26 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Clap Clap Riot - Gig Review: Clap Clap Riot @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 23/02/2018

08 Mar 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
Clap Clap Riot have one of the best band names. I knew of them for years without ever hearing any of the music. They are one of those acts I have always wanted to see but whenever they are playing some weird force intervenes and scuppers my plans. It almost happened again this time, but I made it just in time to witness one of the best shows I have seen in a while.

The band have been around for a long time and I must admit I hadn't bought any of their records (I have now) so my exposure to them was limited to snippets on the radio. I was expecting a tight set from a band with this much experience but what I didn't expect was to see a band playing with an energy and passion that should have dissipated after 10 years of performing and recording.

It didn't matter that I didn't really know the songs (most of the crowd did) I just got swept up in the energy and performance. This is music that makes you smile, makes you want to dance and was just what I needed after a shitty day. Stephen Heard has a great voice, it isn't one that stands out for any other reason than it just fits perfectly with the songs. Guitarist Dave Rowlands makes things look effortless and fun and I just can't believe it has taken so long for me to catch up and see why this band are so special.

There is no pretentiousness unlike many of the bands that grace the stage at Whammy, there is attitude but of the fun kind and most of all, there is a band that blasts through a set of energetic Pop/Rock with a reckless abandon that left me grinning as I walked out onto K Road. What more could you ask for?


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Clap Clap Riot

Clap Clap Riot will soon be known as the hottest NZ indie-rock band of 2009….five extremely catchy tracks packed with dueling guitar riffs, heavy hitting drums and powerful vocals giving the songs a lot of substance…" Groove Guide

"Overall verdict? Standing ovation from me..." The Press

"Five bristling songs, 14 minutes . . . doesn't get much tighter than that…" Graham Reid of Elsewhere.co.nz

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Clap Clap Riot

Releases

Nobody/Everybody
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Counting Spins
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Yoko Ono
Year: 2011
Type: EP
TV Knows Better
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Dirty Orlean
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
She Loves You are one of the most exciting bands in New Zealand right now. Their first show back in 2014 was a sell out and it has been an upward trajectory for them since then.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem