4 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Album Review: Sex & Food

11 Apr 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I know it is controversial but I am going to say it anyway. I agree with Taka Waititi - Unknown Mortal Orchestra are the best band on the planet to listen to and the new album is awesome as fuck!

Pride often comes before a fall but A God Called Hubris is the perfect quirky intro into a collection of music that takes us on a journey, with the aid of some Major League Chemicals, through a Ministry of Alienation where we experience American Guilt on The Internet Of Love where Everyone Acts Crazy Nowadays.

It's a sublime ride where emotions are prickled and pickled, where the ghost of Prince can be heard chilling on The Internet Of Love while Jimi Hendrix is felt tripping and ripping on those Major League Chemicals. It is a winding road taking in the familiar while adding ingredients to spice up the action.

Stand out moments for me are American Guilt which demands to only be played at ear-splitting volume and then floats off like smoke from a post-sex cigarette and the keyboard-driven Not In Love We're Just High. Imagine Stevie Wonder at his funkiest coolest bad ass best then add a Nielson and you will get an idea of how good this is

Nowadays you come to expect the unexpected with Unknown Mortal Orchestra but Sex and Food takes this to a whole new level. At times it is so chilled and damn sexy. It teases and climaxes while at other moments is introverted and reflective. Like any great experience in life or even food and sex, it just leaves you with a sense of wow, I don't know what the hell just happened but I loved it and want to do it again.

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Unknown Mortal Orchestra

The new project of The Mint Chicks' Ruban Nielson – now based in Portland, Oregon.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra first appeared around a year ago, more a song than a set, more an idea than an identity. They dazzled all who heard them with sound drawing on the freedom of '60s psychedelia and swampy '70s funk, with multi-tracked, heavily treated vocals recalling the raw emotion of R&B from any era.

The songs filtered around via email then blogs, but there were no images, no bios, no lists of band members with prior projects prominent. There wasn't even a live show - which just served to focus attention on the music. And while New Zealanders who heard it instantly suspected a Mint Chicks connection, overseas the slate remained blank: "Information essentially doesn't exist, aside from it being a solo project hailing from Portland," said I Guess I'm Floating, summing up the absence.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Releases

Sex & Food
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Multi-Love
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
II
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem