24 Jan 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Boom! Boom! Deluxe! - EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

01 May 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.

Rockabilly and its various sub-genres is a style of music for me that comes across equally as classy and rebellious. Some bands pull it off really well (check out Roddy Radiation’s Skabilly Rebels) while others fall into pub rock oblivion.

I must admit the opening track Burger and a Beer on this EP by Boom! Boom! Deluxe! frustrated me with its throw away lyrics but thankfully it is short lived and then we are introduced to the creamy smooth vocals of Henrieta Tornyai on Hanky Panky.

They might still be following a Rockabilly by numbers template but as the tracks go by this EP just gets better. The dual male/female vocals are perfect, and the musicianship is tight as a double bass string.

The fun element is always at the fore and the six songs blast by with increasing energy and swagger. Closing track Swamp Thing is the standout track for me.

I was left smiling and swinging just like those memorable drunken nights many years ago. I just wish I had avoided the burger and a beer before the party really got swinging.

★★★ (3 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

Boom! Boom! Deluxe! are the seminal New Zealand Rock n' Roll and Rockabilly band - Fantastic fun live, playing a mix of their own songs and authentic 1950's / 1960's classics, as well as a few clever re-workings of modern songs in the Rockabilly style!

In February 2018 the band released their first single Burger and a Beer to great reviews around the world. Their debut 6-track EP/Mini-LP was released on 10” vinyl by the legendary Bear-Family records in Germany, with the release party being held during their show at Beach hop 2018!


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Boom! Boom! Deluxe!

Releases

Boom! Boom! Deluxe!
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem