22 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U

16 Feb 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise. Unraveling the mystery, it turns out EDY is an up-and-coming young music production and audio engineer from Auckland, Chris Bates is a singer/ songwriter based on the North Shore (not a female EDM artist), and they have been collaborating on this track.

Chris has been writing and performing acoustic pop songs around the city since the age of thirteen, he is influenced by musical artists such as John Mayer, Ed Sheeran and Justin Bieber and these influences show in Here 4 U.

In 2015 Chris was recognised with the Pat Mcminn Rising Star Award from the Variety Artists Club of New Zealand. He is also a winner of the Parachute Song Grant.

Primarily aimed at the younger generation and with a pop vibe, Here 4 U is a catchy track with its sights set firmly on radio stations such as The Edge and ZM. I can even hear the Bieber vibe on this track.

It is essentially a peppy love song, well mixed and well written. Bubbling with effervescence and highly polished.

Chris has been recording music to be released early next year and I predict he will do rather well with those of a slightly more youthful exuberance.
 

4/5 star rating


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Single/Video Review: Better Days
27 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based multi-instrumentalist Sam Loveridge has released his debut single Better Days, prior to his album Clarity which is due to follow at the end of March. Sam's solo debut is also accompanied by a humorous video written/directed by Loren Black and edited by Jamie Crerar.
Read More...
Li'l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine - Album Review - Mono
25 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent Christchurch based multi-instrumentalist Li’l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine, has just released his third album Mono. David Thorpe (aka Li’l Chuck) shines on this album, fourteen tracks of pure nostalgic blues, early jazz and ragtime recorded at Sugar Ray’s Vintage Recording Studio, in Essex, UK.
Read More...
George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem