17 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bleeders - Gig Review: Bleeders @ House of Vans, Shed 10, Auckland - 20/01/2018

30 Jan 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
So this event kind of took everyone by surprise. The global entity that is House of Vans announced a music/skate festival to be based at Shed 10 on Auckland's waterfront. Tickets were free but were only available online and limited to one per application.

Then you had a choice, the daytime event which focused more on skateboarding workshops or the evening one which was strictly R18 and focused on music. Lot's of people were complaining online as tickets for the evening event were allocated very quickly. There was a reason for this which wasn't apparent at the time.

Shed 10 is enormous. Last time I was here was to see The Specials along with about 5000 other people. Tonight I am greeted by skaters (obviously) and handed a very cool two-tone wristband. Yukon Era are halfway through a set that has 300 or so people dancing or swaying, the vibe is very relaxed. I head to the bar and find out why the tickets were so strictly limited. Free beer all night!!

First time I saw the Bleeders was back around 2004 at Brewers Bar in Tauranga. I was told by the promoter it was a straight edge gig which was news to me coming from a background where I thought music was all sex drugs and rock 'n' roll. That night the Bleeders rewrote the rule book for me. Most people in the bar were drinking water and this band was playing the most exciting and explosive music I had heard. Punk meets pop with a hardcore energy that just... well... made people drink more water.

Fast forward to 2018 and here in Shed 10, most people are getting pissed. Angelo, the Bleeders lead singer, is sporting a nice new pair of Vans and the rest of the guys look focused. Unlike most of the crowd.

We are treated to a set of all the Bleeders classics. Tight, fast and the energy they had over 10 years ago is still there. It is like this band has never been away. The music hasn't dated and the crowd is going nuts, although not always in time with the band and that could be partly down to the reverberation from this huge venue or maybe it's the free beer! Their set was intoxicating and over all too soon. Let's hope that the Bleeders are going to come back soon with some new music. They are too good to disappear again.


Review written by Paul Goddard
Photo provided by Antonia Pearl Photography/Nikita Weir
 

About Bleeders

Formed in 2002, it didn't take long for Auckland based Bleeders to take off. In their debut year they released the legendary hardcore punk NZ classic A Bleeding Heart EP. This was followed by constant sold out shows all over NZ. In 2004 the band was rewarded for their hard work and ever growing fan base by signing a record deal to Universal Music.

2006 was a huge year for the Bleeders. Their debut album, the anthemic power house that is Sweet As Sin, reached 2 in the charts, garnered them Best Breakthough Artist and Best Rock Album at the 2006 New Zealand Music Awards and went on to sell Gold. The band toured like maniacs in NZ and headed across the Tasman no less than five times at the invitation of everyone from Avenged Sevenfold and AFI to Aussie acts Gyroscope and Behind Crimson Eyes.

The self-titled follow up to Sweet As Sin rejects any notion of resting on laurels. Produced by Clint Murphy and the Bleeders at Auckland’s York Street Studios and mastered by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound in New York, Bleeders was a return to the brutal vitality that first brought them to people’s attention.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bleeders

Releases

Bleeders
Year: 2007
Type: Album
As Sweet As Sin
Year: 2006
Type: Album
A Bleeding Heart
Year: 2003
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
Manzo - Single Review: Working Class Hero (John Lennon Cover)
05 Dec 2020 // by Paul Goddard
In 1946 John Lennon almost became a Kiwi. His estranged father took him to Blackpool with the intention of heading over with John to start a new life in NZ.
Read More...
The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem