19 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank

10 Jan 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records. He has been collaborating with Swedish vocalist Jenny Larsson (aka Li’l Sister Jen) for some years now and the last article I found on the pair indicated that they have never even met in person and up until recently they had never even spoken. Such is the power of the internet that allows collaborations from opposite sides of the world.
 

Delving through the archives, I came across an interview on the muzic.net.nz website written in 2009 on our friend Psyrok, I won’t go over old ground as I am sure a lot has happened since 2009… but a few things jumped out at me. Such as, he came up with the name Psyrok in a dream by an ancient spirit, he described his music as original. Individual. Empathetic and he was working with Li’l Sister Jen even back then. 

A description of Psyrok’s style of music would be chill out, downbeat, trip-hop, electronic and downtempo. Omega Point Blank is no exception; the 4 track EP is pretty chill. I personally would describe this EP as trip-hop with ambience. Think Portishead, Morcheeba, Massive Attack.

You simply float into first track Only Yesterday. If we were to take a step back into the 1990’s where chill out rooms were a thing, then imagine sinking down into a huge beanbag and getting lost in the music. This is a perfect zone out piece of music and gives us a good immediate hit of the beautiful soothing vocals of Li’l Sister Jen.

Moving onto Space Blues I rather liked, it reminded me of something slightly Beastie Boys but not really. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it… any way I am still zoning out. Maybe even spacing out and I am really enjoying what I am hearing.
 

The rest of the EP, which is two more tracks; Lion Son and Omega Point Blank continues on the same path, however before you ascend into the big fluffy white clouds, it takes on a futuristic feel and the conclusion of this EP is a little bit jarring with all the chatter about space. Which is ironic.

I enjoyed almost a veil of peace sensation that settled on me when I listened to this EP, I say almost because the title track at the end kind of rattled me slightly, but having said that it also added another trippy dimension. This falls slightly short of ending up on Café Del Mar.

I totally recommend checking Omega Point Blank out.

Review written by Corinne Rutherford 

 

About Psyrok

Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.

Psyrok recently released the collaborative EP 'Calculus' featuring Swedish vocalist Jenny Larsson (aka Li'l Sister Jen). The two have never met and until they were introduced during an interview on Radio New Zealand's 'Music 101' show, they had never even spoken. The EP was created entirely over the internet with Psyrok writing and producing the music and Jenny contributing vocals.

Psyrok has previously released another EP featuring Jenny Larsson, titled 'Akinosuke' and his debut solo release 'Volume 1'.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Psyrok

Releases

Omega Point Blank
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Calculus
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Volume 1
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Akinosuke EP
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Grant Haua Trio @ Jack Dusty's, Tauranga - 03/07/2019
16 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga’s musical landscape is constantly changing and evolving, new bands morph from old bands, they get bigger and they get smaller. Some of the musicians have been around since the 1970's/80's and some are just starting out, many disappear only to re-emerge years later in a different guise.
Read More...
Bad Jones - Single Review: Soul, No Body
05 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Bad Jones is a hard rock band from South Auckland aiming to release “the most warped, feral rock n roll record ever to writhe its way out of Aotearoa”, However you will have to contain your excitement until early 2020 for the band’s debut album. In the meantime, check out their first single, Soul, No Body, as it's guaranteed to blast the winter cobwebs away.
Read More...
The Narcs Unplugged @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga - 28/06/19
01 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a chilly evening in Tauranga, but that didn't stop fans of Kiwi music icons, The Narcs from venturing out to what was a sold out performance at The Jam Factory boutique event space in Tauranga. The Narcs have been delivering outstanding pop/rock music since 1980, and still appear to have a dedicated fan base today.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Substitute
27 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tony Lee, originally from Auckland but now residing in Hamilton has delivered some pretty memorable and heartfelt alternative Country Rock tunes over the years. With two albums already under his belt Substitute is the third single to be released from his latest album So Far From The Truth.
Read More...
Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem