16 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bleeders - Gig Review: Bleeders @ House of Vans, Shed 10, Auckland - 20/01/2018

30 Jan 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
So this event kind of took everyone by surprise. The global entity that is House of Vans announced a music/skate festival to be based at Shed 10 on Auckland's waterfront. Tickets were free but were only available online and limited to one per application.

Then you had a choice, the daytime event which focused more on skateboarding workshops or the evening one which was strictly R18 and focused on music. Lot's of people were complaining online as tickets for the evening event were allocated very quickly. There was a reason for this which wasn't apparent at the time.

Shed 10 is enormous. Last time I was here was to see The Specials along with about 5000 other people. Tonight I am greeted by skaters (obviously) and handed a very cool two-tone wristband. Yukon Era are halfway through a set that has 300 or so people dancing or swaying, the vibe is very relaxed. I head to the bar and find out why the tickets were so strictly limited. Free beer all night!!

First time I saw the Bleeders was back around 2004 at Brewers Bar in Tauranga. I was told by the promoter it was a straight edge gig which was news to me coming from a background where I thought music was all sex drugs and rock 'n' roll. That night the Bleeders rewrote the rule book for me. Most people in the bar were drinking water and this band was playing the most exciting and explosive music I had heard. Punk meets pop with a hardcore energy that just... well... made people drink more water.

Fast forward to 2018 and here in Shed 10, most people are getting pissed. Angelo, the Bleeders lead singer, is sporting a nice new pair of Vans and the rest of the guys look focused. Unlike most of the crowd.

We are treated to a set of all the Bleeders classics. Tight, fast and the energy they had over 10 years ago is still there. It is like this band has never been away. The music hasn't dated and the crowd is going nuts, although not always in time with the band and that could be partly down to the reverberation from this huge venue or maybe it's the free beer! Their set was intoxicating and over all too soon. Let's hope that the Bleeders are going to come back soon with some new music. They are too good to disappear again.


Review written by Paul Goddard
Photo provided by Antonia Pearl Photography/Nikita Weir
 

About Bleeders

Formed in 2002, it didn't take long for Auckland based Bleeders to take off. In their debut year they released the legendary hardcore punk NZ classic A Bleeding Heart EP. This was followed by constant sold out shows all over NZ. In 2004 the band was rewarded for their hard work and ever growing fan base by signing a record deal to Universal Music.

2006 was a huge year for the Bleeders. Their debut album, the anthemic power house that is Sweet As Sin, reached 2 in the charts, garnered them Best Breakthough Artist and Best Rock Album at the 2006 New Zealand Music Awards and went on to sell Gold. The band toured like maniacs in NZ and headed across the Tasman no less than five times at the invitation of everyone from Avenged Sevenfold and AFI to Aussie acts Gyroscope and Behind Crimson Eyes.

The self-titled follow up to Sweet As Sin rejects any notion of resting on laurels. Produced by Clint Murphy and the Bleeders at Auckland’s York Street Studios and mastered by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound in New York, Bleeders was a return to the brutal vitality that first brought them to people’s attention.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bleeders

Releases

Bleeders
Year: 2007
Type: Album
As Sweet As Sin
Year: 2006
Type: Album
A Bleeding Heart
Year: 2003
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem