24 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018

27 Mar 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create. It was a new sound something truly revolutionary. I don't remember hooking into the political side of the lyrics I just connected to this insanely catchy, heavy sound and how good they were live.

So here we are 20 years later via Audioslave, Public Enemy, Cypress Hill to witness Prophets of Rage. Zach has gone (check out the vastly underrated EP by One Day as A Lion) and critics have written this band off as a nostalgic covers act but there is a real air of anticipation that you can feel as you walk into a very intimate Spark Arena.

DJ Lord is on the decks warming up the crowd with an eclectic mix of beats ending in a twisted version of Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit. The crowd is pumped and not just in the pit. All around people are standing, heads are banging as the lights burn red and Prophets of Rage take the stage.

From the opening silo of the self-titled Prophets of Rage, it is clear the band are fired up and they are all over the stage like an act half their age. Morello, in particular, is in amazing form and what follows is 90 minutes I will never forget.

It doesn't matter if only 4 of the 19 songs they blast through are new tracks. Prophets of Rage are more than the sum of their parts. We get to experience the magic that made their previous bands so special. There is no let-up, and this is the best atmosphere I have experienced at any gig.

One highlight is when we get a medley of Cypress Hill/Public Enemy Hand on The Pump/Can't Truss It/Insane in The Brain/Bring the Noise/I Ain't Going Out Like That/ Welcome to the Terrordome/Jump Around.

This is followed by Tom introducing adopted New Zealander Serj Tankian (SOAD) for an emotional version of Audioslave's Like A Stone.

Then it is back to business, Bullet in The Head, Rock Superstar, Unfuck The World - I just have a constant smile on my face as every person loses their shit all around me. The end, of course, is Killing in The Name and it's all over too soon.

Are Prophets of Rage relevant? Sure, we need more bands making a noise and taking a stance on issues as there is far too much apathy around but tonight just like when I first saw Rage Against the Machine it doesn't really matter. It's the music, the energy, the connection between band and audience. Life is about creating memories, and this is one that will stay with me 'til I die.



Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem