20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cricket Farm - Album Review: Bending Spoons

18 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Cricket Farm, the Auckland based three-piece indie-folk/jazz band, are proudly releasing their debut album with the enchanting name of Bending Spoons. It has been described by the band as “music for hopeless romantic conspiracy theorists”… a statement such as that is simply intriguing and led me on a wonderful journey through 12 tracks of the bands thoughts and feelings accompanied by a stunning and honest indie-folk, gypsy jazz soundtrack. “The album is odds and ends of our combined mental note taking.  It is very simple….just sifting through metaphysical gunk”.

It has also been said that Cricket Farm tell the hard truth in a soft voice, ain’t that the truth.

Delightful and enchanting this band has brought together a huge wealth of musical experiences and different genres gaining influences from jazz, punk, folk, afro/funk and dub/reggae. They are close friends who have pooled together all this eclectic musical knowledge and experience to give us a truly captivating album.

You may think I am going slightly over board in my gushy ramblings and perhaps I have, I think I am infatuated with the entire bands musical offerings. If this is what “singing you through the empty pockets of life on a transcendental journey through a musical soundscape of candy mountains and bellybutton lint”... sounds like then I am sold.  

Before I delve any further into Bending Spoons, I shall introduce the people which have given us this colourful transcendental musical delight. Cricket farm are made up of Hayley Robertson (vocal/ukulele/clarinet), Joel (vocal/acoustic and electric guitars) and Sims (vocal/acoustic guitar). One of them can even play some mean spoons as the opening track (Bending Spoons) can attest to. This was the first release for the band.

This is a charming album, soul food for a busy mind and tired body; it drifts around you with the warm tones of the clarinet adding extra depth to an already rich instrumental offering.

The combined mental note taking has provided some interesting, and thoughtful lyrics. My favourite track was number 10 Coastin “maybe we will go insane together – maybe we get lost at sea together. No is a place no-one goes”.

Cricket Farm has been a delightful surprise, and they continue to delight right down to the final track. For All We Know is spacey and futuristic and at that point I truly believed I was on a transcendental journey, (that or my herbal tea wasn’t just chamomile).

Candy mountains and bellybutton lint sound pretty good to me. I would totally recommend adding Bending Spoons to your music collection this summer.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Cricket Farm

Cricket Farm are a three-piece indie-folk/jazz act hailing from Auckland.

Since their formation in 2016 they have won the hearts of audiences with their quaint and sunny sound which the band describes as “music for hopeless romantic conspiracy theorists.”
Cricket Farm is made up of multidisciplinary artist Hayley Robertson, Sims Ross (Yebiisu, The Murderchord) and Joel Vinsen (Ijebu Pleasure Club, Spiral, Panhandlers).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cricket Farm

Releases

Bending Spoons
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Trinity: Complete
14 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
The final instalment from Auckland based alternative-electronica project Empire To Ashes (Jamie Denton), has just been released. It is an amalgamation of the three previous albums, [In Pieces], Deconstructed [Between The Pieces] and Beneath to create one new, cohesive piece of experimental, electro-drone, alternative-electronica soundscapes and tracks titled Trinity: Complete.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem