17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Summer Underground Tour @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 23/02/2018

24 Feb 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Venturing back into Totara St for the first rock gig of 2018, was like revisiting a familiar friend. A sense of dejavu engulfed me as I was greeted by Coridian at the door, but something was missing. As time passed and people started to gather to form a small but eager crowd, I couldn't help but notice the absence of our Nambasa Man or Barry, perhaps he was at Splore but the energetic dancing void had to be filled by someone, and I don't know if any of us apart from Dity has that kind of energy.

As the moments ticked by, we all waited eagerly for the first band Curlys Jewels from Wellington to start. Despite Andy the bass player having gall stones and medication to ease the terrible pain he must have been in, they took to the stage and kicked off a rocking start to the evening with P Whistle. Andy gave a stellar performance under the circumstances and got through the set without collapsing in a heap on the floor. That, my friends, is dedication. The band gave a good solid performance, straight forward rock n roll, with lead vocalist Janelle Pollock trying to woo the tough crowd with her charisma and smiles. I am sorry I didn't know more about Curlys Jewels music to make a clear assumption on what the playlist was, but I did send my not so under cover photographer friend out into the crowd to try and get a sneaky shot of it on stage, which he did an awesome job doing, so I know Sneaky was the last song played. These guys are doing great things out there in the NZ music world, so I am going to make it my mission to get to know their music better.

An enjoyable start that segwayed into Checaine, a melodic / progressive rock band from Hamilton. These guys appeared to be a crowd favourite, people tentatively gathering closer to the stage, and the atmosphere took on a more energetic vibe when the band launched into a dynamic and lively set starting with Moth to The Flame. Apart from trying to woo the female punters with a song dedicated to the ladies, which kind of slowed things down half a notch, they played a brilliant set which included Symbols and Time Bomb. Delivering an impressive stage presence, Fraser Coombes knows how to work a crowd and he tried his best. Checiane delivered a vigorous and clean performance. Head nodding threatening to turn to moshing at any second.

And then came Coridian. Three Ravens and a Dity from Auckland, delivering a dynamic performance on the most part. The beginning of the set didn't seem to grab the crowd's enthusiasm for hitting the dance floor for some reason with Nonetheless kicking things off, but after they had played Reflections (a personal fav), they really went to town, Dity and The Ravens' delivering a powerful, tireless and enthusiastic performance, ending with crowd favourite Blind Faith and a stunning version of Wicked Game. Vocal, fireball powerhouse is a good description of Coridian's lead singer, which I nabbed off their Facebook page, because I couldn't have said it better myself. Mike, Kris, Nick and Dity gave us a genuine high energy performance and having reviewed and photographed their work for over a year now, I have seen them add polish and extra enthusiasm to their set.

Animalhead from West Auckland finished off the night with a shred fest and Beastie Boys style vocals. High octane Rage Against the Machine sounding band that finally got the remaining crowd really trying hard to release their inner dancer. I apologise at this point to the boys, because, I was getting into the groove but had to leave a bit early due to a pesky cold, threatening a head explosion. Nobody wants that. However, I did make it through most of Animalhead's set and I must say, I was impressed. Dan Rooke on drums put on a vigorous performance not only going hell to leather on the drums but also adding to the vocals. These guys are not only entertaining but took that energy level to the next well...level.

The opinions expressed in this review are my personal opinions only (and maybe a few from those I cross-examined), and because the world is made up of many different people with many different opinions, what others experienced on the night may differ from how I have described it, and that is OK. It was another great evening down at Totara St, with awesome music and good friends. And I got out without my head exploding. You can't ask for more than that.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem