15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018

27 Mar 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create. It was a new sound something truly revolutionary. I don't remember hooking into the political side of the lyrics I just connected to this insanely catchy, heavy sound and how good they were live.

So here we are 20 years later via Audioslave, Public Enemy, Cypress Hill to witness Prophets of Rage. Zach has gone (check out the vastly underrated EP by One Day as A Lion) and critics have written this band off as a nostalgic covers act but there is a real air of anticipation that you can feel as you walk into a very intimate Spark Arena.

DJ Lord is on the decks warming up the crowd with an eclectic mix of beats ending in a twisted version of Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit. The crowd is pumped and not just in the pit. All around people are standing, heads are banging as the lights burn red and Prophets of Rage take the stage.

From the opening silo of the self-titled Prophets of Rage, it is clear the band are fired up and they are all over the stage like an act half their age. Morello, in particular, is in amazing form and what follows is 90 minutes I will never forget.

It doesn't matter if only 4 of the 19 songs they blast through are new tracks. Prophets of Rage are more than the sum of their parts. We get to experience the magic that made their previous bands so special. There is no let-up, and this is the best atmosphere I have experienced at any gig.

One highlight is when we get a medley of Cypress Hill/Public Enemy Hand on The Pump/Can't Truss It/Insane in The Brain/Bring the Noise/I Ain't Going Out Like That/ Welcome to the Terrordome/Jump Around.

This is followed by Tom introducing adopted New Zealander Serj Tankian (SOAD) for an emotional version of Audioslave's Like A Stone.

Then it is back to business, Bullet in The Head, Rock Superstar, Unfuck The World - I just have a constant smile on my face as every person loses their shit all around me. The end, of course, is Killing in The Name and it's all over too soon.

Are Prophets of Rage relevant? Sure, we need more bands making a noise and taking a stance on issues as there is far too much apathy around but tonight just like when I first saw Rage Against the Machine it doesn't really matter. It's the music, the energy, the connection between band and audience. Life is about creating memories, and this is one that will stay with me 'til I die.



Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem