24 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018

27 Mar 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create. It was a new sound something truly revolutionary. I don't remember hooking into the political side of the lyrics I just connected to this insanely catchy, heavy sound and how good they were live.

So here we are 20 years later via Audioslave, Public Enemy, Cypress Hill to witness Prophets of Rage. Zach has gone (check out the vastly underrated EP by One Day as A Lion) and critics have written this band off as a nostalgic covers act but there is a real air of anticipation that you can feel as you walk into a very intimate Spark Arena.

DJ Lord is on the decks warming up the crowd with an eclectic mix of beats ending in a twisted version of Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit. The crowd is pumped and not just in the pit. All around people are standing, heads are banging as the lights burn red and Prophets of Rage take the stage.

From the opening silo of the self-titled Prophets of Rage, it is clear the band are fired up and they are all over the stage like an act half their age. Morello, in particular, is in amazing form and what follows is 90 minutes I will never forget.

It doesn't matter if only 4 of the 19 songs they blast through are new tracks. Prophets of Rage are more than the sum of their parts. We get to experience the magic that made their previous bands so special. There is no let-up, and this is the best atmosphere I have experienced at any gig.

One highlight is when we get a medley of Cypress Hill/Public Enemy Hand on The Pump/Can't Truss It/Insane in The Brain/Bring the Noise/I Ain't Going Out Like That/ Welcome to the Terrordome/Jump Around.

This is followed by Tom introducing adopted New Zealander Serj Tankian (SOAD) for an emotional version of Audioslave's Like A Stone.

Then it is back to business, Bullet in The Head, Rock Superstar, Unfuck The World - I just have a constant smile on my face as every person loses their shit all around me. The end, of course, is Killing in The Name and it's all over too soon.

Are Prophets of Rage relevant? Sure, we need more bands making a noise and taking a stance on issues as there is far too much apathy around but tonight just like when I first saw Rage Against the Machine it doesn't really matter. It's the music, the energy, the connection between band and audience. Life is about creating memories, and this is one that will stay with me 'til I die.



Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem