4 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tom Cunliffe - Album Review: Template For Love

01 May 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I must admit when I came across this I was put off by the album title Template for Love as I am more of an 'Instructions for Chaos' kind of guy.

Life is much richer if you push into the unknown, challenge the preconceptions and explore with an open mind which is exactly what Tom Cunliffe has done on this his second album. A more indie feel than its folkier predecessor and the focus is wide as Tom delves into the complexities and highs and lows of human interaction.

There really is something for everyone in these songs with standout favourite for me being I Have Been Bitten by A White Man.

Tom's UK/NZ heritage also has an influence as an indie pop sensibility flows throughout and mixes with the NZ sun and surf vibe. It is both retro and modern and needs to be heard over and over.

It is a displaced feeling sitting in a bar in a wet Caranby Street in London writing this review listening to Primrose Hill as Tom describes this quintessential London scene and yet it makes me think of deserted New Zealand beaches.

Template for Love is a collection of heart felt well-crafted songs that introduce themselves with a wink and a smile. They make you think and are interesting, so you want to hear more, want to listen again, they connect......so actually this album has the perfect title. I am glad I listened, and you will be too.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Tom Cunliffe

In short: Music for midnight drunks and the brokenhearted.

Longer: In 2011 Tom Cunliffe released a collection of early songs called Red Leather Blues, written in the dark, recorded in a corner of his bedroom and sent out into the world with all the confidence of a bemused baby ferret venturing out of his hole for the first time.

It wasn’t long after that he started to take things a little more seriously and since moving from Wellington up to Auckland, managed to share the stage with the likes of Wagons, Hopetoun Brown, Will Wood, Bernie Griffen, Skyscraper Stan and Holly Arrowsmith.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tom Cunliffe

Releases

Template For Love
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Howl And Whisper
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Red Leather Blues
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem