20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Boom! Boom! Deluxe! - EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

01 May 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.

Rockabilly and its various sub-genres is a style of music for me that comes across equally as classy and rebellious. Some bands pull it off really well (check out Roddy Radiation’s Skabilly Rebels) while others fall into pub rock oblivion.

I must admit the opening track Burger and a Beer on this EP by Boom! Boom! Deluxe! frustrated me with its throw away lyrics but thankfully it is short lived and then we are introduced to the creamy smooth vocals of Henrieta Tornyai on Hanky Panky.

They might still be following a Rockabilly by numbers template but as the tracks go by this EP just gets better. The dual male/female vocals are perfect, and the musicianship is tight as a double bass string.

The fun element is always at the fore and the six songs blast by with increasing energy and swagger. Closing track Swamp Thing is the standout track for me.

I was left smiling and swinging just like those memorable drunken nights many years ago. I just wish I had avoided the burger and a beer before the party really got swinging.

★★★ (3 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

Boom! Boom! Deluxe! are the seminal New Zealand Rock n' Roll and Rockabilly band - Fantastic fun live, playing a mix of their own songs and authentic 1950's / 1960's classics, as well as a few clever re-workings of modern songs in the Rockabilly style!

In February 2018 the band released their first single Burger and a Beer to great reviews around the world. Their debut 6-track EP/Mini-LP was released on 10” vinyl by the legendary Bear-Family records in Germany, with the release party being held during their show at Beach hop 2018!

BBD are currently on a 24 date tour of New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

Releases

There are no releases to display for Boom! Boom! Deluxe!.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem