17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Future Islands with Silicon @ Powerstation Auckland - 16/12/2017

19 Dec 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
This dude can dance. He is on another planet. His facial expressions show he is 100% committed to whatever it is he is doing and he doesn't give a shit about who is watching or what they think. I am on KRd walking to the Powerstation and the aforementioned guy who is off his head on god knows what carries on about his business.

This gig is going to be amazing. The Powerstation is sold out (even the PM is here). Future Islands are a unique band and we are also going to get to see Kody Neilson. He was billed as Silicon tonight and I was expecting the laid-back synth-driven funk from that debut album but with everything Kody does we should learn to expect the unexpected and Mike Logie (ex The Mint Chicks/Die! Die! Die!) is on stage and a drum kit?

So tonight, we don't get Silicon we get Kody's latest project. Mike is on keys and Kody is playing a side facing drum kit. He is actually a really good drummer. We shouldn't be surprised, Kody and Mike are amongst the most innovative artists NZ has produced. Constantly pushing boundaries and not caring what anyone else thinks. The soundscapes they are creating tonight are more upbeat and frenetic than we heard through Silicon. Kody is clearly enjoying being side stage instead of front and each song melds into the next, building and dropping and taking unexpected twists. We are all connected by computers and electronica nowadays so the beats and bleeps emanating from the stage tonight are mood enhancers that encapsulate soul. Music from the soul is at the core of everything that Kody has ever done. It is genius. Like watching Mogwai with synths.

The Future Islands story goes something like this. Band plays decent synth pop-infused tunes and largely gets ignored. Band plays on a TV show and goes viral. Don't get me wrong, they have put in the hard yards and toured constantly since forming in 2005. If you have never heard of Future Islands go to YouTube and watch them. This is a band that needs to be seen as well as heard.

The stage is simple, no big light show just a plain backlight and it makes tonight feel even more intimate. Future Islands make interesting music. Making interesting music is a goal every artist should aim for. There is depth to it, darkness and light and when you have a frontman like Sam Herring it takes everything to another level. He has a way of connecting with people that I don't think any other frontman comes close to. Every word and sound that comes from him is articulated in a way that connects. Not in a bullshit rockstar way either. Sam literally pours his body and soul into every line, every word. He doesn't have an amazing voice but he is unique and that is far more important. He is the portal and conduit for what he sees and hears. That might translate into a piece of awkward dad dancing or even a bit of Kozac dancing like we were treated to during "Staring at the Sun". You never know what to expect, from guttural doom metal growls to high pitched squeals Sam has no fear and will take each song in any direction he chooses. What the crowd sees and hears is what he feels at that moment.

The result is mesmerising. The songs lift and every person in the room can feel the connection, the chemistry.

The dude can dance. He is from another planet. A Future Island which is not isolated, he comes from a place that is connected by a smile, a look, a feeling. He is 100% committed and he does care, he wants to connect, he wants you to feel it too. Strip away the bullshit just be happy being happy. Judging by the smiling faces tonight we are all there with him.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem