26 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Daynes Song

26 Apr 2018 // A review by Peter-James Dries

'Tis a two-headed beast, Daynes Song, the new single from Northland’s Tempist Fujit.

On one side it’s jazzy funky 90's Rock riffs, bass licks, and song structure (with complimentary Santana-like solo), the other side modern Rap riffing.

That’s not something we see much of, the mixing of Rock and Rap, not since those dark times in the early 2000's that saw the rise of *shudder* Numetal.

But this isn’t Numetal. This is the bringing together of a cross-section of New Zealand. We are quite an Us vs Them nation despite our melting pot origins, and this song appeals to both sides of the imaginary divide through our people.

Inspired by a family tragedy, the song speaks of persevering through adversity despite the challenges. It’s an uplifting song, and I don’t usually go for uplifting, but it’s catchy and just heavy enough for me to listen to it.

See, I don’t usually go for Rap, that’s the territory of my brothers (despite my best efforts to introduce them to the release of rage through Rock). The way this track seamlessly merges the two genres makes this is a song we could probably all agree on.

It definitely serves its purpose as a tribute to Dayne, it’s a great song. A positive song. It shares a message of optimism, hope and the power of perspective. When all we have to whinge about is Social Media relationships and Carol using all the coffee in the break room, remember there’s Dayne, who overcame.

I’m quite interested in seeing what else the band can do.


Review written by Peter-James Dries

 

About Tempist Fujit

Tempist Fujit (a play on the Latin word Tempus Fugit, meaning time flies) are a 4 piece dynamic rock band hailing from Northland.

After creating a following with their hard hitting cover versions Tempist Fujit took some time off the road to go into the studio to record their debut album. They recently returned to the live scene for the release of their debut single Midnight Train, to a sold out audience, with much enthusiasm and praise from the crowd. They are now taking to the road again with the new original show.

Tempist Fujit have been privileged enough to perform alongside prominent NZ acts like The Feelers, Midnight Youth, Tahuna Breaks and Dave Dobbyn to name a few. “We can’t wait for people to hear the new music, very exciting times!” says the band. Keep an eye on their official website and Facebook page for performance updates.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tempist Fujit

Releases

Time Flies
Year: 2018
Type: Album
No More Time
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem