21 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U

16 Feb 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise. Unraveling the mystery, it turns out EDY is an up-and-coming young music production and audio engineer from Auckland, Chris Bates is a singer/ songwriter based on the North Shore (not a female EDM artist), and they have been collaborating on this track.

Chris has been writing and performing acoustic pop songs around the city since the age of thirteen, he is influenced by musical artists such as John Mayer, Ed Sheeran and Justin Bieber and these influences show in Here 4 U.

In 2015 Chris was recognised with the Pat Mcminn Rising Star Award from the Variety Artists Club of New Zealand. He is also a winner of the Parachute Song Grant.

Primarily aimed at the younger generation and with a pop vibe, Here 4 U is a catchy track with its sights set firmly on radio stations such as The Edge and ZM. I can even hear the Bieber vibe on this track.

It is essentially a peppy love song, well mixed and well written. Bubbling with effervescence and highly polished.

Chris has been recording music to be released early next year and I predict he will do rather well with those of a slightly more youthful exuberance.
 

4/5 star rating


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Bailey Wiley - Single Review: Between The Lines
15 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based RnB sensation with the breath-taking soulful voice; Bailey Wiley has just released her latest single Between The Lines. This track gives fans a glimpse inside Bailey's mind as she falls in love.
Read More...
Jan Hellriegel - Album Review: Sportsman Of The Year
06 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Jan Hellriegel is somewhat of an NZ musical icon, Songwriter, performer, producer, music publisher, copyright expert, mother and now author she has a name many of us of a certain age would have heard of. Her latest body of work Sportsman Of The Year appears to be a defining moment in not only her musical life, but also her personal one.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters and James Wilkinson - Single Review: Spaces Between Words
25 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Nelson based singer songwriter Jacquie Walters is about to release an alluring new single Spaces Between Words, featuring James Wilkinson on bass and Jacquie on guitar and vocals. Jacquie and James have shared many musical memories spanning over 25 years.
Read More...
Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem