18 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Boom! Boom! Deluxe! - EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

01 May 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.

Rockabilly and its various sub-genres is a style of music for me that comes across equally as classy and rebellious. Some bands pull it off really well (check out Roddy Radiation’s Skabilly Rebels) while others fall into pub rock oblivion.

I must admit the opening track Burger and a Beer on this EP by Boom! Boom! Deluxe! frustrated me with its throw away lyrics but thankfully it is short lived and then we are introduced to the creamy smooth vocals of Henrieta Tornyai on Hanky Panky.

They might still be following a Rockabilly by numbers template but as the tracks go by this EP just gets better. The dual male/female vocals are perfect, and the musicianship is tight as a double bass string.

The fun element is always at the fore and the six songs blast by with increasing energy and swagger. Closing track Swamp Thing is the standout track for me.

I was left smiling and swinging just like those memorable drunken nights many years ago. I just wish I had avoided the burger and a beer before the party really got swinging.

★★★ (3 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

Boom! Boom! Deluxe! are the seminal New Zealand Rock n' Roll and Rockabilly band - Fantastic fun live, playing a mix of their own songs and authentic 1950's / 1960's classics, as well as a few clever re-workings of modern songs in the Rockabilly style!

In February 2018 the band released their first single Burger and a Beer to great reviews around the world. Their debut 6-track EP/Mini-LP was released on 10” vinyl by the legendary Bear-Family records in Germany, with the release party being held during their show at Beach hop 2018!

BBD are currently on a 24 date tour of New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem