23 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Stan Walker - EP Review: Stan

09 Apr 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

To coincide with the live broadcast of Stan Walker’s powerful and moving documentary, which follows his journey to recovery after being given a cancer diagnosis in 2017, is the release of a 6 track EP titled Stan.

The EP had barely been out a day, and already it had made it to number one in New Zealand.

The opening track Thank You is written by Stan as an ode to his mother April, his “superwoman” as a way of expressing his gratitude for her love and guidance. "After all we've been through, you've never run out of love," Walker sings in the touching tribute. "There's no words to say but 'I love you', so I'ma say thank you - just know it will never, ever be enough." This was start of a beautiful journey through six tracks of emotional, powerful and honest lyrics.

The 6 songs are a thank you to all his supporters. A remarkable gift.

Stan’s vocals, do not appear to have been affected greatly by the removal of his stomach, he still has the powerful and soulful sound he always had. I acknowledge the fear over losing his voice, the sheer physical aspect of singing and all that goes with this, so this is indeed a celebration of his voice rising up once more.

I hadn’t taken much notice of our local singing sensation before. I take notice now. Not only because of Stan's extraordinary journey which got him to this point in his life, but because of the incredible raw emotion and honesty has he expressed when he sings. This is the first time I have had to review an album which has given me chills.

Each track is a poignant reminder of the sheer talent of Stan; however, two stood out for me - Find You ft. Maisey Rika and Whakamoemiti. If ever there was a time in which I have been rendered speechless, unable to put down in words how much these songs affected me, then that time came with these two songs. Find You is an eerily moving and stunning song which sent shivers down my spine. Maisey Rika compliments Stan’s vocals exquisitely. The symbolic lyrics captivate. “The storm may come and the rain will fall. Fire and pain go hand in hand — what more. The sun will rise and I may fall.”

The translation of Whakamoemiti means praising and giving thanks. The song is sung in Te Reo and is delivered with such heartfelt passion and love.

The EP wraps up with the beautiful I Surrender.

This is a stunning sample of the music he has been working on over the years. “This EP has songs I've written 11 years ago, 5 years ago, 3 years ago & now. All these songs were written in break-even times in my life. So, I thought now would be a perfect time for them to be heard, alongside 1 of the biggest times of my life. This isn’t really an indication of what’s to come next, but these songs are for now.”

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Stan Walker

It’s been a whirlwind of activity for Stan Walker since he won the title of Australian Idol in 2009. Even before the year was out, his association with Sony Music Australia was ignited with the multi-platinum debut single BLACK BOX, and multi-platinum debut album INTRODUCING… STAN WALKER, setting up the early stages of his career, and reinforcing his remarkable talent. Taking two weeks off at Christmas time to spend with family and friends, 19 year-old Stan started to map out his plans for 2010, before he was called straight back into work in January of this year. “It was crazy – everything was just going 100 miles per hour, and before I knew it I was straight back into doing interviews, promotion, appearances and gigs,” he says in amazement. “The pace has been really fast, but I’m hanging in there. I’m carefully thinking through who I want to be, and the type of music I want to record for my first full original album.”

One of the stirring and impressive international collaborations to feature on his upcoming album is Stan’s work with Ryan Tedder, whose midas-touch has graced dozens of certified global chart hits, and who wrote and produced Stan’s new single UNBROKEN.

“I really loved the track as soon as I heard it; the song just won me over with its lyrics. It talks about being unbroken, picking up the pieces of your life and getting back together and moving on. Those lyrics spoke directly to me and the experiences I’ve had in my life, and I’m sure everyone can relate to the song in their own way as well.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stan Walker

Releases

Introducing
Year: ????
Type: Album
From The Inside Out
Year: ????
Type: Album
Let The Music Play
Year: ????
Type: Album
Stan
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Truth and Soul
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Inventing Myself
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Following on from this will be a nationwide tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem