24 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP

27 Mar 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
So, what is it about Tauranga? This land of the newlyweds and the nearly-deads is fast becoming a hotbed of some serious underground post-punk hardcore goodness. The latest slab of noise being spewed forth on an unsuspecting region of retirees and ex-Jaffas is from Super Narco Man via their Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP. It's not strictly new as it is a re-vamped studio version of songs from the original EP, but don't worry, even with the added sheen, it hasn't lost any of its lo-fi energy or attitude.

The band have been around for a while and are signed to Muzai records in the UK. With tongues firmly planted in their cheeks, they have crafted a soundscape not too dissimilar to what goes through your mind when someone runs their nails down a chalkboard and it is awesome.

Opener Near Kill Experience, with its staccato guitar is an instant standout. This isn't easy listening, but it makes you listen. Next up is We All Suck But Love It, which comes on like Lysistrata having a jam with Heck. It's fast, relentless and mesmerizing in equal measure.

The beautifully titled Dick Noise, starts with a sound your stomach might make the morning after a heavy night but transforms into a snotty punk tirade. It's the longest song on here but also one of the most interesting with its changes in tempo this could be the closest the band get to exploring prog (Prong) rock territory. It must be insane seeing this performed live!

From the longest song to the shortest, Driving While Hungover Sux, is almost an interlude. Total Disdain and Audio Prostitute complete this 30 mins of aural pleasure. Super Narco Man are not for the faint of heart, they create a sound perfect for those moments when you just want to let go.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Super Narco Man

We had a jam one day, and then it just, like, happened, man.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Super Narco Man

Releases

Dank Mammoth Deluxe
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Dank Mammoth
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Super Narco Man
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem