20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Cattle Decapitation @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 8/02/2018

21 Feb 2018 // A review by Matt McGrath

Thursday nights are always a good night to go out if you live in Auckland, with most international acts 'fitting us in' on their Australian tour nowadays, even a show this close to the weekend is a blessing. San Diego death metal giants, Cattle Decapitation had shown up to the iconic Kings Arms and the line to the was stretched out into the street. A packed venue added to the atmosphere, and I was more than ready to see four of the heaviest bands around, back to back, in one place.

First, to destroy the stage was local favourites Silent Torture, with a couple of line-up changes recently, I was eager to see these guys in their new form. Not disappointing at all, these guys roused the crowd with their usual displays of savage riffs and with some added new solo work. Coming out swinging, they absolutely awoke the crowd and lit the night right up, a perfect build-up for what was about to go down.

New kids on the block Scorn of Creation punched in closely behind with a sudden attack of brutality and deathly blast beats these guys clearly ruled. With vocals that reminded me of Aborted and a savage stage presence. The rumours I had heard were obviously true. My first time experiencing this band was a definite success and I was keen to check out their self-titled, debut album immediately the next day.

The next band up Organectomy, interested me particularly because they had recently been signed to none other than, Unique Leader Records, a very famous label supporting such bands as Disgorge, Psycroptic and Rings of Saturn. straight away I could see why, with a unique stage presence and sound but still sporting the very core of modern death, these guys took things to another level entirely. Humble but mean, humorous but ruthless the whole venue pulsated with energy. A definite must-see, before they get even further whipped away by the international market.

Headlining the night was the mighty Cattle Decapitation. Smashing out some of the most extreme progressive death that anyone has ever heard in their life! We had no choice but conform to our clandestine ways. Some of the best vocals in the business ranging from pig sequels to an almost operatic haunt, I watched as the faces melted around me. Their awesome rapid riff work and butcher hacking bottom end, I don't think anyone knew just what had hit them.

The perfect way to spend possibly my last gig at the Historical Kings Arms, it will be a sad day when this place goes. Freedom to experience and sometimes, even meet bands are what this place is known for. A true staple in the Auckland music scene. On a positive note, I was glad to see so many people here and what felt like a community united once again in the sickest possible way! 

5 Stars

Review written by Matt Mutinous

Silent Torture Spotify Link 
Organectomy YouTube Link 
Scorn of Creation Spotify Link

 

Other Reviews By Matt McGrath

Stress - EP Review - Misery Fatigue
02 Dec 2018 // by Matt McGrath
A new addition to the scene, Wellington-based hardcore noise outfit Stress are about to launch their career with their debut release Misery Fatigue. Interested in what exactly that entailed, I was stoked to get a chance to have a sneak peek at this highly anticipated Kiwi band.
Read More...
Album Review - Shepherds Reign
15 Oct 2018 // by Matt McGrath
New Zealand is world renown for Polynesian musicians, groups like Deceptikonz, Nesian Mystik and Aaradhna are some of the first to come to mind. So, it was surprising to hear of a band breaking the mould and coming straight outta South Auckland into the Kiwi Metal scene.
Read More...
Heavy Blarney - Album Review - Bog to Swamp
08 May 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Released - 18th May 2018 When I first saw the title Bog to Swamp my imagination could only assume what kind of music was to follow. The second album from Palmerston North Celtic rockers, Heavy Blarney had grabbed my attention from the get-go and I was keen to find out just how this band sounded with such a unique blend of music styles, rarely attempted these days.
Read More...
Depths - Album Review: Endless
10 Mar 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Release Date: April 13th, 2018 Picked up by Deadboy Records in late 2011, Depths have hit the ground running, adding a new angle to the New Zealand Metal scene and bringing a fresh sound to the table. Presumably named after the album from US deathcore band, Oceano, Depths has managed to draw an international style of death metal from the comforts of Palmerston North.
Read More...
EP Review: Rise of Destructatron
15 Feb 2018 // by Matt McGrath
Countdown... to...
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Yot Club, Raglan - 06/01/2018
08 Jan 2018 // by Matt McGrath
The sun finally decided to make an appearance over Raglan on Saturday afternoon, following two days of chaos weather and king tides that flooded most of the country. Tourists returned with the warmth as the campground began to fill up, the sun slipped below the horizon almost as quickly as it appeared.
Read More...
Starving Millions - EP Review: V
02 Sep 2017 // by Matt McGrath
Good punk in this country has always been few and far between. Ducking in and out of the spotlight, the well-known acts of the New Zealand scene have been the ones that have powered on.
Read More...
Gig Review: Angelcorpse @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 26/07/2017
06 Aug 2017 // by Matt McGrath
Mid week gigs are always the hardest choice for most music fans, but it's not often at all that a band like this comes to town. Angelcorpse had been a big part of the Tampa death metal scene in the late 90's, so I decided to take my good friend and fellow musician, Nik Davies along, to try and catch a glimpse of the good old days of American death metal.
Read More...
View All Articles By Matt McGrath

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem