21 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Boom! Boom! Deluxe! - EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

01 May 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.

Rockabilly and its various sub-genres is a style of music for me that comes across equally as classy and rebellious. Some bands pull it off really well (check out Roddy Radiation’s Skabilly Rebels) while others fall into pub rock oblivion.

I must admit the opening track Burger and a Beer on this EP by Boom! Boom! Deluxe! frustrated me with its throw away lyrics but thankfully it is short lived and then we are introduced to the creamy smooth vocals of Henrieta Tornyai on Hanky Panky.

They might still be following a Rockabilly by numbers template but as the tracks go by this EP just gets better. The dual male/female vocals are perfect, and the musicianship is tight as a double bass string.

The fun element is always at the fore and the six songs blast by with increasing energy and swagger. Closing track Swamp Thing is the standout track for me.

I was left smiling and swinging just like those memorable drunken nights many years ago. I just wish I had avoided the burger and a beer before the party really got swinging.

★★★ (3 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

Boom! Boom! Deluxe! are the seminal New Zealand Rock n' Roll and Rockabilly band - Fantastic fun live, playing a mix of their own songs and authentic 1950's / 1960's classics, as well as a few clever re-workings of modern songs in the Rockabilly style!

In February 2018 the band released their first single Burger and a Beer to great reviews around the world. Their debut 6-track EP/Mini-LP was released on 10” vinyl by the legendary Bear-Family records in Germany, with the release party being held during their show at Beach hop 2018!

BBD are currently on a 24 date tour of New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

Releases

There are no releases to display for Boom! Boom! Deluxe!.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected.
Read More...
EP Review: Ghost Who Walks
21 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
This debut EP from Wellington’s Ghost Who Walks comes hot on the electro-plasmic coat tails of the latest single released, Walking Talking Blues. Vertigo is the opener here and is a blues 'n' funk-tinged blast with more than a hint of soul that will get you dancing.
Read More...
Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
My heart is racing. Not sure if that’s a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Auckland’s Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000’s, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem