18 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018

27 Mar 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create. It was a new sound something truly revolutionary. I don't remember hooking into the political side of the lyrics I just connected to this insanely catchy, heavy sound and how good they were live.

So here we are 20 years later via Audioslave, Public Enemy, Cypress Hill to witness Prophets of Rage. Zach has gone (check out the vastly underrated EP by One Day as A Lion) and critics have written this band off as a nostalgic covers act but there is a real air of anticipation that you can feel as you walk into a very intimate Spark Arena.

DJ Lord is on the decks warming up the crowd with an eclectic mix of beats ending in a twisted version of Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit. The crowd is pumped and not just in the pit. All around people are standing, heads are banging as the lights burn red and Prophets of Rage take the stage.

From the opening silo of the self-titled Prophets of Rage, it is clear the band are fired up and they are all over the stage like an act half their age. Morello, in particular, is in amazing form and what follows is 90 minutes I will never forget.

It doesn't matter if only 4 of the 19 songs they blast through are new tracks. Prophets of Rage are more than the sum of their parts. We get to experience the magic that made their previous bands so special. There is no let-up, and this is the best atmosphere I have experienced at any gig.

One highlight is when we get a medley of Cypress Hill/Public Enemy Hand on The Pump/Can't Truss It/Insane in The Brain/Bring the Noise/I Ain't Going Out Like That/ Welcome to the Terrordome/Jump Around.

This is followed by Tom introducing adopted New Zealander Serj Tankian (SOAD) for an emotional version of Audioslave's Like A Stone.

Then it is back to business, Bullet in The Head, Rock Superstar, Unfuck The World - I just have a constant smile on my face as every person loses their shit all around me. The end, of course, is Killing in The Name and it's all over too soon.

Are Prophets of Rage relevant? Sure, we need more bands making a noise and taking a stance on issues as there is far too much apathy around but tonight just like when I first saw Rage Against the Machine it doesn't really matter. It's the music, the energy, the connection between band and audience. Life is about creating memories, and this is one that will stay with me 'til I die.



Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem