25 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cricket Farm - Album Review: Bending Spoons

18 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Cricket Farm, the Auckland based three-piece indie-folk/jazz band, are proudly releasing their debut album with the enchanting name of Bending Spoons. It has been described by the band as “music for hopeless romantic conspiracy theorists”… a statement such as that is simply intriguing and led me on a wonderful journey through 12 tracks of the bands thoughts and feelings accompanied by a stunning and honest indie-folk, gypsy jazz soundtrack. “The album is odds and ends of our combined mental note taking.  It is very simple….just sifting through metaphysical gunk”.

It has also been said that Cricket Farm tell the hard truth in a soft voice, ain’t that the truth.

Delightful and enchanting this band has brought together a huge wealth of musical experiences and different genres gaining influences from jazz, punk, folk, afro/funk and dub/reggae. They are close friends who have pooled together all this eclectic musical knowledge and experience to give us a truly captivating album.

You may think I am going slightly over board in my gushy ramblings and perhaps I have, I think I am infatuated with the entire bands musical offerings. If this is what “singing you through the empty pockets of life on a transcendental journey through a musical soundscape of candy mountains and bellybutton lint”... sounds like then I am sold.  

Before I delve any further into Bending Spoons, I shall introduce the people which have given us this colourful transcendental musical delight. Cricket farm are made up of Hayley Robertson (vocal/ukulele/clarinet), Joel (vocal/acoustic and electric guitars) and Sims (vocal/acoustic guitar). One of them can even play some mean spoons as the opening track (Bending Spoons) can attest to. This was the first release for the band.

This is a charming album, soul food for a busy mind and tired body; it drifts around you with the warm tones of the clarinet adding extra depth to an already rich instrumental offering.

The combined mental note taking has provided some interesting, and thoughtful lyrics. My favourite track was number 10 Coastin “maybe we will go insane together – maybe we get lost at sea together. No is a place no-one goes”.

Cricket Farm has been a delightful surprise, and they continue to delight right down to the final track. For All We Know is spacey and futuristic and at that point I truly believed I was on a transcendental journey, (that or my herbal tea wasn’t just chamomile).

Candy mountains and bellybutton lint sound pretty good to me. I would totally recommend adding Bending Spoons to your music collection this summer.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Cricket Farm

Cricket Farm are a three-piece indie-folk/jazz act hailing from Auckland.

Since their formation in 2016 they have won the hearts of audiences with their quaint and sunny sound which the band describes as “music for hopeless romantic conspiracy theorists.”
Cricket Farm is made up of multidisciplinary artist Hayley Robertson, Sims Ross (Yebiisu, The Murderchord) and Joel Vinsen (Ijebu Pleasure Club, Spiral, Panhandlers).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cricket Farm

Releases

Bending Spoons
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Release: Not Another Ballad
22 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian-born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released a brand new single Not Another Ballad - an energetic and cheery number, guaranteed to get you moving your booty across the dance floor. Conceived from the willingness to placate her band with the promise of “not another ballad”, the song of the same name was born.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - Single Review: Between The Lines
15 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based RnB sensation with the breath-taking soulful voice; Bailey Wiley has just released her latest single Between The Lines. This track gives fans a glimpse inside Bailey's mind as she falls in love.
Read More...
Jan Hellriegel - Album Review: Sportsman Of The Year
06 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Jan Hellriegel is somewhat of an NZ musical icon, Songwriter, performer, producer, music publisher, copyright expert, mother and now author she has a name many of us of a certain age would have heard of. Her latest body of work Sportsman Of The Year appears to be a defining moment in not only her musical life, but also her personal one.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters and James Wilkinson - Single Review: Spaces Between Words
25 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Nelson based singer songwriter Jacquie Walters is about to release an alluring new single Spaces Between Words, featuring James Wilkinson on bass and Jacquie on guitar and vocals. Jacquie and James have shared many musical memories spanning over 25 years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem