23 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

April Fish - Album Review: An Alien Invaded The Circus

28 Feb 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I rubbed my hands together in glee at the thought of reviewing this CD. Sometimes something so unique and strangely alluring beckons you to it which you are powerless to resist. Weird, quirky and unusual are my inclination. April Fish is all of that. Not mass marketed and manufactured or in any way mundane. Bizarre, just the way I like it.  But I understand that for some, listening to this album will be like fingernails down a black board.

April Fish from Wellington consists of two creative people, first is Katie Morton who “handles the vocals and various keyboards” and second is John Costa on guitar(s). April Fish is the name which Katie uses for their original music that isn’t part of other projects; in a very clever play on words as they have dedicated April the 1st to be April Fish day.  


In an effort to continuously drive that stake into the heart of mainstream music; this band continues to tread a path, many may fear to go. They have previously said that not even they could describe their sound. This latest offering from the duo may be a bit sci-fi, chamber with a touch of carnival or perhaps melodrama. Others might just say odd.

This album is for nonconformists, and renegades who bulk at conventional popular culture seeping into our brains under the disguise of music. It is for those individuals who probably totally “get” this music and will philosophise about it for years to come.   

So, this brings me to aliens. And an extraordinary but rather beautiful CD cover. The album April Fish has released is called An Alien Invaded the Circus. I was sent a physical copy of this CD, so I could fully appreciate the artistic design and creative concept of the mirror effect on the front cover. I am so glad they decided I had to see that, because I am like a magpie and colourful shiny things catch my attention. Cover art is by Zephyr, and it is a joy to behold - it fits nicely with the quirky music it is wrapped around. I also found a teeny tiny alien on the inside of this shiny music holding receptacle, attention to detail has made it one of the coolest looking CD covers I own. But I have a sneaky feeling there are ambiguous messages in that cover somewhere.

So, what is the music actually like? I hear you cry. To sum up the whole album in my humble opinion you feel like you have been transported to a side show carnival or to be totally un-PC, a freak show. A theatrical edge and creepy whimsical lyrics add a dramatic feel, whilst brooding guitar mixed with chamber music style piano makes for a completely unique listening experience. 

I had two songs which stuck in my head and made me go hmmm. Tracks number three, Carrot & Stick and number ten, The Main Attraction (feat. The Klaus Vermillion Quartet). That is hmmm I will listen to that again and again just to make sure I like it, not hmmm I think I will run away screaming.

The mix of Warr Guitar, Double Bass, keyboard and other added instruments in various tracks kind of complimented each other, and at the end of the day the album started to make sense to me, maybe I have turned into a musical renegade, a lover of those melodic delights which fly under the radar. 


There may have been an alien sitting on my shoulder trying to decipher the meaning of this album to me, but I don’t think I fully appreciated what he was saying. I hope I got the general vibe and if you like fringe, bizarre, distinctive, Baroque, quirky and extraordinary music, then you are going to love An Alien Invaded the Circus.

4/5 Stars


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About April Fish

A name born from the literal translation of the French term for "April Fools (day)", April Fish is pianist/singer-songwriter Katie Morton ably backed by John Costa. The music is a concoction of soundscapes with an artistic freedom that is so left of the middle, it's as if Tim Burton and Kate Bush are in command of the Starship Enterprise as it boldly accompanies Alice down the rabbit hole. Or put simply, to borrow the words of Katie's niece: "It sounds like an alien invading a circus."

In their first full length release they have given birth to a Kiwi album unlike anything you’ve ever heard before.

Part sci-fi jazz melodrama, part cabaret-rock fever dream, Blurred gleefully milks all the musical sacred cows Kiwi artists have traditionally been afraid to, while spawning a unique New Zealand Gothicism. Blurred is at some points space opera, at others an unapologetic insight into New Zealand subculture attitudes towards status quo art; its poignant introspection and need to defy convention.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for April Fish

Releases

An Alien Invaded The Circus
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Blurred
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Following on from this will be a nationwide tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem