16 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

So Below - EP Review: So Below

09 Mar 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, “A mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse”. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an “enigmatic songbird”. Her style of music is moody electro-pop, however on her self-titled EP there are a few, upbeat goth-pop moments. North has a refreshing and appealing sound which is rather unique. You may find this a pleasurable listening experience, if you are into synth- filled grooves. 

There are four tracks on So Below to whet your appetite; Madeline North has an almost sultry sound. You may interpret Goth to mean melancholy and moody, but this isn’t totally the case. I have previously described Close as a mismatch of lively instrumentals and dark lyrics, a similar vein runs through this EP, although perhaps not so much dark as brooding in the shadows.

So, as I scroll through articles and reviews during my quick early morning research reconnaissance, I see that a description has come forth of North's music which describes it perfectly “blending elements of light and dark” which indeed it is.

The track listing is short and sweet, starting with Hard, following up with Ruin and Close, then finishing with Visions.

Ruin had a depth of bass to it which wasn’t as pronounced in the other 3 tracks. Emotive lyrics make up the fabric of So Below with electronic / pop beats.
 

I would also like to mention the atmospheric new video which has just been released for Close; it complimented the song perfectly, uncomplicated but with a moody element. Shot at night and dare I say it… dark.

Madeline North has been picked as one to watch. I would definitely be keeping an eye on her.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About So Below

Since making her musical debut with her single Drift and attracting over 100,000 SoundCloud plays in just a few short months, So Below has become the mysterious goth pop chanteuse that everyone can’t stop talking about.

After leaving her native New Zealand, Madeline North began exploring her vocal talents inspired by her new surroundings. Layering heavily processed vocals and harmonies over simple yet dark laptop beats, North began to formulate her style into what would so uniquely become So Below. Wanting to carry on this darker, moodier style of electro-pop, North reached out to fellow Kiwi musicians Aaron Short (The Naked And Famous), Sam McCarthy (Kids Of 88) and Leroy Clampitt (Taste Nasa) to help her produce her demos and ultimately complete what has become her debut self-titled EP.

Having a combined 1 million plays on Spotify, 300,000+ plays on SoundCloud, the support of notable sites such as i-D, HillyDilly and Neon Gold and receiving high rotation on New Zealand radio, So Below is poised to be one of 2017’s artists to watch. Don’t say you weren’t warned…

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for So Below

Releases

II
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings
26 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric video; Somethings. The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem