23 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Santa Barbara - Single Review: Marianne's Dark Eyes

01 Feb 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I love Santa Barbara. I am lucky enough to visit there once a year and it's a funky little town about two hours from LA LA Land with a laid-back vibe and it also knows how to get down and dirty on a weekend.

It has its share of celebrities and movie stars along with plenty of that California sunshine but like most towns, there is a dark side. Something just below the surface that eats away despite the sunshine and smiles.

Nick and Cassie Gaffaney along with Geoff Maddock are also a group of Kiwi's who I assume love Santa Barbara so much they named their band after the place. Their latest single Marianne's Dark Eyes definitely has that summer vibe but the subject matter is a person dealing with depression. That darkness just below the surface eating away.

On first listen I can imagine walking along Santa Barbara Pier with this blasting on my headphones or maybe Darla Bea spinning it on one of her many DJ nights at Santa Barbara's beachfront hotels, people dancing and smiling, forgetting about the things that are getting them down. From the first refrain you will be hooked and like all good music, this song transports you to another place.

Not everyone suffers from depression but we have all been there at some point. On the outside no one would know but on the inside the light is going out. It could be a difficult subject for a pop song but Cassie is a great writer. This is pop with a twist of lemon. A little bit of acid. It will make you dance. It will stick in your head and make you smile. Listen to the lyrics though and you will know, just like Marianne we need moments like this to keep the dark away.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara is what happens when 3 Kiwis move to LA and discover a mutual love of 60's influenced pop/rock. Lead by Cassie Gaffaney on guitar and vocals the band formed in the Valley in late 2014 when Cass and her husband Nick met up with their good friend from NZ Geoff Maddock the 3 of them decided a band would be the best way to pass the time in a new country.

Santa Barbara is definitely about making music that suits a party but the underlying vibe has a depth and passion displayed through beautiful harmonies and sophisticated arrangements. Its surf rock/doo wop/guitar pop for the 21st century from New Zealand via Los Angeles.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Santa Barbara

Releases

There are no releases to display for Santa Barbara.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected.
Read More...
EP Review: Ghost Who Walks
21 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
This debut EP from Wellington’s Ghost Who Walks comes hot on the electro-plasmic coat tails of the latest single released, Walking Talking Blues. Vertigo is the opener here and is a blues 'n' funk-tinged blast with more than a hint of soul that will get you dancing.
Read More...
Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
My heart is racing. Not sure if that’s a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Auckland’s Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000’s, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem