27 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

A.U.R.A - Single Review: G.I Wonder

05 Apr 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
There is something safe about the familiar. It is comfortable. Music that might be defined as chilled or easy listening often feels familiar and can sometimes fade into background noise. It doesn't usually feel challenging but sometimes an artist comes along who has that rare talent for creating music that gives the comfort of familiarity whilst producing a sound that is interesting and hooks you in by making you think about what you are listening to.

Music is always about connection and firing up the brain cells and creating an emotional connection with the listener.

With G.I Wonder, A.U.R.A. (Albert Mikolaj) has managed to spark every cell in my subconscious with this tripped out tune that takes you on a 4-minute journey to somewhere else. It's a journey where reggae vibes mix with psychedelia. The unexpected twists and turns are what truly make this special.

It is subtle and accessible whilst also being subversive and ultimately interesting. The music relaxes you to the point where you might want to switch off and escape but the mix of genres throughout brings you back in wanting to hear more.

Open your mind and let this seep in. You won't be disappointed.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About A.U.R.A

A.U.R.A is the solo project of New Zealand born singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Albert Miko?aj. G.I Wonder the first single from A.U.R.A’s upcoming work Secret Intelligent Light, which was premiered by Impose Magazine on March 8th. G.I Wonder was since featured on Apple Music's New Alternative releases as well as the Best of the Week playlist for Apple Music Japan. Produced by Ben Lemi of TrinityRoots and French for Rabbits, Secret Intelligent Light is due for release via his Los Angeles based record label Cosmic Dreamer in 2018.

"Mikolaj’s vocal patterns are out of this world, as they are highly memorable in the first thirty seconds of the song. G.I. Wonder is enthralling because we can’t hear a continuous genre being played, it’s like a huge mix up of world and pop music with hints of indie rock with a bit of folk, which we think is unique. G.I. Wonder will leave you breathless." - Impose Magazine

"One of New Zealand's greatest hidden talents..." - Grayson Gilmour

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for A.U.R.A

Releases

Secret Intelligent Light
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • EARFQUAKE
    Tyler, The Creator
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem