16 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stan Walker - EP Review: Stan

09 Apr 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

To coincide with the live broadcast of Stan Walker’s powerful and moving documentary, which follows his journey to recovery after being given a cancer diagnosis in 2017, is the release of a 6 track EP titled Stan.

The EP had barely been out a day, and already it had made it to number one in New Zealand.

The opening track Thank You is written by Stan as an ode to his mother April, his “superwoman” as a way of expressing his gratitude for her love and guidance. "After all we've been through, you've never run out of love," Walker sings in the touching tribute. "There's no words to say but 'I love you', so I'ma say thank you - just know it will never, ever be enough." This was start of a beautiful journey through six tracks of emotional, powerful and honest lyrics.

The 6 songs are a thank you to all his supporters. A remarkable gift.

Stan’s vocals, do not appear to have been affected greatly by the removal of his stomach, he still has the powerful and soulful sound he always had. I acknowledge the fear over losing his voice, the sheer physical aspect of singing and all that goes with this, so this is indeed a celebration of his voice rising up once more.

I hadn’t taken much notice of our local singing sensation before. I take notice now. Not only because of Stan's extraordinary journey which got him to this point in his life, but because of the incredible raw emotion and honesty has he expressed when he sings. This is the first time I have had to review an album which has given me chills.

Each track is a poignant reminder of the sheer talent of Stan; however, two stood out for me - Find You ft. Maisey Rika and Whakamoemiti. If ever there was a time in which I have been rendered speechless, unable to put down in words how much these songs affected me, then that time came with these two songs. Find You is an eerily moving and stunning song which sent shivers down my spine. Maisey Rika compliments Stan’s vocals exquisitely. The symbolic lyrics captivate. “The storm may come and the rain will fall. Fire and pain go hand in hand — what more. The sun will rise and I may fall.”

The translation of Whakamoemiti means praising and giving thanks. The song is sung in Te Reo and is delivered with such heartfelt passion and love.

The EP wraps up with the beautiful I Surrender.

This is a stunning sample of the music he has been working on over the years. “This EP has songs I've written 11 years ago, 5 years ago, 3 years ago & now. All these songs were written in break-even times in my life. So, I thought now would be a perfect time for them to be heard, alongside 1 of the biggest times of my life. This isn’t really an indication of what’s to come next, but these songs are for now.”

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Stan Walker

It’s been a whirlwind of activity for Stan Walker since he won the title of Australian Idol in 2009. Even before the year was out, his association with Sony Music Australia was ignited with the multi-platinum debut single BLACK BOX, and multi-platinum debut album INTRODUCING… STAN WALKER, setting up the early stages of his career, and reinforcing his remarkable talent. Taking two weeks off at Christmas time to spend with family and friends, 19 year-old Stan started to map out his plans for 2010, before he was called straight back into work in January of this year. “It was crazy – everything was just going 100 miles per hour, and before I knew it I was straight back into doing interviews, promotion, appearances and gigs,” he says in amazement. “The pace has been really fast, but I’m hanging in there. I’m carefully thinking through who I want to be, and the type of music I want to record for my first full original album.”

One of the stirring and impressive international collaborations to feature on his upcoming album is Stan’s work with Ryan Tedder, whose midas-touch has graced dozens of certified global chart hits, and who wrote and produced Stan’s new single UNBROKEN.

“I really loved the track as soon as I heard it; the song just won me over with its lyrics. It talks about being unbroken, picking up the pieces of your life and getting back together and moving on. Those lyrics spoke directly to me and the experiences I’ve had in my life, and I’m sure everyone can relate to the song in their own way as well.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stan Walker

Releases

Introducing
Year: ????
Type: Album
From The Inside Out
Year: ????
Type: Album
Let The Music Play
Year: ????
Type: Album
Stan
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Truth and Soul
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Inventing Myself
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
Sky Canvas - Single Review: Fossil
09 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative Soul/hip hop 5 piece band Sky Canvas from Wellington, have released a funky new single Fossil - a rich bluesy beat infused with synth and accompanied by the strong soulful vocals of Katelin Little. Fossil is a jazzy number with a futuristic sound.
Read More...
Emma G - Single/Video Review: Superhero
08 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
I have loved Emma G from the moment I first reviewed her single King For A Day in 2017. She has a powerful voice which has the ability to transcend between genres effortlessly.
Read More...
Gig Review: Don McGlashan @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui - 20/09/2018
23 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Don McGlashan has a voice which is instantly recognisable to many Kiwis, formerly from bands such as The Mutton Birds, Blam Blam Blam, The Front Lawn and The Bellbirds among others. He is a talented multi-instrumentalist, composer and singer who has now gone solo and is wowing crowds up and down the country with his Free Flight tour.
Read More...
Mixed Vege - Single/Video Review: Take Take Take
20 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mixed Vege is an Auckland based band fronted by Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher. They have just released their debut single Take Take Take .
Read More...
Justin 'Firefly' Clarke - Single Review: Astral Tumbleweed
14 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Justin Firefly is a Master's Graduate of the New Zealand School of Music and seasoned guitarist based in Wellington. He has traversed the globe performing with such acts as The Woolshed Sessions, Fly My Pretties, Fat Freddy’s Drop and Jess Chambers and the Firefly Orchestra.
Read More...
Scott MCB - Single Review: That Day
10 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Scott MCB is a singer songwriter from Auckland. He has been busy developing his music style and has just released his latest single That Day along with his second video.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Input/Output
25 Aug 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi hip-hop artist JCK has just dropped a mean double album. Input/Output is 19 tracks of varying styles of hip-hop and rap which should be enough to satisfy even the most discerning hip-hop connoisseur.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • VIBES
    Six60
  • BODY
    Loud Luxury feat. brando
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem