21 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Daynes Song

26 Apr 2018 // A review by Peter-James Dries

'Tis a two-headed beast, Daynes Song, the new single from Northland’s Tempist Fujit.

On one side it’s jazzy funky 90's Rock riffs, bass licks, and song structure (with complimentary Santana-like solo), the other side modern Rap riffing.

That’s not something we see much of, the mixing of Rock and Rap, not since those dark times in the early 2000's that saw the rise of *shudder* Numetal.

But this isn’t Numetal. This is the bringing together of a cross-section of New Zealand. We are quite an Us vs Them nation despite our melting pot origins, and this song appeals to both sides of the imaginary divide through our people.

Inspired by a family tragedy, the song speaks of persevering through adversity despite the challenges. It’s an uplifting song, and I don’t usually go for uplifting, but it’s catchy and just heavy enough for me to listen to it.

See, I don’t usually go for Rap, that’s the territory of my brothers (despite my best efforts to introduce them to the release of rage through Rock). The way this track seamlessly merges the two genres makes this is a song we could probably all agree on.

It definitely serves its purpose as a tribute to Dayne, it’s a great song. A positive song. It shares a message of optimism, hope and the power of perspective. When all we have to whinge about is Social Media relationships and Carol using all the coffee in the break room, remember there’s Dayne, who overcame.

I’m quite interested in seeing what else the band can do.


Review written by Peter-James Dries

 

About Tempist Fujit

Tempist Fujit (a play on the Latin word Tempus Fugit, meaning time flies) are a 4 piece dynamic rock band hailing from Northland.

After creating a following with their hard hitting cover versions Tempist Fujit took some time off the road to go into the studio to record their debut album. They recently returned to the live scene for the release of their debut single Midnight Train, to a sold out audience, with much enthusiasm and praise from the crowd. They are now taking to the road again with the new original show.

Tempist Fujit have been privileged enough to perform alongside prominent NZ acts like The Feelers, Midnight Youth, Tahuna Breaks and Dave Dobbyn to name a few. “We can’t wait for people to hear the new music, very exciting times!” says the band. Keep an eye on their official website and Facebook page for performance updates.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tempist Fujit

Releases

No More Time
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Aaron Carpenter and The Revelators - EP Review: Roll with the Punches
20 Aug 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
The last bastions of real music in a world that celebrates mediocrity are the minnows swimming against the current of the mainstream.   What is the mainstream nowadays?
Read More...
Brendan Pyper - Single Review: No Strings Attached
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I think we have this decade’s Daniel Bedingfield on our hands. Diversifying his portfolio, The Latest Fallout’s Brendan Pyper has just released his debut single, in the process seemingly leaving his Pop Rock ways behind.
Read More...
Tess Goodwin - Single Review: Grace
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In this world of instant gratification, something can be said about a song that can make you feel, even if that feeling is longing. Longing, usually a feeling with negative connotations, is something you miss out on when you can binge watch an entire show or listen to a musician’s whole discography.
Read More...
Emily Fairlight - Album Review: Mother of Gloom
03 May 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Autumn at dusk. Sitting in a bay window, knees to chin, wrapped in sweatered arms.
Read More...
Robby Thorne - Album Review: The White Thorn Track
13 Mar 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a time and place for genre pedantry. I get that categorising artists by genre is a way of qualifying if you will like music before trying it.
Read More...
David Edwards - Album Review: Gleefully Unknown 1997 - 2005
25 Feb 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
There is the weird and wonderful. And then there is the weird.
Read More...
Will Saunders - Album Review: Covers Four
27 Jan 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Covers Four, formally and sub titled I Know That We Are Not New (a line taken from the contained cover of Cohen’s Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye) is Will Saunders from The Lowest Fidelity’s take on a collection of obscure tracks, which ironically were new to me. It’s the mode now to take on, often poorly, the latest hits of the Billboard charts, posting them to YouTube in the vain hope of riding off the coattails of the song’s fame.
Read More...
Album Review: The Lincoln Greene Project
16 Jan 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Jimmy Hazelwood, actor and purveyor of acoustic folk, has recently released a new record, but not as himself. This time Jimmy is stepped into the role of Lincoln Greene, bringing you the debut album from this pseudonym, the aptly title The Lincoln Greene Project.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • THE RINGER
    Eminem
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • FALL
    Eminem
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem