19 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Troy Kingi - Album Review: Shake That Skinny Ass All The Way To Zygertron

22 Dec 2017 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Where the hell did this come from? Or perhaps the more appropriate question is when?

You probably haven’t heard it, but Troy Kingi’s Shake That Skinny Ass All The Way to Zygertron is a retro-futurist funk fest. That's probably the best way to describe it. Or a Funky Space Opera. If I didn’t know this was the cool stoner dad from Hunt for the Wilderpeople, I’d swear this was another one of those seventies remasters pulled from the dusty vaults for a fleeting tour of this modern world.

On the outside, it looks like the cover of a pulpy Science Fiction novel, of which there are thousands rotting in used book stores around the world. On the inside, it sounds like the soundtrack to a low budget Star Wars knock-off porno from the seventies. It really deserves its own full length animated film, with the music as narration – like that Interstella 5555 film by Daft Punk.

You wouldn’t know it from his appearance in the aforementioned Taika Waititi film, but Kingi has a voice that could give Sam Smith’s falsetto a run for its money – which is saying something because Smith’s voice rakes in the dollar bills.

It’s a clever album, a unique concept, with some pretty absurdist lyrics, but also some lines that spoke true and hit home. “My mother bought me a time machine, so I can never be late again…” still rings in my head. That and the refrain for Grandma’s Rocket Poem.

I can’t say I’ve ever been into Funk, but then I can’t say I’ve ever tried. I’m glad this album was my introduction and I’m really glad this album came to fruition. It’s obvious a lot of work, love and thought went into it. Charles Baudelaire wrote of a specific intoxicant that “it gives the power of imagination and takes away the ability to profit by it.” So quickly the thoughts from the sea of dreams, like “I should really replace that window” or “I’m going to stop eating Quarter Packs and go for a run” or “I’m going to make a mean as Science Fiction Funk Opera” disappear into the too hard basket.

Why mention this? Because with an album and concept this unique, it had to be conceived under the influence. Yet, it’s not one of those albums that you have to be under the influence to enjoy.

Sadly, advertising only reaches so far, and there are some people you can’t reach, but there are more pockets of the world that need to hear this album. For what seems like a niche album, there is a lot of mainstream appeal – if only we could reach the common people, the ones who only listen to what their told and are going to miss out on this sojourn past the stratosphere.

You probably haven’t heard it… But I think you really should.


Review written by Peter-James Dries

 

Releases

Holy Colony Burning Acres
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Manzo - Album Review: Attachment
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
The modern music industry has embraced the practice of style over substance for a while now. We could blame streaming, the Netflix generation, or the entitled psychopaths we’ve bred through inattentive parenting, as required by dual income house-holding.
Read More...
Manzo - EP Review: Beatniks on Toast
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like every independent musician, I’ve felt the pain of checking my artist pages to find the first track is still the one with the most plays. I should be reassured that someone has put the effort in to try and listen to something I’ve spend months making.
Read More...
River - EP Review: Endless Winter
03 Jun 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m really glad music like this is still getting made. As a former bedroom rock star, borderline agoraphobic, and closet Goth, I appreciate the art form.
Read More...
Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem