18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Boom! Boom! Deluxe! - EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

01 May 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.

Rockabilly and its various sub-genres is a style of music for me that comes across equally as classy and rebellious. Some bands pull it off really well (check out Roddy Radiation’s Skabilly Rebels) while others fall into pub rock oblivion.

I must admit the opening track Burger and a Beer on this EP by Boom! Boom! Deluxe! frustrated me with its throw away lyrics but thankfully it is short lived and then we are introduced to the creamy smooth vocals of Henrieta Tornyai on Hanky Panky.

They might still be following a Rockabilly by numbers template but as the tracks go by this EP just gets better. The dual male/female vocals are perfect, and the musicianship is tight as a double bass string.

The fun element is always at the fore and the six songs blast by with increasing energy and swagger. Closing track Swamp Thing is the standout track for me.

I was left smiling and swinging just like those memorable drunken nights many years ago. I just wish I had avoided the burger and a beer before the party really got swinging.

★★★ (3 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

Boom! Boom! Deluxe! are the seminal New Zealand Rock n' Roll and Rockabilly band - Fantastic fun live, playing a mix of their own songs and authentic 1950's / 1960's classics, as well as a few clever re-workings of modern songs in the Rockabilly style!

In February 2018 the band released their first single Burger and a Beer to great reviews around the world. Their debut 6-track EP/Mini-LP was released on 10” vinyl by the legendary Bear-Family records in Germany, with the release party being held during their show at Beach hop 2018!

BBD are currently on a 24 date tour of New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

Releases

There are no releases to display for Boom! Boom! Deluxe!.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem