21 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Troy Kingi - Album Review: Shake That Skinny Ass All The Way To Zygertron

22 Dec 2017 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Where the hell did this come from? Or perhaps the more appropriate question is when?

You probably haven’t heard it, but Troy Kingi’s Shake That Skinny Ass All The Way to Zygertron is a retro-futurist funk fest. That's probably the best way to describe it. Or a Funky Space Opera. If I didn’t know this was the cool stoner dad from Hunt for the Wilderpeople, I’d swear this was another one of those seventies remasters pulled from the dusty vaults for a fleeting tour of this modern world.

On the outside, it looks like the cover of a pulpy Science Fiction novel, of which there are thousands rotting in used book stores around the world. On the inside, it sounds like the soundtrack to a low budget Star Wars knock-off porno from the seventies. It really deserves its own full length animated film, with the music as narration – like that Interstella 5555 film by Daft Punk.

You wouldn’t know it from his appearance in the aforementioned Taika Waititi film, but Kingi has a voice that could give Sam Smith’s falsetto a run for its money – which is saying something because Smith’s voice rakes in the dollar bills.

It’s a clever album, a unique concept, with some pretty absurdist lyrics, but also some lines that spoke true and hit home. “My mother bought me a time machine, so I can never be late again…” still rings in my head. That and the refrain for Grandma’s Rocket Poem.

I can’t say I’ve ever been into Funk, but then I can’t say I’ve ever tried. I’m glad this album was my introduction and I’m really glad this album came to fruition. It’s obvious a lot of work, love and thought went into it. Charles Baudelaire wrote of a specific intoxicant that “it gives the power of imagination and takes away the ability to profit by it.” So quickly the thoughts from the sea of dreams, like “I should really replace that window” or “I’m going to stop eating Quarter Packs and go for a run” or “I’m going to make a mean as Science Fiction Funk Opera” disappear into the too hard basket.

Why mention this? Because with an album and concept this unique, it had to be conceived under the influence. Yet, it’s not one of those albums that you have to be under the influence to enjoy.

Sadly, advertising only reaches so far, and there are some people you can’t reach, but there are more pockets of the world that need to hear this album. For what seems like a niche album, there is a lot of mainstream appeal – if only we could reach the common people, the ones who only listen to what their told and are going to miss out on this sojourn past the stratosphere.

You probably haven’t heard it… But I think you really should.


Review written by Peter-James Dries

 

Releases

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Aaron Carpenter and The Revelators - EP Review: Roll with the Punches
20 Aug 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
The last bastions of real music in a world that celebrates mediocrity are the minnows swimming against the current of the mainstream.   What is the mainstream nowadays?
Read More...
Brendan Pyper - Single Review: No Strings Attached
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I think we have this decade’s Daniel Bedingfield on our hands. Diversifying his portfolio, The Latest Fallout’s Brendan Pyper has just released his debut single, in the process seemingly leaving his Pop Rock ways behind.
Read More...
Tess Goodwin - Single Review: Grace
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In this world of instant gratification, something can be said about a song that can make you feel, even if that feeling is longing. Longing, usually a feeling with negative connotations, is something you miss out on when you can binge watch an entire show or listen to a musician’s whole discography.
Read More...
Emily Fairlight - Album Review: Mother of Gloom
03 May 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Autumn at dusk. Sitting in a bay window, knees to chin, wrapped in sweatered arms.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Daynes Song
26 Apr 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
'Tis a two-headed beast, Daynes Song, the new single from Northland’s Tempist Fujit. On one side it’s jazzy funky 90's Rock riffs, bass licks, and song structure (with complimentary Santana-like solo), the other side modern Rap riffing.
Read More...
Robby Thorne - Album Review: The White Thorn Track
13 Mar 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a time and place for genre pedantry. I get that categorising artists by genre is a way of qualifying if you will like music before trying it.
Read More...
David Edwards - Album Review: Gleefully Unknown 1997 - 2005
25 Feb 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
There is the weird and wonderful. And then there is the weird.
Read More...
Will Saunders - Album Review: Covers Four
27 Jan 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Covers Four, formally and sub titled I Know That We Are Not New (a line taken from the contained cover of Cohen’s Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye) is Will Saunders from The Lowest Fidelity’s take on a collection of obscure tracks, which ironically were new to me. It’s the mode now to take on, often poorly, the latest hits of the Billboard charts, posting them to YouTube in the vain hope of riding off the coattails of the song’s fame.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • THE RINGER
    Eminem
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • FALL
    Eminem
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem