15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Sutton - Album Review: Binary

08 Feb 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it. This sounded like my cup of green tea, so I eagerly waited with the anticipation that comes from receiving an actual physical CD in the mail.

The enigma which is David Sutton has pumped out 6 albums ranging back to 2009; it is unusual that he has done all this rather elusively and without any media fanfare. He can be found however on YouTube which is just as well. I needed to know what I was dealing with.

Social media was kind enough to give me a lead that he is originally from Essex in the UK and now lives in Wellington. But I only got that from stalking.

So now to Binary, how does it compare to his other albums?  

Having a bit of a meander through previous albums brings me to the conclusion that David sounds like Bob Dylan crossed with Madness (the band, not the state of mind) his latest offering still has that vibe to it, however a couple of tracks point to madness (the state of mind, not the band).

One track in particular Live Song has rather unique lyrics… I don’t think he liked his audience; he wanted to chop them up and yank off their heads. It is a catchy tune, though maybe a touch repetitive which can be overlooked in favour of the genius macabre lyrics. I can mentally vision drunken Uni students in Palmy singing and swaying along.

Track number 0100 (all tracks are listed in Binary code), is my favourite on the album, it goes by the name ofL.S.D (The Pain Is On My Mind). I have never been on this particular hallucinogenic substance, but I will describe this song as slightly trippy with a nice base tone to it and another track with a captivating hook.

There appears to be more than one Sutton who has worked on this album and all bar two of the songs were written by David. Adrian MacKenzie co-wrote Here We Go and Live Song.

This album is a mix of weird and wonderful, strange yet alluring, raw and perhaps slightly annoying. And if you take a good look at the CD cover, you will notice that it is in fact very clever.

I loved it. If you are looking to find some unconventional alternative and individual music, then this may be just what you are looking for.   

4/5 star rating


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 
 

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton

Releases

Upside-Down World
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Binary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
V
Year: 2016
Type: Album
40
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Cheese
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Remember
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
Sky Canvas - Single Review: Fossil
09 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative Soul/hip hop 5 piece band Sky Canvas from Wellington, have released a funky new single Fossil - a rich bluesy beat infused with synth and accompanied by the strong soulful vocals of Katelin Little. Fossil is a jazzy number with a futuristic sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem