19 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bleeders - Gig Review: Bleeders @ House of Vans, Shed 10, Auckland - 20/01/2018

30 Jan 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
So this event kind of took everyone by surprise. The global entity that is House of Vans announced a music/skate festival to be based at Shed 10 on Auckland's waterfront. Tickets were free but were only available online and limited to one per application.

Then you had a choice, the daytime event which focused more on skateboarding workshops or the evening one which was strictly R18 and focused on music. Lot's of people were complaining online as tickets for the evening event were allocated very quickly. There was a reason for this which wasn't apparent at the time.

Shed 10 is enormous. Last time I was here was to see The Specials along with about 5000 other people. Tonight I am greeted by skaters (obviously) and handed a very cool two-tone wristband. Yukon Era are halfway through a set that has 300 or so people dancing or swaying, the vibe is very relaxed. I head to the bar and find out why the tickets were so strictly limited. Free beer all night!!

First time I saw the Bleeders was back around 2004 at Brewers Bar in Tauranga. I was told by the promoter it was a straight edge gig which was news to me coming from a background where I thought music was all sex drugs and rock 'n' roll. That night the Bleeders rewrote the rule book for me. Most people in the bar were drinking water and this band was playing the most exciting and explosive music I had heard. Punk meets pop with a hardcore energy that just... well... made people drink more water.

Fast forward to 2018 and here in Shed 10, most people are getting pissed. Angelo, the Bleeders lead singer, is sporting a nice new pair of Vans and the rest of the guys look focused. Unlike most of the crowd.

We are treated to a set of all the Bleeders classics. Tight, fast and the energy they had over 10 years ago is still there. It is like this band has never been away. The music hasn't dated and the crowd is going nuts, although not always in time with the band and that could be partly down to the reverberation from this huge venue or maybe it's the free beer! Their set was intoxicating and over all too soon. Let's hope that the Bleeders are going to come back soon with some new music. They are too good to disappear again.


Review written by Paul Goddard
Photo provided by Antonia Pearl Photography/Nikita Weir
 

About Bleeders

Formed in 2002, it didn't take long for Auckland based Bleeders to take off. In their debut year they released the legendary hardcore punk NZ classic A Bleeding Heart EP. This was followed by constant sold out shows all over NZ. In 2004 the band was rewarded for their hard work and ever growing fan base by signing a record deal to Universal Music.

2006 was a huge year for the Bleeders. Their debut album, the anthemic power house that is Sweet As Sin, reached 2 in the charts, garnered them Best Breakthough Artist and Best Rock Album at the 2006 New Zealand Music Awards and went on to sell Gold. The band toured like maniacs in NZ and headed across the Tasman no less than five times at the invitation of everyone from Avenged Sevenfold and AFI to Aussie acts Gyroscope and Behind Crimson Eyes.

The self-titled follow up to Sweet As Sin rejects any notion of resting on laurels. Produced by Clint Murphy and the Bleeders at Auckland’s York Street Studios and mastered by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound in New York, Bleeders was a return to the brutal vitality that first brought them to people’s attention.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bleeders

Releases

Bleeders
Year: 2007
Type: Album
As Sweet As Sin
Year: 2006
Type: Album
A Bleeding Heart
Year: 2003
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem