirety as, in my opinion, they showed up the headliners and it was clear from the amount of Devilskin merch that fans were wearing around the show and from the crowd response that this was indeed Devilskin’s night.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - EP Review: One by One & Two by Two
16 Nov 2018 // by Sass_Metal
About 10 years ago if I had heard this EP I wouldn’t have been able to appreciate its complex intricacies. As I write this, I’m on my 5th listen and I keep noticing more; more layers, depth, complexities I missed the previous times I’ve listened to it.
Read More...
Levi Lights On Project - Gig Review: Levi with The Free Wind @ Wine Cellar, Auckland
18 Sep 2018 // by Sass_Metal
I have seen both Brendon and Levi perform with their Rock bands before – Brendon Thomas & the Vibes and Tribal State and knew how talented and how sonically stunning their voices are but I wasn’t prepared for how these two truly talented musicians would sound with the emphasis being more on their voices, than being backed by full bands. Normally I find myself getting bored with too much clean singing and often prefer death metal growls to clean singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Katy Perry @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/08/2018
21 Aug 2018 // by Sass_Metal
This is the story of how a heavy metal journalist ended up surprisingly enjoying themselves at a POP show – the amazing extravaganza that is Katy Perry’s ‘Witness’ tour. I knew that as a pop show it would be an amazing show - that’s an understatement!
Read More...
Gig Review: Left or Right @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 13/07/2018
10 Aug 2018 // by Sass_Metal
After 6 months of traveling Europe and the UK I’ve found it an adjustment coming back to NZ for a number of reasons – one of which being shows not having the first band on till 9pm, when in UK and England 9pm would be the 2nd to last band as most shows finish around 11pm which is AMAZING – especially on a week night, another adjustment is that in New Zealand (well for 4/5 shows I’ve attended, worked or reviewed in the last two weeks) is that there’s hardly anyone at the show for the first band. It’s so hard going first in Auckland, as it’s common to pre-drink and not make it out till 10, but Leighton Fairle did an amazing job.
Read More...
His Masters Voice - EP Review: Woman
29 Sep 2017 // by Sass_Metal
This EP is for all the beautiful souls that dance up the front of a His Masters Voice performance, it is for the people that close their eyes and feel the music, for those that loose themselves in the music, the souls that get Goosebumps and go on journeys in their minds when the music hits that perfect note.  This is a very clever recording with three songs the band already perform live but the crowning glory in this EP is their new song Woman, although that is a VERY hard call to make as the other three songs all invoke the memories in me of the different times I’ve seen His Masters Voice, in Wellington when I accompanied them down on the mammoth road trip down and back in two days, or Hamilton last year when Az blew my mind with some American Music opportunities, New Plymouth at Brutalitee’s Birthday Bash and of course all the times I’ve seen them in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Static Era @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 9/09/2017
16 Sep 2017 // by Sass_Metal
I had been looking forward to this show for a good month, if not longer. It was a FREEZING cold night outside with wind and rain and when I first got to the show I wondered if it was going to keep people away but by the time Animalhead took to the stage the venue was filling up nicely and temperatures were rising as everyone jammed in and started rocking out.
Read More...
View All Articles By Sass_Metal

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem