16 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Daynes Song

26 Apr 2018 // A review by Peter-James Dries

'Tis a two-headed beast, Daynes Song, the new single from Northland’s Tempist Fujit.

On one side it’s jazzy funky 90's Rock riffs, bass licks, and song structure (with complimentary Santana-like solo), the other side modern Rap riffing.

That’s not something we see much of, the mixing of Rock and Rap, not since those dark times in the early 2000's that saw the rise of *shudder* Numetal.

But this isn’t Numetal. This is the bringing together of a cross-section of New Zealand. We are quite an Us vs Them nation despite our melting pot origins, and this song appeals to both sides of the imaginary divide through our people.

Inspired by a family tragedy, the song speaks of persevering through adversity despite the challenges. It’s an uplifting song, and I don’t usually go for uplifting, but it’s catchy and just heavy enough for me to listen to it.

See, I don’t usually go for Rap, that’s the territory of my brothers (despite my best efforts to introduce them to the release of rage through Rock). The way this track seamlessly merges the two genres makes this is a song we could probably all agree on.

It definitely serves its purpose as a tribute to Dayne, it’s a great song. A positive song. It shares a message of optimism, hope and the power of perspective. When all we have to whinge about is Social Media relationships and Carol using all the coffee in the break room, remember there’s Dayne, who overcame.

I’m quite interested in seeing what else the band can do.


Review written by Peter-James Dries

 

About Tempist Fujit

Tempist Fujit (a play on the Latin word Tempus Fugit, meaning time flies) are a 4 piece dynamic rock band hailing from Northland.

After creating a following with their hard hitting cover versions Tempist Fujit took some time off the road to go into the studio to record their debut album. They recently returned to the live scene for the release of their debut single Midnight Train, to a sold out audience, with much enthusiasm and praise from the crowd. They are now taking to the road again with the new original show.

Tempist Fujit have been privileged enough to perform alongside prominent NZ acts like The Feelers, Midnight Youth, Tahuna Breaks and Dave Dobbyn to name a few. “We can’t wait for people to hear the new music, very exciting times!” says the band. Keep an eye on their official website and Facebook page for performance updates.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tempist Fujit

Releases

Time Flies
Year: 2018
Type: Album
No More Time
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: One Way Please
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been interesting watching this artist explore and develop their style over time. When I last checked in, I think it was around April – the track was Madre Naturaleza, Cruddy was still producing dark industrial sound-scapes.
Read More...
Manzo - Album Review: Attachment
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
The modern music industry has embraced the practice of style over substance for a while now. We could blame streaming, the Netflix generation, or the entitled psychopaths we’ve bred through inattentive parenting, as required by dual income house-holding.
Read More...
Manzo - EP Review: Beatniks on Toast
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like every independent musician, I’ve felt the pain of checking my artist pages to find the first track is still the one with the most plays. I should be reassured that someone has put the effort in to try and listen to something I’ve spend months making.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem