20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank

10 Jan 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records. He has been collaborating with Swedish vocalist Jenny Larsson (aka Li’l Sister Jen) for some years now and the last article I found on the pair indicated that they have never even met in person and up until recently they had never even spoken. Such is the power of the internet that allows collaborations from opposite sides of the world.
 

Delving through the archives, I came across an interview on the muzic.net.nz website written in 2009 on our friend Psyrok, I won’t go over old ground as I am sure a lot has happened since 2009… but a few things jumped out at me. Such as, he came up with the name Psyrok in a dream by an ancient spirit, he described his music as original. Individual. Empathetic and he was working with Li’l Sister Jen even back then. 

A description of Psyrok’s style of music would be chill out, downbeat, trip-hop, electronic and downtempo. Omega Point Blank is no exception; the 4 track EP is pretty chill. I personally would describe this EP as trip-hop with ambience. Think Portishead, Morcheeba, Massive Attack.

You simply float into first track Only Yesterday. If we were to take a step back into the 1990’s where chill out rooms were a thing, then imagine sinking down into a huge beanbag and getting lost in the music. This is a perfect zone out piece of music and gives us a good immediate hit of the beautiful soothing vocals of Li’l Sister Jen.

Moving onto Space Blues I rather liked, it reminded me of something slightly Beastie Boys but not really. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it… any way I am still zoning out. Maybe even spacing out and I am really enjoying what I am hearing.
 

The rest of the EP, which is two more tracks; Lion Son and Omega Point Blank continues on the same path, however before you ascend into the big fluffy white clouds, it takes on a futuristic feel and the conclusion of this EP is a little bit jarring with all the chatter about space. Which is ironic.

I enjoyed almost a veil of peace sensation that settled on me when I listened to this EP, I say almost because the title track at the end kind of rattled me slightly, but having said that it also added another trippy dimension. This falls slightly short of ending up on Café Del Mar.

I totally recommend checking Omega Point Blank out.

Review written by Corinne Rutherford 

 

About Psyrok

Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.

Psyrok recently released the collaborative EP 'Calculus' featuring Swedish vocalist Jenny Larsson (aka Li'l Sister Jen). The two have never met and until they were introduced during an interview on Radio New Zealand's 'Music 101' show, they had never even spoken. The EP was created entirely over the internet with Psyrok writing and producing the music and Jenny contributing vocals.

Psyrok has previously released another EP featuring Jenny Larsson, titled 'Akinosuke' and his debut solo release 'Volume 1'.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Psyrok

Releases

Omega Point Blank
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Calculus
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Volume 1
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Akinosuke EP
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem