17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

I Am Giant - Gig Review: I Am Giant @ Totara Street, Mount Maunganui - 5/04/2018

09 Apr 2018 // A review by JohnnyBSquid
When you are about to embark on an evening of three bands which kicks off with Coridian, you know you are in for a real treat, despite the fact it marks the end of ten years of one of New Zealand’s finest heavy rock bands, I Am Giant, who are calling it a day with this final tour entitled ‘Life In Captivity’ which is commemorated with the release of their third album of the same name.

A headliner in their own right, Coridian take to the stage with rapturous applause of which they deserve every second, having done the hard yards, playing to the local crowd on several occasions in the past year alone, the band kick into their set with the self-assured positivity of a band on top of their game and have onlookers dancing and singing along within seconds.

Witnessing their set is an almost spiritual event, as along with bringing the heaviness of a true rock experience, they also create a unique swirling ambience which is uplifting and euphoric, at times reminding me of The Cure's textural guitar work. Don’t get me wrong these guys have serious arse-kicking riffs, while knowing how to create intensity through diversity, no doubt the reason for their inclusion on this tour.

Second up are Skinny Hobos, which although only consisting of a duo on Guitar and Drums, feels like there are so many more involved, this in part is due to the musical dexterity of the players involved, but also the clever interplay between the two instruments and both contributing vocals.

Drummer Sam 'Texas' Holdom is resplendent in bright yellow tie with no shirt, whilst Guitarist Alex 'Elvis' Ferrier sports the headband of a psychedelic sixties devotee, the tongue in cheek appearance and pseudonyms do little to detract from the fact that these are two fine and dedicated musicians. Their sound I could only describe as the love-child of the technical modernity of Royal Blood and the boogie simplicity of T-Rex. The crowd's favourite single, The Merchant of Tirau, goes off with manic dancing and probably left some concert goers a little hoarse vocally after giving their whole in accompaniment.

I Am Giant take to the stage amidst a thunderous roar of approval, the crowd has benefitted from a great choice in support acts and are well warmed up and waiting, but not impatient. Onlookers hang on to every word, note and drumbeat as I Am Giant deliver eleven original songs and one cover from their decade spanning three album catalogue.

Starting the show with After the War from 2011’s The Horrifying Truth, the band delve into three more from the same album, two from 2014’s Science and Survival and six from the latest offering Life in Captivity.

The near capacity crowd (very good for a Thursday night at The Mount, especially post Summer Holidays) are vocal in their appreciation for a band who play their hearts out, but also for Ross and the team at Totara Street who did a wonderful job of lights and sound to make the evening truly special.

Singer/Guitarist Aja Timu and Bassist Paul Mathews do a fantastic job in both playing and harmoniously delivering vocals to a very receptive audience, whilst Shelton Woolright’s drums were beaten within an inch of their lives especially in the final song of the night Purple Heart. The highlight for me was the speed and dexterity of Lead Guitarist Andrew Kerr who played out of his skin to deliver a very impassioned performance, but then the whole night, with possibly one exception, was almost without flaw. My only criticism of the evening would be the inclusion of Kiwi icons Dragon’s song Rain as one of the chosen tracks for the night, I know this is a track on the latest album, but on a final tour I personally would have preferred to hear another of the band’s own songs. That being said they did a very good job of said cover song, but as I seem to say to myself a lot these days leave the cover songs to the cover bands (unless you’re seriously reworking them) especially when the fans may never get to hear one of their favourite bands ever again.


Review written by Johnny Baxter
 

About I Am Giant

With an impressive 70,000+ loyal fans on Facebook and over 1,000 international members of their ‘IAG Army’, I Am Giant have amassed a huge worldwide following with four #1 rock singles and a certified gold album in New Zealand, music videos featuring skate and surfing icons Tony Hawk and Kelly Slater, opening for Slash in Australia, a UK tour with Taking Back Sunday, performances at Big Day Out in Auckland and Sydney, opening for Stone Temple Pilots in Singapore, touring throughout Asia several times, and playing the prestigious Viper Room and Mercury Lounge in the US.

Their debut album The Horrifying Truth, was recorded with acclaimed producer Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Dead Letter Circus, The Butterfly Effect). I Am Giant bound together what they describe as “a collection of stories, thoughts, observations and exploration” into a cohesive and hard-hitting explosion of sound and melody. From the first song Purple Heart to closer After The War, the sharp lyrical themes draw the listener into the band’s growing awareness of mortality and loss of innocence. The Horrifying Truth is pure, unadulterated rock, with its heart on its sleeve and an unquenchable fire in its soul.

October 2012 saw I Am Giant release The Horrifying Truth in the UK and Europe, where their single Purple Heart won support on BBC Radio One as Zane Lowe's ‘Next Hype’ , XFM, Kerrang! Radio and Q Radio as well as hitting the No 1 spot on Polish Radio Eska Rock.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for I Am Giant

Releases

Life In Captivity
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Science & Survival
Year: 2014
Type: Album
The Horrifying Truth
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
City Limits/Neon Sunrise
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By JohnnyBSquid

Gig Review: Bernie Griffen and The Thin Men @ The Incubator, Tauranga - 26/05/2018
07 Jun 2018 // by JohnnyBSquid
Patrons are huddled together, braving the weather in a cold red shed, in the heart of Tauranga’s Historic Village. Winter hits hard, but as so many artists overlook the city of Tauranga when they book shows on their tours, the people are happy to turn up and support them.
Read More...
Illuminus - Album Review: Endless
04 Apr 2018 // by JohnnyBSquid
At a little over 29 minutes this 12-song extravaganza weaves a textural symphony of sounds and feelings. First it will have you lulled into submission with almost ambient passages, then it will shake you awake with full on heavy skull pounding brutality.
Read More...
Gig Review: Apollo SteamTrain @ Imbibe Bar, Tauranga - 10/03/2018
20 Mar 2018 // by JohnnyBSquid
After kicking off their tour at the Nivara Lounge in Hamilton the much anticipated second night on Apollo SteamTrain’s Brain Bell Jangler Tour is in their home town at Imbibe bar, Mount Maunganui. The tour’s name was taken in support of their newest single and what a toe tapping, feel good song it is.
Read More...
Hollywoodfun Downstairs - Album Review: Tetris
23 Feb 2018 // by JohnnyBSquid
Hollywoodfun Downstairs were best described by Singer/Songwriter/Guitarist Kurt Williams as trashy noise pop punk which aptly describes the jaw dropping, face slapping dissonance and tension generated by the music on their latest recording.Comparisons to fellow kiwis Die!
Read More...
View All Articles By JohnnyBSquid

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem