24 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Equus - Equus

16 Mar 2005 // A review by Carl Hayman
I opened my door this morning to find a little package outside, two CD's from Equus.
I was feeling a little lazy - and pretty lathargic about doing anything as I slid the first of the two CD's into the CD tray, and got back into bed.
I sat and listened .. for quite a while actually. What i was listening to was a pleasent mix of both jazz, funk, and perhaps even a little rock.
This is something that I hadn't heard since my high school days, playing in a jazz combo.

Little simple yet groovy bass lines, a variety of mildly distorted guitar, a little hint of what sounds like a cry-baby wa wa pedal, and some drumming which is subtle - I wouldnt suggest that its "in your face" by any stretch of the imagination.

I slipped the second CD into the player, and listened for a bit longer - Equus' music totally soothing and relaxing. It's the sort of stuff that I could crack open a bottle of wine to, and sit around listening to on a quiet Sunday afternoon.

Unfortunately the thing that did grab me, is that the recording quality isn't high. It's a good attempt, but it's not what I would call international class recording, and doesn't do the two CD's alot of justice - even though the second one is recognisably better.

I would definitely like to see these guys live to get a bit more insight into what they do, as the CD covers leave alot to the imagination.
If you are after a soothing melody, and appreciate the jazzier side of things, these CDs are two you should hear.

Carl - muzic.net.nz
 

About Equus

Live Performance Group of the Christchurch based original musicians Collective Equuslive.

currently recording their 6th Album, which will be released this year, alongside an EP and a promo video.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Equus

Releases

Scratch Tracks
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Blue Horse Compilation
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Hind Legs
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Bring It To Hear
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Tranquilzer
Year: 2002
Type: Album
Got Hooves
Year: 2002
Type: Album
Forte
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem