21 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I’m Saying It Now

20 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I’m Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody. It is an album with an incredible backstory, one which took 25 years in the writing and one year in the making. 

The reason behind the firm time frame of 12 months in which this personal album has been recorded is because it is a bucket list goal. Diagnosed two years ago with inoperable brain cancer he has always wanted to record an album and suddenly that became a goal. For the last few years and until his diagnosis, Densem was a full time singing and piano teacher, and prior to that he had performed extensively in Australia and New Zealand. He has written many songs which were ready for recording.

Over the last 12 months Jonathan and his family have embarked on an incredible journey with highly skilled musicians, at what he describes as “the best studio in the southern hemisphere”, Tim Finn’s Roundhead Studio’s in Auckland, the culmination of many years of writing ending up with the recorded album I’m Saying It Now.

“25 years in the writing, one year in the making; I am thrilled with the result. As an added bonus I get the joy of catching my sons absent mindedly singing one of my songs as they go about their life… just as if they had heard it on the radio. I know they’ll always have this to remember me by”.

This is one of those life moments when something comes across your desk or into your inbox and makes you take stock of your life. Densem has a wife and two sons… this is not his album, it is their album.

I wrote in my notes that Jonathan sounds like a bit of Josh Groban crossed with a splash of Robbie Williams. From smooth ballads to funky upbeat melodies and each track has a personal story to tell. Absorbing is a great way to describe it and heartfelt, definitely that.

Musical Influences from Billy Joel, James Taylor, Missy Higgins and Neil Finn can be heard throughout the album, alongside personal influences from his father, wife and sons.

Each track has well written lyrics weaving stories of personal journeys, family and experiences, but the last song on the album, Love Lives On caused a lump in my throat and is truly a testament to Jonathan’s magical story writing. Real and honest. “And all my words fail to say half of what I mean.It's not anger, hate or sadness. It's just pure, pure and it's cold. And so clean. oh I mean. Take the sun from my heart. Watch as it all falls apart”

To quote Neil Finn – “He paints his music with a broad and rich palette of sounds”

It has been an honour to review the fruition of a lifelong dream and a lovely addition to our music collection.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford 

 

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Justin 'Firefly' Clarke - Single Review: Astral Tumbleweed
14 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Justin Firefly is a Master's Graduate of the New Zealand School of Music and seasoned guitarist based in Wellington. He has traversed the globe performing with such acts as The Woolshed Sessions, Fly My Pretties, Fat Freddy’s Drop and Jess Chambers and the Firefly Orchestra.
Read More...
Scott MCB - Single Review: That Day
10 Sep 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Scott MCB is a singer songwriter from Auckland and a member of The Local Musician’s Music Network (LMM). He has been busy developing his music style and has just released his latest single That Day along with his second video.
Read More...
JCK - Album Review: Input/Output
25 Aug 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi hip-hop artist JCK has just dropped a mean double album. Input/Output is 19 tracks of varying styles of hip-hop and rap which should be enough to satisfy even the most discerning hip-hop connoisseur.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - LP Review: Raw Selfie
08 Aug 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based musician Darryl Baser released the Raw Selfie LP back in 2016 on Zelle Records and Powertool Records. ‘Selfie’ relating to the modern obsession with taking photos of yourself and posting to social straight away.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Super Heavy Rap Shit Feat. Pakkz Tha General & Alpha
28 Jul 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
This is the continuation of a journey for me, delving into the world of Rap. And because I never do anything by half, I have jumped in boots and all.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Cutting Strings
27 Jul 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mecuzine is a five-piece Indie rock band from Auckland, and they're making a name for themselves in the music world for their dynamic and exciting mix of music genres “Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules”. The band has just released their debut album Cutting Strings which was recorded at Silverpoint Studios, Auckland and mastered in Nashville, engineered by Kane Bennett.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Reach Out
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
LA Thompson (Shirley Howe), the founder of Local Musicians Music (LMM), has released another beautiful single titled Reach Out, from her album New Sun Rising. This is a song about love and light and it was written for the people she loves.
Read More...
Laconic Zephyr - Single Review: Cools You Down
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Laconic Zephyr have certainly made themselves heard with their release Cools You Down. This five-piece band from New Plymouth have rocketed to a number one spot on the New Zealand iTunes Rock Chart, with a song which only took 20 minutes to write by the bands lead vocalist and bass guitarist Joss Bines.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • THE RINGER
    Eminem
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • FALL
    Eminem
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem