15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Clap Clap Riot - Gig Review: Clap Clap Riot @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 23/02/2018

08 Mar 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
Clap Clap Riot have one of the best band names. I knew of them for years without ever hearing any of the music. They are one of those acts I have always wanted to see but whenever they are playing some weird force intervenes and scuppers my plans. It almost happened again this time, but I made it just in time to witness one of the best shows I have seen in a while.

The band have been around for a long time and I must admit I hadn't bought any of their records (I have now) so my exposure to them was limited to snippets on the radio. I was expecting a tight set from a band with this much experience but what I didn't expect was to see a band playing with an energy and passion that should have dissipated after 10 years of performing and recording.

It didn't matter that I didn't really know the songs (most of the crowd did) I just got swept up in the energy and performance. This is music that makes you smile, makes you want to dance and was just what I needed after a shitty day. Stephen Heard has a great voice, it isn't one that stands out for any other reason than it just fits perfectly with the songs. Guitarist Dave Rowlands makes things look effortless and fun and I just can't believe it has taken so long for me to catch up and see why this band are so special.

There is no pretentiousness unlike many of the bands that grace the stage at Whammy, there is attitude but of the fun kind and most of all, there is a band that blasts through a set of energetic Pop/Rock with a reckless abandon that left me grinning as I walked out onto K Road. What more could you ask for?


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Clap Clap Riot

Clap Clap Riot will soon be known as the hottest NZ indie-rock band of 2009….five extremely catchy tracks packed with dueling guitar riffs, heavy hitting drums and powerful vocals giving the songs a lot of substance…" Groove Guide

"Overall verdict? Standing ovation from me..." The Press

"Five bristling songs, 14 minutes . . . doesn't get much tighter than that…" Graham Reid of Elsewhere.co.nz

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Clap Clap Riot

Releases

Nobody/Everybody
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Counting Spins
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Yoko Ono
Year: 2011
Type: EP
TV Knows Better
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem