25 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Glen Matlock @ Valhalla, Wellington - 25/11/2017

05 Dec 2017 // A review by Rory McDonald
As soon as I saw him walk so casually over from the side of the bar up on stage, I knew that this would be a different kind of gig, and possibly one of the most intimate experiences I would have with one of punks most beloved musicians, Glen Matlock.

Throughout the night, Glen took us on an audio tour of his career, belting out songs from the rich kids, Glen Matlock and the Philistines, and what you will recognize him best for, the sex pistols.

Every song I could feel him giving his all, one particular song that blew me away was a cover of Iggy Pops Ambition, the vocals delivered on this track definitely made it an unforgettable night.

When songs like God Save The Queen and Pretty Vacant rang out from Glen's guitar, the drunken roar from the bar side made it clear that the man standing up on that stage has made rock history, and with such an up close and personal experience, it will be a time I will always remember.

To top off an amazing set, I found that finishing touch of magic in the form of an autograph and chat with the man himself, which he followed up with most of the people in Valhalla, and with that icing on top of the cake, I could not ask for a better trip down punk rock memory lane.


Review written by Rory McDonald
 

Other Reviews By Rory McDonald

Mundi - Album Review: The Pale Blue Dot
27 Feb 2019 // by Rory McDonald
Going into this album I thought I knew what to expect from Mundi. This psychedelic dance project wowed me with their live performance at the Wellington Botanical Gardens earlier this year, but I couldn't help but feel like I'd heard all of the tricks they had hiding up their sleeves.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mundi @ Botanical Gardens, Wellington - 10/01/2019
15 Jan 2019 // by Rory McDonald
Before even arriving at the venue, I knew I was in for a treat. This wasn't my first visit to the Soundshell at the Wellington Botanical Gardens, but it was obvious that Mundi and the venue would go hand in hand after listening to their latest single Still Song Goes On.
Read More...
Pale Lady - EP Review: Told To Fold
04 Jul 2018 // by Rory McDonald
I’ve been a big fan of Pale Lady right from the first moment I saw them perform live back in 2017. Their solid alt-rock sound infused with so many other flavours makes them a very refreshing yet familiar sounding act.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - Single Review: Daughters
05 Dec 2017 // by Rory McDonald
Two things have always stayed consistent (for me at least) when listening to Fire For Glory:1. The vocal work on every track never fails to impress me2.
Read More...
Album Review: Headroller
18 Oct 2017 // by Rory McDonald
"Stay with us now as we cross live to some poor bastard we sent straight to the depths of hell to bring you the exclusive footage you need, Jeff tell me, how much blood is there?"Now, I might have heard that quote wrong (even after multiple run-throughs of the song, Visions), but if I could fit the feeling of this whole album into a few short, simple words, it would definitely be this little skit from the beginning of the 7th track, Visions.
Read More...
View All Articles By Rory McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem