23 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cricket Farm - Album Review: Bending Spoons

18 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Cricket Farm, the Auckland based three-piece indie-folk/jazz band, are proudly releasing their debut album with the enchanting name of Bending Spoons. It has been described by the band as “music for hopeless romantic conspiracy theorists”… a statement such as that is simply intriguing and led me on a wonderful journey through 12 tracks of the bands thoughts and feelings accompanied by a stunning and honest indie-folk, gypsy jazz soundtrack. “The album is odds and ends of our combined mental note taking.  It is very simple….just sifting through metaphysical gunk”.

It has also been said that Cricket Farm tell the hard truth in a soft voice, ain’t that the truth.

Delightful and enchanting this band has brought together a huge wealth of musical experiences and different genres gaining influences from jazz, punk, folk, afro/funk and dub/reggae. They are close friends who have pooled together all this eclectic musical knowledge and experience to give us a truly captivating album.

You may think I am going slightly over board in my gushy ramblings and perhaps I have, I think I am infatuated with the entire bands musical offerings. If this is what “singing you through the empty pockets of life on a transcendental journey through a musical soundscape of candy mountains and bellybutton lint”... sounds like then I am sold.  

Before I delve any further into Bending Spoons, I shall introduce the people which have given us this colourful transcendental musical delight. Cricket farm are made up of Hayley Robertson (vocal/ukulele/clarinet), Joel (vocal/acoustic and electric guitars) and Sims (vocal/acoustic guitar). One of them can even play some mean spoons as the opening track (Bending Spoons) can attest to. This was the first release for the band.

This is a charming album, soul food for a busy mind and tired body; it drifts around you with the warm tones of the clarinet adding extra depth to an already rich instrumental offering.

The combined mental note taking has provided some interesting, and thoughtful lyrics. My favourite track was number 10 Coastin “maybe we will go insane together – maybe we get lost at sea together. No is a place no-one goes”.

Cricket Farm has been a delightful surprise, and they continue to delight right down to the final track. For All We Know is spacey and futuristic and at that point I truly believed I was on a transcendental journey, (that or my herbal tea wasn’t just chamomile).

Candy mountains and bellybutton lint sound pretty good to me. I would totally recommend adding Bending Spoons to your music collection this summer.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Cricket Farm

Cricket Farm are a three-piece indie-folk/jazz act hailing from Auckland.

Since their formation in 2016 they have won the hearts of audiences with their quaint and sunny sound which the band describes as “music for hopeless romantic conspiracy theorists.”
Cricket Farm is made up of multidisciplinary artist Hayley Robertson, Sims Ross (Yebiisu, The Murderchord) and Joel Vinsen (Ijebu Pleasure Club, Spiral, Panhandlers).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cricket Farm

Releases

Bending Spoons
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem