18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I’m Saying It Now

20 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I’m Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody. It is an album with an incredible backstory, one which took 25 years in the writing and one year in the making. 

The reason behind the firm time frame of 12 months in which this personal album has been recorded is because it is a bucket list goal. Diagnosed two years ago with inoperable brain cancer he has always wanted to record an album and suddenly that became a goal. For the last few years and until his diagnosis, Densem was a full time singing and piano teacher, and prior to that he had performed extensively in Australia and New Zealand. He has written many songs which were ready for recording.

Over the last 12 months Jonathan and his family have embarked on an incredible journey with highly skilled musicians, at what he describes as “the best studio in the southern hemisphere”, Tim Finn’s Roundhead Studio’s in Auckland, the culmination of many years of writing ending up with the recorded album I’m Saying It Now.

“25 years in the writing, one year in the making; I am thrilled with the result. As an added bonus I get the joy of catching my sons absent mindedly singing one of my songs as they go about their life… just as if they had heard it on the radio. I know they’ll always have this to remember me by”.

This is one of those life moments when something comes across your desk or into your inbox and makes you take stock of your life. Densem has a wife and two sons… this is not his album, it is their album.

I wrote in my notes that Jonathan sounds like a bit of Josh Groban crossed with a splash of Robbie Williams. From smooth ballads to funky upbeat melodies and each track has a personal story to tell. Absorbing is a great way to describe it and heartfelt, definitely that.

Musical Influences from Billy Joel, James Taylor, Missy Higgins and Neil Finn can be heard throughout the album, alongside personal influences from his father, wife and sons.

Each track has well written lyrics weaving stories of personal journeys, family and experiences, but the last song on the album, Love Lives On caused a lump in my throat and is truly a testament to Jonathan’s magical story writing. Real and honest. “And all my words fail to say half of what I mean.It's not anger, hate or sadness. It's just pure, pure and it's cold. And so clean. oh I mean. Take the sun from my heart. Watch as it all falls apart”

To quote Neil Finn – “He paints his music with a broad and rich palette of sounds”

It has been an honour to review the fruition of a lifelong dream and a lovely addition to our music collection.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford 

 

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem