23 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Sutton - Album Review: Binary

08 Feb 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it. This sounded like my cup of green tea, so I eagerly waited with the anticipation that comes from receiving an actual physical CD in the mail.

The enigma which is David Sutton has pumped out 6 albums ranging back to 2009; it is unusual that he has done all this rather elusively and without any media fanfare. He can be found however on YouTube which is just as well. I needed to know what I was dealing with.

Social media was kind enough to give me a lead that he is originally from Essex in the UK and now lives in Wellington. But I only got that from stalking.

So now to Binary, how does it compare to his other albums?  

Having a bit of a meander through previous albums brings me to the conclusion that David sounds like Bob Dylan crossed with Madness (the band, not the state of mind) his latest offering still has that vibe to it, however a couple of tracks point to madness (the state of mind, not the band).

One track in particular Live Song has rather unique lyrics… I don’t think he liked his audience; he wanted to chop them up and yank off their heads. It is a catchy tune, though maybe a touch repetitive which can be overlooked in favour of the genius macabre lyrics. I can mentally vision drunken Uni students in Palmy singing and swaying along.

Track number 0100 (all tracks are listed in Binary code), is my favourite on the album, it goes by the name ofL.S.D (The Pain Is On My Mind). I have never been on this particular hallucinogenic substance, but I will describe this song as slightly trippy with a nice base tone to it and another track with a captivating hook.

There appears to be more than one Sutton who has worked on this album and all bar two of the songs were written by David. Adrian MacKenzie co-wrote Here We Go and Live Song.

This album is a mix of weird and wonderful, strange yet alluring, raw and perhaps slightly annoying. And if you take a good look at the CD cover, you will notice that it is in fact very clever.

I loved it. If you are looking to find some unconventional alternative and individual music, then this may be just what you are looking for.   

4/5 star rating


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 
 

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton

Releases

Binary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
V
Year: 2016
Type: Album
40
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Cheese
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Remember
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
Sky Canvas - Single Review: Fossil
09 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative Soul/hip hop 5 piece band Sky Canvas from Wellington, have released a funky new single Fossil - a rich bluesy beat infused with synth and accompanied by the strong soulful vocals of Katelin Little. Fossil is a jazzy number with a futuristic sound.
Read More...
Emma G - Single/Video Review: Superhero
08 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
I have loved Emma G from the moment I first reviewed her single King For A Day in 2017. She has a powerful voice which has the ability to transcend between genres effortlessly.
Read More...
Gig Review: Don McGlashan @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui - 20/09/2018
23 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Don McGlashan has a voice which is instantly recognisable to many Kiwis, formerly from bands such as The Mutton Birds, Blam Blam Blam, The Front Lawn and The Bellbirds among others. He is a talented multi-instrumentalist, composer and singer who has now gone solo and is wowing crowds up and down the country with his Free Flight tour.
Read More...
Mixed Vege - Single/Video Review: Take Take Take
20 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mixed Vege is an Auckland based band fronted by Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher. They have just released their debut single Take Take Take .
Read More...
Justin 'Firefly' Clarke - Single Review: Astral Tumbleweed
14 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Justin Firefly is a Master's Graduate of the New Zealand School of Music and seasoned guitarist based in Wellington. He has traversed the globe performing with such acts as The Woolshed Sessions, Fly My Pretties, Fat Freddy’s Drop and Jess Chambers and the Firefly Orchestra.
Read More...
Scott MCB - Single Review: That Day
10 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Scott MCB is a singer songwriter from Auckland. He has been busy developing his music style and has just released his latest single That Day along with his second video.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Input/Output
25 Aug 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi hip-hop artist JCK has just dropped a mean double album. Input/Output is 19 tracks of varying styles of hip-hop and rap which should be enough to satisfy even the most discerning hip-hop connoisseur.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem