4 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Clap Clap Riot - Gig Review: Clap Clap Riot @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 23/02/2018

08 Mar 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
Clap Clap Riot have one of the best band names. I knew of them for years without ever hearing any of the music. They are one of those acts I have always wanted to see but whenever they are playing some weird force intervenes and scuppers my plans. It almost happened again this time, but I made it just in time to witness one of the best shows I have seen in a while.

The band have been around for a long time and I must admit I hadn't bought any of their records (I have now) so my exposure to them was limited to snippets on the radio. I was expecting a tight set from a band with this much experience but what I didn't expect was to see a band playing with an energy and passion that should have dissipated after 10 years of performing and recording.

It didn't matter that I didn't really know the songs (most of the crowd did) I just got swept up in the energy and performance. This is music that makes you smile, makes you want to dance and was just what I needed after a shitty day. Stephen Heard has a great voice, it isn't one that stands out for any other reason than it just fits perfectly with the songs. Guitarist Dave Rowlands makes things look effortless and fun and I just can't believe it has taken so long for me to catch up and see why this band are so special.

There is no pretentiousness unlike many of the bands that grace the stage at Whammy, there is attitude but of the fun kind and most of all, there is a band that blasts through a set of energetic Pop/Rock with a reckless abandon that left me grinning as I walked out onto K Road. What more could you ask for?


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Clap Clap Riot

Clap Clap Riot will soon be known as the hottest NZ indie-rock band of 2009….five extremely catchy tracks packed with dueling guitar riffs, heavy hitting drums and powerful vocals giving the songs a lot of substance…" Groove Guide

"Overall verdict? Standing ovation from me..." The Press

"Five bristling songs, 14 minutes . . . doesn't get much tighter than that…" Graham Reid of Elsewhere.co.nz

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Clap Clap Riot

Releases

Nobody/Everybody
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Counting Spins
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Yoko Ono
Year: 2011
Type: EP
TV Knows Better
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem