27 Jan 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Sutton - Album Review: Binary

08 Feb 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it. This sounded like my cup of green tea, so I eagerly waited with the anticipation that comes from receiving an actual physical CD in the mail.

The enigma which is David Sutton has pumped out 6 albums ranging back to 2009; it is unusual that he has done all this rather elusively and without any media fanfare. He can be found however on YouTube which is just as well. I needed to know what I was dealing with.

Social media was kind enough to give me a lead that he is originally from Essex in the UK and now lives in Wellington. But I only got that from stalking.

So now to Binary, how does it compare to his other albums?  

Having a bit of a meander through previous albums brings me to the conclusion that David sounds like Bob Dylan crossed with Madness (the band, not the state of mind) his latest offering still has that vibe to it, however a couple of tracks point to madness (the state of mind, not the band).

One track in particular Live Song has rather unique lyrics… I don’t think he liked his audience; he wanted to chop them up and yank off their heads. It is a catchy tune, though maybe a touch repetitive which can be overlooked in favour of the genius macabre lyrics. I can mentally vision drunken Uni students in Palmy singing and swaying along.

Track number 0100 (all tracks are listed in Binary code), is my favourite on the album, it goes by the name ofL.S.D (The Pain Is On My Mind). I have never been on this particular hallucinogenic substance, but I will describe this song as slightly trippy with a nice base tone to it and another track with a captivating hook.

There appears to be more than one Sutton who has worked on this album and all bar two of the songs were written by David. Adrian MacKenzie co-wrote Here We Go and Live Song.

This album is a mix of weird and wonderful, strange yet alluring, raw and perhaps slightly annoying. And if you take a good look at the CD cover, you will notice that it is in fact very clever.

I loved it. If you are looking to find some unconventional alternative and individual music, then this may be just what you are looking for.   

4/5 star rating


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 
 

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton

Releases

Upside-Down World
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Binary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
V
Year: 2016
Type: Album
40
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Cheese
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Remember
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Sail Across The Sky
15 Jan 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga based singer/songwriter; Brendan McCarthy from Apollo SteamTrain has just released his first new offering of 2020 with the single Sail Across The Sky. This is a beautiful acoustic love ballad which speaks of the reality of being in a long term relationship.
Read More...
The AJ Crawshaw Band - Single Review: The Lightning
18 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Well-established Kapiti based singer and writer, AJ Crawshaw and his band have just released a thought-provoking new single The Lightning. A motivational pop infused rock track about living life and connecting with what makes you feel alive.
Read More...
Album Review: DateMonthYear
16 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hamilton five-piece self-proclaimed “independent music bohemians” DateMonthYear have just released their ten track self-titled album. A lush atmospheric body of work that moves from one track to the next with graceful fluidity.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: What Comes Around
04 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young four piece breakthrough Kiwi Punk Rock band Sit Down In Front (SDIF) from Gisborne have just released their eagerly anticipated single What Comes Around. The lads who keep it “hard, fast and catchy”, writing about everyday stuff have delivered another gutsy punk number to warm the cockles of NZ punk rockers from one end of the country to the other.
Read More...
Matthew J.Ruys - Single Review: Rainbows
02 Dec 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Award winning Kiwi veteran, LA based recording artist Matthew J. Ruys has released the brand new bright and funky single Rainbows, just in time for those feel good summer vibes.
Read More...
Shana Grace - Album Review: Rinse And Repeat
28 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based singer-songwriter Shana Grace has just released her debut full length album Rinse And Repeat. With the help from a year long crowd funding campaign, emerges ten beautifully constructed songs of lyrical storytelling.
Read More...
George After James - Single Review: In Your Hands (You Won’t Let Go)
25 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
George After James is the project of James Fistonich. Based in Auckland, he is a guitarist and singer who just released his debut single, In Your Hands (You Won’t Let Go) along with an announcement of his self-titled EP due for release in January 2020.
Read More...
Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Glory
19 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand singer songwriter Hannah Curwood of alternative post-punk band Hannah In The Wars, has released a new single called Glory. Hannah has an impressive body of work, both solo and with her band.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem