19 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Album Review: Sex & Food

11 Apr 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I know it is controversial but I am going to say it anyway. I agree with Taka Waititi - Unknown Mortal Orchestra are the best band on the planet to listen to and the new album is awesome as fuck!

Pride often comes before a fall but A God Called Hubris is the perfect quirky intro into a collection of music that takes us on a journey, with the aid of some Major League Chemicals, through a Ministry of Alienation where we experience American Guilt on The Internet Of Love where Everyone Acts Crazy Nowadays.

It's a sublime ride where emotions are prickled and pickled, where the ghost of Prince can be heard chilling on The Internet Of Love while Jimi Hendrix is felt tripping and ripping on those Major League Chemicals. It is a winding road taking in the familiar while adding ingredients to spice up the action.

Stand out moments for me are American Guilt which demands to only be played at ear-splitting volume and then floats off like smoke from a post-sex cigarette and the keyboard-driven Not In Love We're Just High. Imagine Stevie Wonder at his funkiest coolest bad ass best then add a Nielson and you will get an idea of how good this is

Nowadays you come to expect the unexpected with Unknown Mortal Orchestra but Sex and Food takes this to a whole new level. At times it is so chilled and damn sexy. It teases and climaxes while at other moments is introverted and reflective. Like any great experience in life or even food and sex, it just leaves you with a sense of wow, I don't know what the hell just happened but I loved it and want to do it again.

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Unknown Mortal Orchestra

The new project of The Mint Chicks' Ruban Nielson – now based in Portland, Oregon.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra first appeared around a year ago, more a song than a set, more an idea than an identity. They dazzled all who heard them with sound drawing on the freedom of '60s psychedelia and swampy '70s funk, with multi-tracked, heavily treated vocals recalling the raw emotion of R&B from any era.

The songs filtered around via email then blogs, but there were no images, no bios, no lists of band members with prior projects prominent. There wasn't even a live show - which just served to focus attention on the music. And while New Zealanders who heard it instantly suspected a Mint Chicks connection, overseas the slate remained blank: "Information essentially doesn't exist, aside from it being a solo project hailing from Portland," said I Guess I'm Floating, summing up the absence.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Releases

Sex & Food
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Multi-Love
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
II
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem