18 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stan Walker - EP Review: Stan

09 Apr 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

To coincide with the live broadcast of Stan Walker’s powerful and moving documentary, which follows his journey to recovery after being given a cancer diagnosis in 2017, is the release of a 6 track EP titled Stan.

The EP had barely been out a day, and already it had made it to number one in New Zealand.

The opening track Thank You is written by Stan as an ode to his mother April, his “superwoman” as a way of expressing his gratitude for her love and guidance. "After all we've been through, you've never run out of love," Walker sings in the touching tribute. "There's no words to say but 'I love you', so I'ma say thank you - just know it will never, ever be enough." This was start of a beautiful journey through six tracks of emotional, powerful and honest lyrics.

The 6 songs are a thank you to all his supporters. A remarkable gift.

Stan’s vocals, do not appear to have been affected greatly by the removal of his stomach, he still has the powerful and soulful sound he always had. I acknowledge the fear over losing his voice, the sheer physical aspect of singing and all that goes with this, so this is indeed a celebration of his voice rising up once more.

I hadn’t taken much notice of our local singing sensation before. I take notice now. Not only because of Stan's extraordinary journey which got him to this point in his life, but because of the incredible raw emotion and honesty has he expressed when he sings. This is the first time I have had to review an album which has given me chills.

Each track is a poignant reminder of the sheer talent of Stan; however, two stood out for me - Find You ft. Maisey Rika and Whakamoemiti. If ever there was a time in which I have been rendered speechless, unable to put down in words how much these songs affected me, then that time came with these two songs. Find You is an eerily moving and stunning song which sent shivers down my spine. Maisey Rika compliments Stan’s vocals exquisitely. The symbolic lyrics captivate. “The storm may come and the rain will fall. Fire and pain go hand in hand — what more. The sun will rise and I may fall.”

The translation of Whakamoemiti means praising and giving thanks. The song is sung in Te Reo and is delivered with such heartfelt passion and love.

The EP wraps up with the beautiful I Surrender.

This is a stunning sample of the music he has been working on over the years. “This EP has songs I've written 11 years ago, 5 years ago, 3 years ago & now. All these songs were written in break-even times in my life. So, I thought now would be a perfect time for them to be heard, alongside 1 of the biggest times of my life. This isn’t really an indication of what’s to come next, but these songs are for now.”

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Stan Walker

It’s been a whirlwind of activity for Stan Walker since he won the title of Australian Idol in 2009. Even before the year was out, his association with Sony Music Australia was ignited with the multi-platinum debut single BLACK BOX, and multi-platinum debut album INTRODUCING… STAN WALKER, setting up the early stages of his career, and reinforcing his remarkable talent. Taking two weeks off at Christmas time to spend with family and friends, 19 year-old Stan started to map out his plans for 2010, before he was called straight back into work in January of this year. “It was crazy – everything was just going 100 miles per hour, and before I knew it I was straight back into doing interviews, promotion, appearances and gigs,” he says in amazement. “The pace has been really fast, but I’m hanging in there. I’m carefully thinking through who I want to be, and the type of music I want to record for my first full original album.”

One of the stirring and impressive international collaborations to feature on his upcoming album is Stan’s work with Ryan Tedder, whose midas-touch has graced dozens of certified global chart hits, and who wrote and produced Stan’s new single UNBROKEN.

“I really loved the track as soon as I heard it; the song just won me over with its lyrics. It talks about being unbroken, picking up the pieces of your life and getting back together and moving on. Those lyrics spoke directly to me and the experiences I’ve had in my life, and I’m sure everyone can relate to the song in their own way as well.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stan Walker

Releases

Introducing
Year: ????
Type: Album
From The Inside Out
Year: ????
Type: Album
Let The Music Play
Year: ????
Type: Album
Stan
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Truth and Soul
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Inventing Myself
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Release: Not Another Ballad
22 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian-born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released a brand new single Not Another Ballad - an energetic and cheery number, guaranteed to get you moving your booty across the dance floor. Conceived from the willingness to placate her band with the promise of “not another ballad”, the song of the same name was born.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - Single Review: Between The Lines
15 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based RnB sensation with the breath-taking soulful voice; Bailey Wiley has just released her latest single Between The Lines. This track gives fans a glimpse inside Bailey's mind as she falls in love.
Read More...
Jan Hellriegel - Album Review: Sportsman Of The Year
06 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Jan Hellriegel is somewhat of an NZ musical icon, Songwriter, performer, producer, music publisher, copyright expert, mother and now author she has a name many of us of a certain age would have heard of. Her latest body of work Sportsman Of The Year appears to be a defining moment in not only her musical life, but also her personal one.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters and James Wilkinson - Single Review: Spaces Between Words
25 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Nelson based singer songwriter Jacquie Walters is about to release an alluring new single Spaces Between Words, featuring James Wilkinson on bass and Jacquie on guitar and vocals. Jacquie and James have shared many musical memories spanning over 25 years.
Read More...
Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem