20 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP

27 Mar 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
So, what is it about Tauranga? This land of the newlyweds and the nearly-deads is fast becoming a hotbed of some serious underground post-punk hardcore goodness. The latest slab of noise being spewed forth on an unsuspecting region of retirees and ex-Jaffas is from Super Narco Man via their Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP. It's not strictly new as it is a re-vamped studio version of songs from the original EP, but don't worry, even with the added sheen, it hasn't lost any of its lo-fi energy or attitude.

The band have been around for a while and are signed to Muzai records in the UK. With tongues firmly planted in their cheeks, they have crafted a soundscape not too dissimilar to what goes through your mind when someone runs their nails down a chalkboard and it is awesome.

Opener Near Kill Experience, with its staccato guitar is an instant standout. This isn't easy listening, but it makes you listen. Next up is We All Suck But Love It, which comes on like Lysistrata having a jam with Heck. It's fast, relentless and mesmerizing in equal measure.

The beautifully titled Dick Noise, starts with a sound your stomach might make the morning after a heavy night but transforms into a snotty punk tirade. It's the longest song on here but also one of the most interesting with its changes in tempo this could be the closest the band get to exploring prog (Prong) rock territory. It must be insane seeing this performed live!

From the longest song to the shortest, Driving While Hungover Sux, is almost an interlude. Total Disdain and Audio Prostitute complete this 30 mins of aural pleasure. Super Narco Man are not for the faint of heart, they create a sound perfect for those moments when you just want to let go.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Super Narco Man

We had a jam one day, and then it just, like, happened, man.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Super Narco Man

Releases

Dank Mammoth Deluxe
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Dank Mammoth
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Super Narco Man
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem