28 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I’m Saying It Now

20 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I’m Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody. It is an album with an incredible backstory, one which took 25 years in the writing and one year in the making. 

The reason behind the firm time frame of 12 months in which this personal album has been recorded is because it is a bucket list goal. Diagnosed two years ago with inoperable brain cancer he has always wanted to record an album and suddenly that became a goal. For the last few years and until his diagnosis, Densem was a full time singing and piano teacher, and prior to that he had performed extensively in Australia and New Zealand. He has written many songs which were ready for recording.

Over the last 12 months Jonathan and his family have embarked on an incredible journey with highly skilled musicians, at what he describes as “the best studio in the southern hemisphere”, Tim Finn’s Roundhead Studio’s in Auckland, the culmination of many years of writing ending up with the recorded album I’m Saying It Now.

“25 years in the writing, one year in the making; I am thrilled with the result. As an added bonus I get the joy of catching my sons absent mindedly singing one of my songs as they go about their life… just as if they had heard it on the radio. I know they’ll always have this to remember me by”.

This is one of those life moments when something comes across your desk or into your inbox and makes you take stock of your life. Densem has a wife and two sons… this is not his album, it is their album.

I wrote in my notes that Jonathan sounds like a bit of Josh Groban crossed with a splash of Robbie Williams. From smooth ballads to funky upbeat melodies and each track has a personal story to tell. Absorbing is a great way to describe it and heartfelt, definitely that.

Musical Influences from Billy Joel, James Taylor, Missy Higgins and Neil Finn can be heard throughout the album, alongside personal influences from his father, wife and sons.

Each track has well written lyrics weaving stories of personal journeys, family and experiences, but the last song on the album, Love Lives On caused a lump in my throat and is truly a testament to Jonathan’s magical story writing. Real and honest. “And all my words fail to say half of what I mean.It's not anger, hate or sadness. It's just pure, pure and it's cold. And so clean. oh I mean. Take the sun from my heart. Watch as it all falls apart”

To quote Neil Finn – “He paints his music with a broad and rich palette of sounds”

It has been an honour to review the fruition of a lifelong dream and a lovely addition to our music collection.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford 

 

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Animal
27 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand alternative post-punk inspired (Or lovelorn vet nurse shadow-pop) songwriter Hannah Curwood from Hannah In The Wars has just released a new single Animal. A unique and totally enjoyable song, which is as bizarre as it is loveable.
Read More...
Ryan Fisherman - Album Review: Vibe
26 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch musician and singer-writer Ryan Chin, goes under the name of Ryan Fisherman. He has just released his first album Vibe.
Read More...
Madeleine Howard - Single Review: No More
18 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch based singer-songwriter Madeleine Howard, has just released her catchy new single No More, The first off the ranks of consecutive single releases as she prepares to launch her debut EP, Just Reaching Out. Originally from the Hawke’s Bay, Madeleine went on to study at the University Of Otago Contemporary Performance Programme for four years, developing a characteristic Kiwi sound which shines through strongly on this single.
Read More...
Justin Sane - Single/Video Review: It’s Not Over with Huz
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
NZ electronic dance duo from Auckland, Justin Sane & Huz have recently released their brand new single It’s Not Over accompanied by a high energy bittersweet music video which is like an accelerated timeline of C-19 NZ Lockdown 2020. Justin Sane has been around for a few years, a DJ from the UK; he immigrated to New Zealand in 2001 and exploded into the public eye in 2003 by being identified as one of the hottest young properties within the NZ hardhouse scene.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Single Review: Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker
14 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based musician and purveyor of the Dunedin Sound and indie folk genres Darryl Baser, has just released the first single from his up and coming sophomore album Second Selfie. Wood, I’ve Found You A Seeker is an unusually named release based on a “bunch of experiences”.
Read More...
Holly Afoa - EP Review: Sister
11 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Neo-Soul singer/songwriter Holly Afoa has recently released her debut EP Sister. Five tracks of soulful, heartfelt music.
Read More...
Ralphe - Double Single Review: Never Enough & What You Want
11 May 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based musician and audio-engineer Ralph Engle has been busy over the lockdown period, collaborating on a couple of songs remotely. He's just released two singles from a "work in progress" EP entitled Souvenirs.
Read More...
Kaela - Single Review: Happy To Know You
29 Apr 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based indie-pop artist Kaela, AKA Leah Navanua, is relatively fresh on the NZ musical scene, having only released her debut single Set Me Free in 2018, despite playing acoustic sets for a number of years. Her intimate new single Happy To Know You (HTKY), which is being released on May 1st, is a dreamy offering of lush harmonies.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem