15 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Unknown - Single Review: Waihi Beach

08 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Scared Of Girls are a young garage surf punk 4-piece from Auckland with big ambitions and low standards and as such are here for a good time not a long time, their aim is to throw themselves into 2018 by churning out party punk bangers at energetic shows up and down the country. You can’t get more of a summer vibe then this bands single Waihi Beach, which is to be released on Friday 8th December.

This song basically describes my teenage years, “sitting in a car midnight at Waihi Beach” back then it was a Ford Escort, cell phones didn’t exist and our Led Zep was cranked from a tape in the tape deck. There may have been “Lion Rouge” involved, I am pretty sure it was only one of four choices back then. Ahh the memories.

There is not much of a story to this song; basically they just want to waste all summer with you at Waihi Beach, then they added a surf punk, soak up the sun, party vibe sound with fast guitar and a catchy chorus. I have my suspicions the fear of girls may not be as crippling as they say.
 

This is a track that you hear and it will bring back summery memories or become part of some new ones. That is if your memory doesn’t become too soaked in beer and other adult refreshments.

On closer inspection of Scared Of Girls, it looks like the low standards they have may have lifted, they have smart graphic art and not bad photography on their social media pages, they even have a mission it seems, which goes like this… “Scared of Girls are sincere in their commitment to their brand and demographic—which often involves a lot of social commentary, influenced by growing up in New Zealand, and their (intentional or not) encouragement of young people to squeeze the most out of their youth and make their experiences as vibrant and significant as possible.” Woahh dudes, there is some thought gone into that.

This will make you want to grab your sunscreen and surfboard and head to the nearest beach, Lucky for me, one of them happens to be Waihi.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings
26 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric video; Somethings. The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem