22 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bleeders - Gig Review: Bleeders @ House of Vans, Shed 10, Auckland - 20/01/2018

30 Jan 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
So this event kind of took everyone by surprise. The global entity that is House of Vans announced a music/skate festival to be based at Shed 10 on Auckland's waterfront. Tickets were free but were only available online and limited to one per application.

Then you had a choice, the daytime event which focused more on skateboarding workshops or the evening one which was strictly R18 and focused on music. Lot's of people were complaining online as tickets for the evening event were allocated very quickly. There was a reason for this which wasn't apparent at the time.

Shed 10 is enormous. Last time I was here was to see The Specials along with about 5000 other people. Tonight I am greeted by skaters (obviously) and handed a very cool two-tone wristband. Yukon Era are halfway through a set that has 300 or so people dancing or swaying, the vibe is very relaxed. I head to the bar and find out why the tickets were so strictly limited. Free beer all night!!

First time I saw the Bleeders was back around 2004 at Brewers Bar in Tauranga. I was told by the promoter it was a straight edge gig which was news to me coming from a background where I thought music was all sex drugs and rock 'n' roll. That night the Bleeders rewrote the rule book for me. Most people in the bar were drinking water and this band was playing the most exciting and explosive music I had heard. Punk meets pop with a hardcore energy that just... well... made people drink more water.

Fast forward to 2018 and here in Shed 10, most people are getting pissed. Angelo, the Bleeders lead singer, is sporting a nice new pair of Vans and the rest of the guys look focused. Unlike most of the crowd.

We are treated to a set of all the Bleeders classics. Tight, fast and the energy they had over 10 years ago is still there. It is like this band has never been away. The music hasn't dated and the crowd is going nuts, although not always in time with the band and that could be partly down to the reverberation from this huge venue or maybe it's the free beer! Their set was intoxicating and over all too soon. Let's hope that the Bleeders are going to come back soon with some new music. They are too good to disappear again.


Review written by Paul Goddard
Photo provided by Antonia Pearl Photography/Nikita Weir
 

About Bleeders

Formed in 2002, it didn't take long for Auckland based Bleeders to take off. In their debut year they released the legendary hardcore punk NZ classic A Bleeding Heart EP. This was followed by constant sold out shows all over NZ. In 2004 the band was rewarded for their hard work and ever growing fan base by signing a record deal to Universal Music.

2006 was a huge year for the Bleeders. Their debut album, the anthemic power house that is Sweet As Sin, reached 2 in the charts, garnered them Best Breakthough Artist and Best Rock Album at the 2006 New Zealand Music Awards and went on to sell Gold. The band toured like maniacs in NZ and headed across the Tasman no less than five times at the invitation of everyone from Avenged Sevenfold and AFI to Aussie acts Gyroscope and Behind Crimson Eyes.

The self-titled follow up to Sweet As Sin rejects any notion of resting on laurels. Produced by Clint Murphy and the Bleeders at Auckland’s York Street Studios and mastered by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound in New York, Bleeders was a return to the brutal vitality that first brought them to people’s attention.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bleeders

Releases

Bleeders
Year: 2007
Type: Album
As Sweet As Sin
Year: 2006
Type: Album
A Bleeding Heart
Year: 2003
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected.
Read More...
EP Review: Ghost Who Walks
21 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
This debut EP from Wellington’s Ghost Who Walks comes hot on the electro-plasmic coat tails of the latest single released, Walking Talking Blues. Vertigo is the opener here and is a blues 'n' funk-tinged blast with more than a hint of soul that will get you dancing.
Read More...
Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
My heart is racing. Not sure if that’s a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Auckland’s Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000’s, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem