18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank

10 Jan 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records. He has been collaborating with Swedish vocalist Jenny Larsson (aka Li’l Sister Jen) for some years now and the last article I found on the pair indicated that they have never even met in person and up until recently they had never even spoken. Such is the power of the internet that allows collaborations from opposite sides of the world.
 

Delving through the archives, I came across an interview on the muzic.net.nz website written in 2009 on our friend Psyrok, I won’t go over old ground as I am sure a lot has happened since 2009… but a few things jumped out at me. Such as, he came up with the name Psyrok in a dream by an ancient spirit, he described his music as original. Individual. Empathetic and he was working with Li’l Sister Jen even back then. 

A description of Psyrok’s style of music would be chill out, downbeat, trip-hop, electronic and downtempo. Omega Point Blank is no exception; the 4 track EP is pretty chill. I personally would describe this EP as trip-hop with ambience. Think Portishead, Morcheeba, Massive Attack.

You simply float into first track Only Yesterday. If we were to take a step back into the 1990’s where chill out rooms were a thing, then imagine sinking down into a huge beanbag and getting lost in the music. This is a perfect zone out piece of music and gives us a good immediate hit of the beautiful soothing vocals of Li’l Sister Jen.

Moving onto Space Blues I rather liked, it reminded me of something slightly Beastie Boys but not really. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it… any way I am still zoning out. Maybe even spacing out and I am really enjoying what I am hearing.
 

The rest of the EP, which is two more tracks; Lion Son and Omega Point Blank continues on the same path, however before you ascend into the big fluffy white clouds, it takes on a futuristic feel and the conclusion of this EP is a little bit jarring with all the chatter about space. Which is ironic.

I enjoyed almost a veil of peace sensation that settled on me when I listened to this EP, I say almost because the title track at the end kind of rattled me slightly, but having said that it also added another trippy dimension. This falls slightly short of ending up on Café Del Mar.

I totally recommend checking Omega Point Blank out.

Review written by Corinne Rutherford 

 

About Psyrok

Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.

Psyrok recently released the collaborative EP 'Calculus' featuring Swedish vocalist Jenny Larsson (aka Li'l Sister Jen). The two have never met and until they were introduced during an interview on Radio New Zealand's 'Music 101' show, they had never even spoken. The EP was created entirely over the internet with Psyrok writing and producing the music and Jenny contributing vocals.

Psyrok has previously released another EP featuring Jenny Larsson, titled 'Akinosuke' and his debut solo release 'Volume 1'.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Psyrok

Releases

Omega Point Blank
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Calculus
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Volume 1
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Akinosuke EP
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem