22 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP

27 Mar 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
So, what is it about Tauranga? This land of the newlyweds and the nearly-deads is fast becoming a hotbed of some serious underground post-punk hardcore goodness. The latest slab of noise being spewed forth on an unsuspecting region of retirees and ex-Jaffas is from Super Narco Man via their Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP. It's not strictly new as it is a re-vamped studio version of songs from the original EP, but don't worry, even with the added sheen, it hasn't lost any of its lo-fi energy or attitude.

The band have been around for a while and are signed to Muzai records in the UK. With tongues firmly planted in their cheeks, they have crafted a soundscape not too dissimilar to what goes through your mind when someone runs their nails down a chalkboard and it is awesome.

Opener Near Kill Experience, with its staccato guitar is an instant standout. This isn't easy listening, but it makes you listen. Next up is We All Suck But Love It, which comes on like Lysistrata having a jam with Heck. It's fast, relentless and mesmerizing in equal measure.

The beautifully titled Dick Noise, starts with a sound your stomach might make the morning after a heavy night but transforms into a snotty punk tirade. It's the longest song on here but also one of the most interesting with its changes in tempo this could be the closest the band get to exploring prog (Prong) rock territory. It must be insane seeing this performed live!

From the longest song to the shortest, Driving While Hungover Sux, is almost an interlude. Total Disdain and Audio Prostitute complete this 30 mins of aural pleasure. Super Narco Man are not for the faint of heart, they create a sound perfect for those moments when you just want to let go.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Super Narco Man

We had a jam one day, and then it just, like, happened, man.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Super Narco Man

Releases

Dank Mammoth Deluxe
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Dank Mammoth
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Super Narco Man
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem