22 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I’m Saying It Now

20 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I’m Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody. It is an album with an incredible backstory, one which took 25 years in the writing and one year in the making. 

The reason behind the firm time frame of 12 months in which this personal album has been recorded is because it is a bucket list goal. Diagnosed two years ago with inoperable brain cancer he has always wanted to record an album and suddenly that became a goal. For the last few years and until his diagnosis, Densem was a full time singing and piano teacher, and prior to that he had performed extensively in Australia and New Zealand. He has written many songs which were ready for recording.

Over the last 12 months Jonathan and his family have embarked on an incredible journey with highly skilled musicians, at what he describes as “the best studio in the southern hemisphere”, Tim Finn’s Roundhead Studio’s in Auckland, the culmination of many years of writing ending up with the recorded album I’m Saying It Now.

“25 years in the writing, one year in the making; I am thrilled with the result. As an added bonus I get the joy of catching my sons absent mindedly singing one of my songs as they go about their life… just as if they had heard it on the radio. I know they’ll always have this to remember me by”.

This is one of those life moments when something comes across your desk or into your inbox and makes you take stock of your life. Densem has a wife and two sons… this is not his album, it is their album.

I wrote in my notes that Jonathan sounds like a bit of Josh Groban crossed with a splash of Robbie Williams. From smooth ballads to funky upbeat melodies and each track has a personal story to tell. Absorbing is a great way to describe it and heartfelt, definitely that.

Musical Influences from Billy Joel, James Taylor, Missy Higgins and Neil Finn can be heard throughout the album, alongside personal influences from his father, wife and sons.

Each track has well written lyrics weaving stories of personal journeys, family and experiences, but the last song on the album, Love Lives On caused a lump in my throat and is truly a testament to Jonathan’s magical story writing. Real and honest. “And all my words fail to say half of what I mean.It's not anger, hate or sadness. It's just pure, pure and it's cold. And so clean. oh I mean. Take the sun from my heart. Watch as it all falls apart”

To quote Neil Finn – “He paints his music with a broad and rich palette of sounds”

It has been an honour to review the fruition of a lifelong dream and a lovely addition to our music collection.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford 

 

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Following on from this will be a nationwide tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem