17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: This Feeling

07 Feb 2018 // A review by ShelleySketch

If you’ve heard of Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff before then this is not a track you would have expected. This is such an upbeat dance track which is different from the music she has previously released such as Seven Seas and Heroes. But it is a good surprise. You can’t help but bop and move along to the track as it is catchy and fun. This Feeling came out at the right time as it is definitely a track for summer.

It appears they have chosen a lot of different instruments and samples to use which at first seem a bit overdone, but then mix together well. Marina’s voice is nearly at the same level as the music and is autotuned but it works well with the music. When listening to this track with headphones I found the music plays between both ears. This Feeling made me think of a mix of a few artists such as Kesha, The Veronicas and David Guetta.

This new track also makes me feel like I’m at a club and I’m sure this is a track that DJs should add to their list. Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff seem to be branching out and I would say This Feeling is a good start.

4/5 stars


Review written by Shelley Te Haara

 

About Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff

Marina Bloom and her band Moving Stuff are an experienced group of musicians of diverse backgrounds playing an eclectic blend of original songs.

Marina grew up in Russia singing and performing the traditional songs of her homeland. She continued singing after migrating to New Zealand. In the last couple of years she discovered songwriting and started collaborating with a local lyricist, Michael Davis and they’ve now penned over 60 songs, many of which have been recorded.

Her debut album When I Am Gone was released in Dec 2016 via New Zealand label Lost By Design. Currently getting a regular airplay on Radio NZ.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff

Releases

When I Am Gone
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By ShelleySketch

ABRZY - EP Review: Night Fall
11 Jul 2018 // by ShelleySketch
After interviewing ABRZY, I knew I had to be the one to review his brand-new EP Night Fall. This short EP consists of three tracks; his most recent single Top Down, which has been reviewed here, and two new previously unreleased tracks Night Fall kicks off with the enterprising track, Rock Your Body.
Read More...
Times x Two - EP Review: Late Night Legacy
26 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
Times x Two have been somewhat of a staple in the New Zealand festival scene for a while, but they have now stepped up and are showing NZ just how big they can be with the release of their new EP Late Night Legacy. The EP cover art is strong and regal, with Cader and Zee against a rich red background; somewhat of a reflection of the objective of the EP itself, as there are some solid tracks that are sure to blow up.
Read More...
Thomston - Single & Video Review: Acid Rain
25 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
Thomston has been rather absent from the public eye lately but decided to surprise us by releasing a new single and video for Acid Rain.  The single cover art has somewhat a very retro feel, thanks to the clothing choices of a metallic button up with cream pants used in the image.
Read More...
Janine - Album Review: 99
12 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
Kiwi songstress Janine has been hustling hard since jumping overseas and it seems to be paying off. After releasing a few singles in the lead up, her debut album 99 is finally here.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Galatos, Auckland - 02/06/2018
05 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
It’s a damp night, it was 8pm and the doors opened. The crowd began to pack in and I’ll admit there was more than I expected.
Read More...
Seth Haapu - Single Review: New Wave
03 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
In his first release since Volume II in 2107, Seth Haapu returns with his beautiful new singe New Wave. I’ve noticed Seth sticks to a theme of nature that has been a part of his previous releases and is a part of who he is.
Read More...
Mitch James - Single Review: 21
03 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
With his most recent single release in 2017, Mitch James has returned with a beautiful acoustic track entitled 21. The music is a simple accompaniment of a piano and a guitar, with what sounds like a finger snap or clap.
Read More...
Gig Review: Josh Leys @ Mt Eden Village Centre, Auckland - 18/05/2018
02 Jun 2018 // by ShelleySketch
As part of NZ Music Month, Auckland local Josh Leys played an intimate show at Mt Eden Village Centre. The atmosphere made me feel a bit like I was at a school dance.
Read More...
View All Articles By ShelleySketch

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem