19 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

So Below - EP Review: So Below

09 Mar 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, “A mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse”. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an “enigmatic songbird”. Her style of music is moody electro-pop, however on her self-titled EP there are a few, upbeat goth-pop moments. North has a refreshing and appealing sound which is rather unique. You may find this a pleasurable listening experience, if you are into synth- filled grooves. 

There are four tracks on So Below to whet your appetite; Madeline North has an almost sultry sound. You may interpret Goth to mean melancholy and moody, but this isn’t totally the case. I have previously described Close as a mismatch of lively instrumentals and dark lyrics, a similar vein runs through this EP, although perhaps not so much dark as brooding in the shadows.

So, as I scroll through articles and reviews during my quick early morning research reconnaissance, I see that a description has come forth of North's music which describes it perfectly “blending elements of light and dark” which indeed it is.

The track listing is short and sweet, starting with Hard, following up with Ruin and Close, then finishing with Visions.

Ruin had a depth of bass to it which wasn’t as pronounced in the other 3 tracks. Emotive lyrics make up the fabric of So Below with electronic / pop beats.
 

I would also like to mention the atmospheric new video which has just been released for Close; it complimented the song perfectly, uncomplicated but with a moody element. Shot at night and dare I say it… dark.

Madeline North has been picked as one to watch. I would definitely be keeping an eye on her.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About So Below

Since making her musical debut with her single Drift and attracting over 100,000 SoundCloud plays in just a few short months, So Below has become the mysterious goth pop chanteuse that everyone can’t stop talking about.

After leaving her native New Zealand, Madeline North began exploring her vocal talents inspired by her new surroundings. Layering heavily processed vocals and harmonies over simple yet dark laptop beats, North began to formulate her style into what would so uniquely become So Below. Wanting to carry on this darker, moodier style of electro-pop, North reached out to fellow Kiwi musicians Aaron Short (The Naked And Famous), Sam McCarthy (Kids Of 88) and Leroy Clampitt (Taste Nasa) to help her produce her demos and ultimately complete what has become her debut self-titled EP.

Having a combined 1 million plays on Spotify, 300,000+ plays on SoundCloud, the support of notable sites such as i-D, HillyDilly and Neon Gold and receiving high rotation on New Zealand radio, So Below is poised to be one of 2017’s artists to watch. Don’t say you weren’t warned…

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for So Below

Releases

II
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem