27 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Album Review: Sex & Food

11 Apr 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I know it is controversial but I am going to say it anyway. I agree with Taka Waititi - Unknown Mortal Orchestra are the best band on the planet to listen to and the new album is awesome as fuck!

Pride often comes before a fall but A God Called Hubris is the perfect quirky intro into a collection of music that takes us on a journey, with the aid of some Major League Chemicals, through a Ministry of Alienation where we experience American Guilt on The Internet Of Love where Everyone Acts Crazy Nowadays.

It's a sublime ride where emotions are prickled and pickled, where the ghost of Prince can be heard chilling on The Internet Of Love while Jimi Hendrix is felt tripping and ripping on those Major League Chemicals. It is a winding road taking in the familiar while adding ingredients to spice up the action.

Stand out moments for me are American Guilt which demands to only be played at ear-splitting volume and then floats off like smoke from a post-sex cigarette and the keyboard-driven Not In Love We're Just High. Imagine Stevie Wonder at his funkiest coolest bad ass best then add a Nielson and you will get an idea of how good this is

Nowadays you come to expect the unexpected with Unknown Mortal Orchestra but Sex and Food takes this to a whole new level. At times it is so chilled and damn sexy. It teases and climaxes while at other moments is introverted and reflective. Like any great experience in life or even food and sex, it just leaves you with a sense of wow, I don't know what the hell just happened but I loved it and want to do it again.

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Unknown Mortal Orchestra

The new project of The Mint Chicks' Ruban Nielson – now based in Portland, Oregon.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra first appeared around a year ago, more a song than a set, more an idea than an identity. They dazzled all who heard them with sound drawing on the freedom of '60s psychedelia and swampy '70s funk, with multi-tracked, heavily treated vocals recalling the raw emotion of R&B from any era.

The songs filtered around via email then blogs, but there were no images, no bios, no lists of band members with prior projects prominent. There wasn't even a live show - which just served to focus attention on the music. And while New Zealanders who heard it instantly suspected a Mint Chicks connection, overseas the slate remained blank: "Information essentially doesn't exist, aside from it being a solo project hailing from Portland," said I Guess I'm Floating, summing up the absence.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Releases

Sex & Food
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
IC-01 Hanoi
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Multi-Love
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
II
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Marrow Neck - EP Review: Made Up
23 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Sitting here in a very wet and cold, rainy UK watching the oldies falling out of the local Wetherspoons where they have been on the piss since 9am (yep the UK is weird it's only the old people who can afford to get pissed all day).I am reflecting on the past as I listen to the latest EP Made Up from Auckland-based Mark Hannington.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Tempest
03 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Hardcore.It tends to mean extreme.
Read More...
Big Scout - Album Review: Council Sport
18 Aug 2022 // by Paul Goddard
It’s finally here. The first Long Player from Blenheim noisy buggers Big Scout.
Read More...
Memory Foam - Album Review: Steel Magnolias
28 Jun 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Did you know that Memory Foam creates a matrix of cells through which air can move? Me neither.
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face
26 Apr 2022 // by Paul Goddard
If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."Fuck that.
Read More...
Nuggiez - Single Review: The Creeps
08 Mar 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Zeitgeist.One of my favourite words.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Ice Cream Man
18 Feb 2022 // by Paul Goddard
I am going to say it. This might be controversial but the best Ice Cream is a simple Vanilla Whip in a cone.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: A Long Time Coming
23 Dec 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Life's a journey.Different phases, ranging from feeling bulletproof to feeling paranoid to eventually feeling resigned to whatever happens.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem