20 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Clap Clap Riot - Gig Review: Clap Clap Riot @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 23/02/2018

08 Mar 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
Clap Clap Riot have one of the best band names. I knew of them for years without ever hearing any of the music. They are one of those acts I have always wanted to see but whenever they are playing some weird force intervenes and scuppers my plans. It almost happened again this time, but I made it just in time to witness one of the best shows I have seen in a while.

The band have been around for a long time and I must admit I hadn't bought any of their records (I have now) so my exposure to them was limited to snippets on the radio. I was expecting a tight set from a band with this much experience but what I didn't expect was to see a band playing with an energy and passion that should have dissipated after 10 years of performing and recording.

It didn't matter that I didn't really know the songs (most of the crowd did) I just got swept up in the energy and performance. This is music that makes you smile, makes you want to dance and was just what I needed after a shitty day. Stephen Heard has a great voice, it isn't one that stands out for any other reason than it just fits perfectly with the songs. Guitarist Dave Rowlands makes things look effortless and fun and I just can't believe it has taken so long for me to catch up and see why this band are so special.

There is no pretentiousness unlike many of the bands that grace the stage at Whammy, there is attitude but of the fun kind and most of all, there is a band that blasts through a set of energetic Pop/Rock with a reckless abandon that left me grinning as I walked out onto K Road. What more could you ask for?


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Clap Clap Riot

Clap Clap Riot will soon be known as the hottest NZ indie-rock band of 2009….five extremely catchy tracks packed with dueling guitar riffs, heavy hitting drums and powerful vocals giving the songs a lot of substance…" Groove Guide

"Overall verdict? Standing ovation from me..." The Press

"Five bristling songs, 14 minutes . . . doesn't get much tighter than that…" Graham Reid of Elsewhere.co.nz

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Clap Clap Riot

Releases

Nobody/Everybody
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Counting Spins
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Yoko Ono
Year: 2011
Type: EP
TV Knows Better
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem