20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scorn Of Creation - Album Review: Scorn of Creation

23 Feb 2018 // A review by Terry McIntosh

To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene. The members have been in bands such as Bulletbelt, Backyard Burial, Depths and The Dauntless. Each of them are extremely accomplished musicians and here they have produced a technical piece that covers all the intricacies of Death metal. In a lot of ways this appears to be a somewhat tribute or homage to the roots of Death Metal and, with that in mind, no two songs sound the same. There is a common sound, so they do have their own identity, but it explores and reminds you of what you love about Death Metal in the first place.

Seth Jackson is outstanding on guitar and not only are there some smashing riffs that pulverise your skull, there’s plenty of burning leads that leave you seared and blistered. I’ve seen him in a few bands in the past and he has always impressed me and once again he has more than delivered. Kris Gillan has the voice of a demon lord and provides a fitting accompaniment to the chaos below. Shaun Anderson is a machine on drums and smashes it as he always does - there aren’t many drummers in New Zealand as talented as Shaun. Every band needs its backbone and George Prowse comes to the party, providing solid riffs to pull it all together. Just when you think it can’t get any better two of my favourite singers get in on the act with Dan Birrell from Carnal and Jolene Tempest both making appearances.

Stand out tracks to me were Rebirth (The Promise of Pain to Come), Dante (Traversing the Unknown), The New Crown and Rebellion Unleashed. Oh hell, that’s half the album oops well I did really dig this album.

Fans of Morbid Angel, Death, Cannibal Corpse and Deicide should buy this album - it will reignite your passion for Death Metal again. For me, when my fingers start to twitch, my head starts to nod and the blood starts rushing, nothing beats it. This is the power of music in its rawest form.


Review written by Terry McIntosh

 

About Scorn Of Creation

Scorn Of Creation are a Death Metal band hailing from Wellington.

Debut album out NOW!


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scorn Of Creation

Releases

Scorn of Creation
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Terry McIntosh

Ravenhall - Single/Video Review: Straight Up
12 Oct 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
Straight Up is the latest single and video from Ravenhall - Auckland based duo Chris Brebner and Joe Ravenhall. From my understanding these guys have been in multiple bands together over the years and they have performed as Ravenhall for around 5 years.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and His Motley Crew - Single Review: The Little Things
25 Aug 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
I first came across Captain Festus McBoyle when he appeared on a television show performing a track Cheeky Little Monkey. Having enjoyed that track immensely, I had a little hunt and came across many other tracks from this hugely talented man.
Read More...
Eight Eyed Orchid - Single Review: Petrichor
12 Aug 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
Eight Eyed Orchid have released their first single of the forthcoming EP One By One And Two By Two, Petrichor. This is a solid track brimming with explosive energy.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by Terry McIntosh
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
Album Review: While The Swamp Rocks Compilation
13 Jun 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
$lave Collective has been bringing together local talent for a very long time and regularly put out compilations covering all genres. 19 tracks from pop rock to metal down to a country sounding ditty.
Read More...
Album Review: Daniel Ashcroft
10 May 2017 // by Terry McIntosh
6 EPs of varying style combined as a double album. Daniel Ashcroft is a very talented man and this is not his first release but it is as a solo artist where he truly shines.
Read More...
View All Articles By Terry McIntosh

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem